We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation.

“Incomparable Hosts”
Review of Palazzo Farrattini

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amelia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palazzo Farrattini
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Amelia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incomparable Hosts”
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We walked up to the back door and saw a view over the town wall to a valley and the hills beyond. With the sweet scent of lemon trees in the air, our travel stress melted away. I echo what other reviewers have said about the wonderful Palazzo and the warm hosts. In casual conversation Ettore and Scott shared histories of the B&B and their fascinating lives. Our room, the one with a large wardrobe reconfigured into a bathroom, did face the street so there was some traffic noise and some late-night revelers at the nearby pizzeria.

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewlandBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
20
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Amelia...when I was planning my solo journey to Italy it was just a destination. After spending a few days at the Palazzo Farrattini it is now my special place to return to visit Ettore and Scott. The minuted I arrived in Rome, Ettore transported me to the Umbria I only imagined. Being a guest and learning the history of the home and the Farrattini family was the highlight off my two week journey. I will forever treasure the memory of relaxing in the garden, enjoying a wonderfully prepared meal of local cheese, homemade olive oil and bread while surrounded by the scent of lilacs. It was my fifth trip to Italy but my first time to truly experience life in Italy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soloj19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2011

The architecture and history of this Renaissance palace is arresting but the warmth of the welcome is what most impresses. In no time, one feels almost a part of the family, enjoying breakfasts together with other guests in the dining room, arranging occasional lunches under the beautiful pergola of wisteria, having an aperitivo on the patio as the sun sets behind the nearby hills! Although a B&B, Ettore and Scott seem happy for their guests to set out on discovery tours or laze happily in the garden. It couldn't be more pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forthcoming_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2011

This is a lovely base for a holiday in Umbria, with easy access to Rome as well. Not a tarted-up, 4-poster-bed kind of place, but a genuinely beautiful historic palazzo in an old Umbrian hill town. Big, comfortable rooms, a pretty terrace for drinks/al fresco meals, and a charming host in Count Ettore Farrattini. Amelia has several good restaurants (one outstanding) and a fantastic pizzeria just across the street from the palazzo. Orvieto, Spoleto, Assisi and Perugia are within easy reach by car, plus lots of fabulous hill towns, and there are regular trains to Rome from nearby Orte. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryann034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2011

I have stayed at Palazzo Farrattini several times now, and it is a very special, beautiful and accommodating place. The hospitality of its owner, Ettore Farrattini, is unbeatable - warm and caring. (His English is impeccable, if that is a concern.) The palazzo is an historic Renaissance palace with gorgeous furnishings and artwork, with 21st century plumbing, thankfully! The grounds are beautiful and well-maintained. One can dine under the pergola on a sybaritic summer evening. It is heaven on earth.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Not to put too fine a point on it, Palazzo Farratini is my favourite place to stay in Italy. Nowhere else gives me the true feeling of what it would have been like to live in a 16th century palazzo. And I have stayed in many, all remodeled until any vestige of authenticity was gone. Ettore Farattini has a passion for the old and the real, and has lovingly preserved and cared for a part of Italian architectural history. Everything that it is possible to keep is still real, from the herring-bone brick floors as you enter the main doors, to the worn stone thresholds in the doorways. You are walking in the footsteps of the last 500 years!! With Ettore’s skill working with wood, even the windows are the originals, a major feat. Then, up the horse stairs (yes, 16th century noblemen could ride up to the piano nobile!) is the ballroom and, now, bedrooms. What an amazing feeling to wander through the ballroom, with it’s magnificent ceiling and tall windows and polished floor.

Of course, the palazzo has had additions, like wonderful bathrooms, but they are integrated into the rooms in a way that makes them seem always to have been there. My favourite bedroom is the red room, with its four-poster bed and lovely furniture, but all the bedrooms have their own charm and they all are furnished with period pieces.. And if you’re particularly lucky, and if you come with a party of 4 or 6 people, you may have the whole piano nobile to yourselves, to wander around and soak up the atmosphere.

I have seen preparations for huge gatherings, too, and although I haven’t been to a wedding or a conference at the palazzo, I can’t think of a more wonderful place to hold a large event.

Ettore and his partner Scott live on the ground floor. Their welcoming warmth and charm are the other reason this is my favourite place to stay in Italy. In fact, if you play your cards right, you may get to use the kitchen on the ground floor, and at this point the whole palazzo feels so much like home you will never want to leave..

A swimming pool is being built, a lovely addition to the grounds with their formal garden and the fields of olive trees., and It’s hard to believe that Palazzo Farratini is within the walls of Amelia. The wisteria arbor is the most lovely spot to gather around a table and toast the sunset with a glass of Prosecco.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarlaHesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Amelia is a picturesque, quaint hilltown that is everything an idyllic Umbrian city should be, and Palazzo Farrattini is the perfect compliment to the surroundings. This B&B only increases the charm of Amelia, if that is even possible. Ettore and Scott are the consummate hosts, and they go above and beyond for their guests.

Palazzo Farrattini is conveniently located inside the city walls, within walking distance to all the attractions of Amelia. The palazzo stands just at the edge of the city, allowing for sweeping views of the countryside that will make even the most jaded travel feel transported and relaxed. Ettore is a wealth of knowledge about Amelia and the Umbrian region and is always more than happy to share anecdotes or some history. He has decorated the palazzo with beautiful, period antiques and the murals on the walls will make any art or history lover giddy.

From vineyard bookings to rental car pick ups, Ettore and Scott did everything to assure that my husband and I enjoyed our stay. They serve a lovely breakfast spread each morning and are always available for assistance, without ever being in the way. Palazzo Farrattini and the owners are wonderful cultural icons of Amelia - its hard not to be swept away in the charm of staying here!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nettieteig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amelia hotels
1.4 mi away
La Gabelletta
La Gabelletta
#4 of 20 in Amelia
75 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Tenuta del Gallo
La Tenuta del Gallo
#3 of 20 in Amelia
99 reviews
2.0 mi away
Agriturismo Surripa
Agriturismo Surripa
#3 of 25 in Amelia
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tenuta Pizzogallo
Tenuta Pizzogallo
#2 of 25 in Amelia
63 reviews
3.6 mi away
Agriturismo Villa San Valentino
3.1 mi away
B&B Barragan
B&B Barragan
#1 of 1 in Porchiano
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Farrattini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Farrattini

Property: Palazzo Farrattini
Address: Via Farrattini 52, 05022, Amelia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Amelia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Amelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. Palazzo Farrattini is a unique jewel of the Italian Renaissance started exactly 5 centuries ago by the famous Architech Antonio Da Sangallo the youngest. Still a property of the family, the Palazzo opens its doors to the guests who look for the authentical charme of the period when it was built. During the summer of 2014 various events will celebrate this important anniversary. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing