We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Good " but not as 3 yrs ago.”
Review of Rixos Sungate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rixos Sungate
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Beldibi
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Except this year, we also took a family trip to this hotel 3 years ago. To my point of view, the quality this year has dropped lots comparing the year before. Firstly, there used to be a continues excellent music playing by the pool, beginning at 10:00 am to 17:00 pm, like an energy bomb, cheering the atmosphere and all hotel guests. We sadly weren’t lucky enough to enjoy the music this year, since there was no tune. There were a few segways around.
I am taking the chance to thank Emre who’s one of nicest style bartenders I have ever met, and also, many thanks to Sanem, who’s a very good tempered and helpful person at the reception. Our final thanks go to Montana, making the bright and lively atmosphere for the perfect entertainment and performance. But, the problem was, during entertainment, instead of speaking English, spoke Russian and the people should guess what they were talking about.
The hotel rooms were spotless, tidy and fresh; while the hotel area was no more clean, covered with leaves and garbage. All in all, the number of bartenders were few and lots of crowd used to gather at the bar counter.
Something positive,was that despite the fact the interenet system was not convenient enough and slow, but you could access it all around the resort, it was really helpful to me.

Room Tip: "Rooms located in the main building with sea view are good "
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mehrdad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixos S, Guest Service Team, at Rixos Sungate, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2014

Dear Mehrdad T,

Thanks for your review. We beleive the change in music could have been due to the change in trend as we play the latest hits.
Don't be let down, keep in touch with our DJS and they will be glad to please you.

Hope to see you again.

Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 3,419 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was my first stay at the rixos sungate hotel. from the moment we got there to the day of departure the whole experience was fantastic. The rooms are amazing, the food was fantastic, and staff were very friendly. There was an amazing lady in customer relations called Nil, i think that is how you spell her name,, she managed to secure four evening and one breakfast al a carte resturant visits, which were lovely, what a lovely person she was, always asking if we were ok, and if there was anything else she could help us with. I myself was made to feel special for two weeks, will certainly be returning, thank you rixos you certainly do luxury well.

Room Tip: email the hotel a few weeks before you travel to ask about your requirments and they do their best t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonneamelia61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixos S, Guest Service Team at Rixos Sungate, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2014

Dear Madam yvonneamelia61,

We appreciate your review. Come again and let's share the wonderful moments.

See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was our 4th stay at the Rixos chain, having been to Bodrum and Belek (x2) previously with this being our first to Sungate. From the moment we got there the whole experience was amazing. Our lake house villa with pool was FANTASTIC. Our Thomas Cook rep Steph was really friendly and managed to secure 5 evening and 2 breakfast al a carte restaurant visits, which made the trip even more spectacular as the food was amazing and the kids tried new things they wouldn't have if we went to the main buffet (also great). Whilst all the restaurants were fab - Fantasy was by far the best of them all serving international food. Everyone makes an effort to get dressed up in the evening and we had the pleasure of being there whilst the resort had a 'beach party" in the evening - brilliant! The kids (10 & 5) loved Rixy Kingdom, with water slides for all ages and the lunchtime menu was great. I have seen lots of negative reviews about the politeness and service of the Rixos employees, but I honestly cannot fault them at all from our arrival to our departure. There was one particular employee whose name I cannot even start to spell but it sounded like Younis that took us around the resort in his golf buggy nearly every day - letting the kids sit up front so they loved it. I'm just booking now to go again next year with the kids so can highly recommend Rixos - they definitely do luxury well.

Room Tip: Villa with separate bedroom for the kids highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixos S, Guest Service Team at Rixos Sungate, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2014

Dear Madam Sharon B,

We thank you for having written this fruitful review. Thank you for spending your holidays with us and w will be glad to see you again.

Have a lovely year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

For me and my wife, it was our second stay at this hotel (we spent also 2 weeks in august 2012).
Compared to 2013, the 2012 stay was significantly better for us.
First of all the animation:
-sport animation was similar, even bettter thank to Erdal, who improved his water gym and kangoo jumps; Anastasia did also a good job;
- evening and afternoon animation was about 1/4 compared to last year: no pool party, no foam party, no beach party during our 2 weeks stay; some shows in the evening only for Russians (in their language so you couldn't understand a word), poor show quality (except Todes, the Turkish night and Inna);
Alara show center extremely crowded, you should go with almost 1 hour before the show to have a chair. Russians reserved the tables with their bags long time before the show started , so it was a challenge to get a seat.....
Many from the animation team were bored, so they didn’t dance enough to do a good athmosphere for the disco after the show, the DJ played nearly the same club music every evening....
Restaurants and bars pretty crowded¸ or at least more crowded than in 2012. Long time to wait for a drink especially at Lotus bar which lacks at least 2 bartenders and 2-3 waiters more. Still, I would like to mention Sinan (bartender) and Elif (waitress) for their good service.
Wine for lunch and dinner at the buffet restaurants, not of very good quality.
Room and public spaces were clean, and the garden well maintained.
Although they added lots of sunbeds to the beach, it was not easy to find one especially on the pier.
Anyway, despite the decreasing quality of services, Rixos Sungate remains a place to consider for a good summer vacation provided the decline doesn’t continue.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catalin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixos S, Guest Service Team at Rixos Sungate, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2014

Dear Catalin I ,

Thank you for your comment. Could it be possible that the first experiences leave a better mark as yıou are seeing some things for the first time whereas the next time you feel like you klnow them all and would like something different?
Don't give up, we are sure you will like this place even better as we will also consider a soem changes per your suggestion.

See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Hotel itself is absolutely beautiful. Rooms spotless, grounds spectacular. Staff very friendly and helpful. Drink quality very good but what you actually got within all inclusive programme depended greatly on who served you which could get very frustrating. Food good however main restaurants are a riot, to get clean table you have to go for opening times as from about 8pm there will not be any. The staff do their best but when certain nationalities mess up a table then move to another, then another it really is beyond their control. We didn't really have a lot of problems at the bar as far as getting served but think this is more down to the fact that the hotel wasn't quite full. The hotel is more directed towards the Russians, ie, entertainment etc predominantly Russian however music was varied. White party not to be missed if possible. Stephanie the thomas cook rep is amazing and really sticks up for her clients, she goes the extra mile, you get 5 al carte meals each week free, also 2 breakfasts. The meals are much better than the buffet restaurants but not worth the normal $30 per person charge. Everything is priced in American dollars. She also, where poss will organise a free late check out though not always possible. In all had a great holiday, and would defiantly return. However wouldn't recommend anyone with a short fuse to go as the Russians lack of manners and greed will infuriate you, I am very tolerant to then normally, having been on numerous holidays with them but this was by far the worst and I almost lost it with them towards the end. Again the hotel can't be blamed for this.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keltic_kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixos S, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rixos Sungate, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Our Guests,
We would like to thank you for writing a review about your experience about Rixos Sungate and for choosing our hotel for your holiday. We hope that we feel you special. All the comments and opinions,suggestions are important for us in order to improve our service quality.
Thank you so much for your contribution.We were very pleased to welcome you.
Thank you for your interest and we look forward to welcome you again!

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

August 2013 found us back at Rixos Sungate for the third time, a family of 4 this time with an extra teenager. We travelled with Thomas Cook.

First positive - Rixos Sungate don't stoop to that low trick (IMO) of first giving you a rubbish room so you pay for an upgrade. Previously we had received complimentary upgrades to suite/grand suite in the main building. With 5 people this year I knew I would only get the 2 standard rooms I had booked but am happy to report that they were high floor and sea view which was a bonus. Both rooms together as requested, in the Terrace Block. I would struggle to say which is the best location out of Terraces and Main Building but I think Terrace just wins for us as our rooms were closer to pools, restaurants and water park. The Internet for which they give you a code is good everywhere. Take a kettle if you like a morning cuppa - fresh milk in minibar.

A minor negative - housekeeping could be improved. Although clean on arrival during the week it only seemed to be bins emptied, mini-bar topped up. Sticky bedside cabinet remained so until I cleaned it.

The complex is huge and is not for you if you prefer smaller more personal hotels. We however love the fact that you don't have to leave the hotel and don't get bored.

Service is mostly good; it can suffer from the inevitable hiccups of dealing with 3000 people of different nationalities but issues are resolved quickly when brought to the attention of the right person. The staff work very hard. When we had problems with our TV the tech guy was there within 10 mins.

Given the vast territory the hotel sits on, it never feels crowded. There are enough sunbeds in the sun/shade either at pool(s), beach or gardens for everyone. I always got a good spot by the main pool 8.30/9.00 but I think "premium" spots on the pier do go earlier.

The animators are good fun but know to leave you alone if joining in is not your thing. My daughter and friend enjoyed the darts.

Food and Drink: Not blow your socks off amazing but more than good enough. I hope this conveys what I mean. They try their best to manage the crowds in the main restaurant by offering staggered openings, many a la carte restaurants and other food choices such as the patisserie and the noodle bars (my favorites!!) such that people don't need to be in the same place at the same time. Thomas Cook have a great arrangement with the hotel that their guests receive good a la carte deals (I won't say what it is as it changes weekly according to guest structure) but we sampled several at no cost, including 2 a la carte breakfasts which were so relaxing. All juice is fresh by the way. The best a la carte for food and service is the Chinese. We emailed ahead to book this for our first night, and this was dealt with efficiently. If you want them to make you a banquet rather than order off the menu, ask for a combo - it took a long time to reach this understanding, but was well worth it as you get to try all the dishes.

The hotel listens and learns. Last year the service at the main bar was poor. Late afternoon a lot of people drank mojiito so this year they have a dedicated mojiito hut between 4 and 11 which takes pressure off the main bar. Every flavour under the sun is available and you get great service from the mojiito guy. Also in previous years the coffee has been nasty but now the Welcome Bar is a dedicated tea and coffee house with excellent coffee (and Irish coffee!!)

The entertainment is on quite late but very professional. You'll probably have to stand - I think the seats may be VIP and payable. You can tell entertainment not really my thing, didn't go very often.

Everything imaginable for kids - table tennis, crazy golf, pool tables, cinema, water park, kayaks, pedallo, go-carting, zip wire etc etc.

Although predominantly a Russian resort, this year there were noticeably more Brits all of whom seemed to be really enjoying themselves from those I spoke to.

If you do fancy a trip out I thoroughly recommend the Thomas Cook Hammam trip and the rafting was excellent too albeit a very long day.

Nearly finished......free late-check out was no problem I suspect thanks to Stephanie the Thomas Cook rep who was amazing and went well above the call of duty on more than one occasion. Stephanie - if you read this, thank you, and we got back in one
piece - just!

Which just leaves us with the problem of what to do next year!! It's a bit unimaginative to return but I can't imagine anywhere else ticking our boxes so well. Thanks Rixos!




  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KJAJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixos S, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rixos Sungate, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for writing a review about your experience about Rixos Sungate and for choosing our hotel for your holiday!


Your positive review and recommendation of our hotel is greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rixos Sungate in the future!
Thank you very much for your positive view and we wish you all the best!


King Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just back from a lovely week at the Rixos Sungate, amazing facilities, superb entertainment and great accommodation. The only thing that lets this resort down are the main restaurants,which serve the buffet for breakfast lunch and dinner. The quality of food is excellent and there is plenty of it, however its the same food every day for lunch and dinner. The service is inconsistent and its extremely chaotic. We chose to have breakfast in the Fantasy Restaurant which was a lot quieter and far more civilised.
We stayed in one of the terrace houses (family room) which consisted of two double bedrooms and two bathrooms and this was situated away from the main building which is much quieter away from the night time music. Our children 10 + 14 were never bored as there is a full day of activities for all ages. This is a lively resort especially in the evening when the beautiful people come out and party. Can't wait to go back again!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the block by the Aqua park are much quieter in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esilva2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixos S, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Rixos Sungate, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Our Guests,
First of all, thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Rixos Sungate. All the comments and opinions are important for us in order to improve our service quality.As we always try to give service according to expectations of our guests, your comments have been handled by the management and the adjustments will be made according to their suitabilities.
Also, your complains about food was forwarded to our executive chief.

We invited you to visit our hotel Rixos Sungate again!


King Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beldibi
13.3 mi away
Rixos Premium Tekirova
Rixos Premium Tekirova
#2 of 21 in Tekirova
1,980 reviews
15.1 mi away
Amara Dolce Vita Luxury
Amara Dolce Vita Luxury
#5 of 21 in Tekirova
1,243 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nirvana Lagoon Villas Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Maxx Royal Kemer Resort
1.9 mi away
Akka Antedon Hotel
Akka Antedon Hotel
#1 of 63 in Beldibi
1,450 reviews
2.7 mi away
Karmir Resort & Spa
Karmir Resort & Spa
#6 of 284 in Kemer
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Sungate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Sungate

Address: Goynuk Mah. Baskomutan Ataturk Cad. No:153-1/1, Beldibi, Kemer 07980, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kemer > Beldibi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beldibi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beldibi
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Beldibi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Beldibi
#5 Family Hotel in Beldibi
Price Range: $87 - $2,465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Sungate 5*
Number of rooms: 1094
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REDICOVER RIXOS SUNGATE. Rixos Sungate has welcomed the 2011 summer with a brand new face, working in conjunction with 4 construction firms and 2 highly respected architects throughout the winter period to renovate its rooms and public areas to create new projects to satisfy its guests. Rixos Sungate is once again prepared to create a holiday experience that is above expectations. The brand new 8 Grand Deluxe Villas are located at our VIP area, at 241m2 and with 3 bedrooms, kitchen, brand new interior design, private pool and exclusive guest services, Rixos Sungate has incorporated luxury and comfort whilst being both private and discreet. The VIP section has its own garden, private pool and entrance, along with the Siesta Bar and Supreme VIP Restaurant. Our 12 brand new Villa Executive Gardens have the distinction of being the only villas overlooking the sea with private terrace, pool and access to the Aegean Restaurant; we are proud to offer VIP services to our guests. All our rooms will have LCD for our guests enjoyment and Wi-Fi will be available so that the world is a click away. To take full advantage of the pleasures of the beach and sun, we have designed and built 2 brand new piers for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rixos Sungate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sungate Port Royal Hotel
Sungate Port Royal Beldibi
Sungate Hotel
Rixos Sungate Antalya Province/Beldibi, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing