We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rixos Sungate
Nearby Hotels
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seagull Hotel(Beldibi)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Ring(Beldibi)
$173
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akka Antedon Hotel(Beldibi)(Great Value!)
$263
$257
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$63
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,997)
Filter reviews
3,998 results
Traveler rating
2,728
632
341
146
151
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,728
632
341
146
151
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslotus baraqua parkpool partyvip pierturkeyrixy clubzip linea la carte restaurantsguest servicesbig hotelrussian guestsnight showsperfect hotelspecial thankspiano barlanguage barriermain restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
610 - 615 of 3,998 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have just returned from staying at the Rixxos Sungate. It is a busy hotel with 3,000 guests but runs fairly smoothly despite this. The staff are friendly and work hard. We enjoyed the Fantasy restaurant and pool and once away from the busy two main restaurants (other reviewers have mentioned these and we stayed away once we found alternatives) we felt like we had a proper holiday. We ate at the Olivia and excellent pino restaurant in the evening.

The areas around the pool could be cleaned more thoroughly as it was sticky with spilt drinks. We took our little boy to the baby beach but it was not the cleanest water in the world so just used the pools after that. Difficult to find a sun bed around the main pools after 8am. Other reviewers have mentioned the white party where guests are offered drinks in babies bottles. As a mother of a three year old boy and given that there were 700 children staying in the hotel I found this pretty irresponsible.

The weather was great though and you get fit walking from one place to another!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixos S, Guest Service Team at Rixos Sungate, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2014

Dear Jo B,

Lovely review, thank you.
We have provided enough sunbeds around the pools and beach area. I do understand that we may want to all be at the same place at the same time, but the beach boys and responsible staff are always available to help you out. Do not hesitate to contact them.

Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was the third holiday in Turkey. In 2011, Ela Quality Resort/Belek: quite nice experience. In 2012, Gural Premier/Tekirova: the best place ever for your holiday! In 2013, we choose a Rixos location, thinking it is a step ahead. Unfortunately, it was the worst experience in Turkey, and probably the last ever.
1.The main restaurant: to find a clean table is the main preoccupation of any tourist. It is disgusting to see every time the same image: people running kilometers inside the restaurant, with both hands full of plates, searching for a clean table, or trying the empty bottles to find a drop of water, or searching the staff for a glass of drink, or simply searching for clean forks and spoons. It is really hilarious to see ridiculous Russian ladies, dressed as for the interplanetary events, with 20cm high heels and sparkling dresses cleaning the tables or waiting 30 minutes for the staff to clean it. You have no chance to be served with a glass of water or everything else.
2.Services at the bars were actually inexistent. Anytime you want to get something from the bar, you have to wait 15 to 30 minutes. This is very bothering when you are in holiday! As 5-6 persons were waiting in the queue, the bartenders were simply playing with the bottles, making a poor show, instead of hurrying up in order to serve tourists.
3.Sun beds on the beaches: finding a sun bed is almost impossible. They are all occupied by towels (!?!) all day long, even though nobody shows up on half of them. The hotel management seems to have no idea how to solve this really frustrating problem. You have to just throw the towels and get the sun bed, otherwise you will feel frustrated every day by sitting on a corner of sun bed while 20 sun beds in the shadow are occupied by just towels.
4.Tourists: I guess, Russia was empty at that time, because all Russians were there. 99% from the tourist were Russians. I discovered several degrees of disgusting behaviors:
-Level 0: you eat as much as you need;
-Level 1: you eat as much as you like (so, you got enough, but you might like to eat something more);
-Level 2: you eat as much as you can;
-Level 3: you eat as much as you can carry after you have already eaten;
-Level 4: you eat as much as you can carry and return back to carry more.
I have never seen in my life such gluttony and waste. Hundreds of very rude people filling the plates until they heavily could walk with, leaving the plates almost full of food behind them and then leaving the restaurant with both hands occupied by food. Every evening you could see sea gulls and crows just stuffing with food remained on the sun beds.
Every tourist addresses to you in Russian as for Russians all people in the world have to learn their language. The staff is obliged to learn Russian as the Russians are not able to learn any English. As a consequence is quite difficult to find proper staff to speak English, Russian and to be nice, well trained, etc…

The general impression that you have during your stay there is that you were not invited. The hotel seems to be completely unmanaged. I noticed that the high score of this location is given by Russians. I noticed that they feel quite good here, but I would not repeat the experience and not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dinel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixos S, Guest Service Team at Rixos Sungate, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2014

Dear Dinel C,

Thank you for your review. Don't let one frog spoil the whole water.
Try to enjoy the other facilities rather than indulging in what others do.

Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

just arrived back from Rixos Sungate and thought we would leave a review as we often rely on these reviews when booking and for other useful information.
On first morning the first impressions were really good and amazing grounds,very big to get round and see the whole complex. The rooms were really good and spacious,we were in the family terrace block and it was interconnecting with two bathrooms and two bedroom,two fridges etc.
i personally thought the rooms were fairly dirty and balcony very stained and compared to other hotels we have stayed in in turkey which were five star i thought generally in some areas had some cleaning issues which could of easily been dealt with to make this hotel as good as it could be.
we wanted to keep on the room on day of return home for a shower etc as with three children it would of been easier however they wanted to charge us slightly over three hundred dollars to keep room until six o clock which i thought was ridiculous. There is however a great spa area to have showers and get changed so not worry if you cant do this.
We spent most of the time during our stay in Rixy land which was amazing for children,had a restaurant and bar there which served childrens food including jars of baby food,baby yoghurts and even had tubs of aptamil which we were really disappointed about as had previously emailed hotel to ask about this and they said we had to provide it ourself so ended up spending an awful lot on extra weight allowance and dragging round suitcases full of mik and food to find out actually they did provide this!!You cant take any alcohol in rixy land which yes is good but when you spend most of your time in there and fancied a nice cold beer later on in the day it was quite annoying especially after the money you pay to come here. Ice cream and ice lollies also served in here. There was a great park with climbing activities and a little petting zoo and horses you could go on. Great pools on this side and a great water park, childrens clubs and games rooms with free playstaions to use and freezing cold so when it got too hot they were useful.The staff service in this part of the hotel was really good and cant fault them at all,very friendly and polite however that isnt something that is provided throughout this hotel and will explain more soon.
There was lots of activities to do here including sedgeways, electric bikes, bowling alley and cinema, zip wires across top of hotel,climbing wall, go carts so no chance of getting bored.
The main restaurant was not a great experience even though the food was not too bad(apart from breakfast),it was full of awfully rude people pushing in and really bad service. We found ourselfs walking round most of the time looking for a clean table to sit at and then proceeded to never get offered a drink and had to go looking again. We then decided to eat at the alacarte choices and this was by far a much better experience and even got offered drinks haha. Service at the main bar (lotus) was truly awful and always understaffed,if you happen to get the attention of the roller blade waiting staff you were lucky but they never came back with drinks which was awful service and a big let down. English is not widely spoken here and even ordering at the main bar was an issue and very frustrating as there was alot of us. I did ask for a menu for drinks and was told they did not have one to find later in the holiday actually they did have them!! but maybe they kept them back for the rude russains.There was a little hut next to the lotus bar called the havanna club which did really good mojito's which was good and also a noodle bar late afternoon and they were delicious.
The alara snack bar was really good and actually the staff there did work hard and were pleasant and polite. Great ice creams and cakes at the patisserie later in the afternoon and pool bars that were allocated around the grounds seemed fine. Lots of pools to choose from with big thick sponge beds not the normal hard sunbeds(these were in rixy land) and loads of hammocks and swinging double beds scattered in the grounds.
There was foam parties which seemed a little weird as families enjoying it with there children and practically naked girls dancing around them and that theme continued on the piers,not something i want my children sitting and watching.
Entertainment looked good some nights but actually could not get near the place which was a huge let down as all our children had wanted to watch the shows,they were too late at night and at this point only really catered and provided good service for the rich russains with there own vip sofas to sit back and watch the shows.
We really enjoyed this hotel but it just didnt have the nice touches that we have seen in other hotels,service was awful and really feel that the only people that deserved a great holiday and experience in this hotel were the rich people.
we are happy for anyone to message us if we can help with anything regarding this hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nicnpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixos S, Guest Service Team at Rixos Sungate, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2014

Dear nicnpete,

Your detailed comment is fantastic and of great help to everyone.Thank you for your time.
We hope to see you again here as part of Rixos Sungate family.

Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hopefully this might give you a more balanced review of what to expect from the Rixos.

Rooms. Huge family room, very happy with it. Two interconnecting rooms. If arriving at night, do not miss that one of the beds in the child's room is behind a curtain like we did! Balcony not cleaned. Sheet sculptures always interesting.

Meals. We only ate in the main restaurant twice, wouldn't want to have eaten there any more. Service there non-existent. Food itself nice but difficult to find a table and no atmosphere, not my idea of fun. We ate at the A La Cartes, food all excellent, service slow at times however ambience very good so didn't mind waiting, might be more of a problem with younger children. As opposed to having breakfast at the overcrowded main restaurant, going to the Fantasy is nice if you like to sit outside. Not such a wide selection but ambience better and there are less people, a huge benefit in my opinion. I personally don't think Turkish hotel breakfasts are ever normally very good, this hotel is about as good as it gets.

Evening entertainment. Evening entertainment too crowded and starts at 10 pm, bit too late if travelling with children.

Pools. Many to choose from, never crowded, very clean. If you want a shaded sunbathing area need to be up quite early, about 7:30 am.

Daytime activities. Complex absolutely huge. Loads to do, Rixy fantastic for young children, we did the zipwire- remember to negotiate on this if booking for larger groups- great fun. Something for everyone, even those who like to exercise whilst on holiday. Don't forget to visit the Patisserie, very good selection of ice-cream, unlike the ice-cream hut opposite the pool bar. It's open from 3pm to midnight. Noodles are delicious, remember to have them at some point.

Service- Don't bother giving drinks orders to the rollerblading waiters and waitresses at the Lotus bar, they will roll off and 9 out of 10 times you will never see them again. Ordering yourself at the Lotus bar can also be difficult, staff very overworked and some of them can be quite grumpy. A few were also very nice. Most of the staff seem pleased to see a smiling British face, as the staff are used to having to serve boorish Russians at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LouiseAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixos S, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sungate, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Our Guests,
First of all we would like to say that , it was a pleasure for us to welcome you in our hotel.

But unfortunately your comments shows us that you were not satisfied with your holiday. Because of that we are so sorry to hear this case. We will get immediately action for your comments.We would wish that you get contact directly with us at the hotel , so that we could have the possibilty to solve the problem on the right time. At the same time , topics that have been satisfied was made us happy.
Rixos Sungate is located at 250.000 square meters area. The restaurants, bars or show center have capacity to welcome all our guests.Evening entertainment programme starts directly proportional with the restaurants closing time. It has been made for watching all of our guests. Children's animation programme starts earlier in Rixy Kingdom.
The problem of sunbeds was solved and reservations has been banned. Checks are conducted everyday in the morning.The warnings has given to all rooms.
An additional details and clarify some doubts allow us to add that as give an international service in our hotel and it is not possible give more importance to Russian Guests. We try to give the same service to all of our guests.
Rixos Sungate Hotel evaluates every opinion and believes its importance for our service quality. Additionally it provides an opportunity to improve our services. Your comments have been examined in detail by the management and the required adjustments will be made according to their suitabilities.
Thank you for your understanding.
We will be very happy if we could be able to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have just returned from visiting this Rixos hotel. We chose it because we had stayed at both Bodrum and Belek which were both fabulous ,clean well managed with excellant service and staff and always gave lots of little finishing touches which made the holiday special .
DONT EXPECT THIS AT THE SUNGATE !!!!
Yes the hotel is a big complex with some quite pretty areas,especially the grounds.Our room was also very nice and what you would expect but we had upgraded. The entertainment is good if you are younger and enjoy loud music constantly pumped out at you or shows that never start on time and you have to be there 2 hrs before to get any kind of view
.The White party was amazing ,but not in a nice way ,4 oclock in the afternoon ,caged dancers ,loud music ,alchohol being dispensed via babys bottles and syringes ,waiters in the pool dishing out drinks to adults and families I am sure its every 18/30 s holiday dream but we are a couple in our 50s and i was shocked by the activities i witnessed ,the beach party etc takes the same form .
As on the previous review sunbeds are hard to find ,but even when you do find a place to sit the beaches are dirty and unkept ,and the pool areas are scary to say the least .Families hoarded together ,surrounded by dirty glasses. plates of food all their personal belongings spread everwhere including dirty nappies etc .
The buffet is horendous too ,large tables for six or eight people which you find yourself sharing with unruly russians who totally ignore you and seem to be on a quest to eat the whole buffet on there own . the hotel philosophy also seems to be never to clean a table untill after the service is finished so if you go in later to try and avoid some of the chaos it looks like something from a horror movie !
We did try the Al La Cartes ,these come at an extra charge between 20 or 30 dollers per person {everything in the hotel is in dollers not lira or euros ] ,the Mexican was poor .Turkish, Italian and fFantasy very good.
All in all we were very disapointed in this Rixos hotel ,we know it is aimed at families but so was Rixos Bodrum and Rixos premier Belek and if they can make it happen why cant Sungate
My final moan was the service at the bars ,basically there was non ,the bar boys are all great ,very pleasant but just cant cope with the demand especially from the very large groups the hotel attracts
Sorry Rixos but this hotel lets the name down !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan p p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixos S, Guest Service Team at Rixos Sungate, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2014

Dear Madam susan p p,

There is a resolution for your trouble. Never hesitate to contact us in order to have them solved instead of letting them ruin your stay.
Keep in touch and we hope to see you again.

Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews