We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Absolutely Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda Gli Ulivi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Locanda Gli Ulivi
Ranked #2 of 11 Monteveglio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you are looking for a gloriously peaceful place to relax, eat great food, and experience the farmland of Italy, this is your spot. We jogged through the groves, relaxed by the pool, and ate some of the most delicious food I am have ever experienced. Drive up to Modena and visit the restaurant made famous by Anthony Bourdain called The Osteria of Rubbiara and have the best meal of your life. You will have 75 year aged balsamic and tour the distillery. Drink grappa and nucino. Meet the owner and basically have the best day of your foodie life. The area is fantastic and this was the best place we could have possibly stayed. Trust me, we went to a few of the other spots to eat, Locanda Gli Ulivi is the best in the region.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    30
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
56
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Agriturismo's are generally a chintzy bunch but gli ulivi has a simpler and more tasteful approach. Comfortable beds, beautiful view, swimming pool and excellent restaurant. A great country getaway.

Only negative was the noisy kids in the next room - not the fault of the hotel - and once they left it was v peaceful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

During the roadtrip through tuscany we did a spontaneous stopover in this wonderful little bed & breakfast in Emilia Romagna for 4 days... the owner is very obliging! The appendant restaurant offers regional delicate food, which a very good value for money! A wonderful choice is the suite in direction to the pool, because the other rooms are a little bit clairaudient! But all rooms are very beautiful furnished in an autentic italian stil with an amazing view!

Room Tip: A wonderful choice is the suite in direction to the pool, because the other rooms are a little bit c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trip_maxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

we chose to stay at this B&B outside of Bologna to avoid the traffic and congestion of the city. it is a small B&B overlooking a sweeping, beautiful view of a national park. the pool area has panoramic views of the park. my husband and i enjoyed spending the day by the pool, enjoying a good book and glass of vino. it is very quiet and we felt as if we had the whole place to ourselves. the rooms are spotless and the bathrooms are huge by european standards. there are many delicious, inexpensive restaurants within driving distance. although we did not try the restaurant on site (it got great TA reviews), it was always packed at both lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mccannon24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in September. It was certainly a really great find! The rooms were perfect with gorgeous views over the valley and vineyards. The pool area was lovely and breakfast was great. We ate at the restaurant twice while staying there and the food was delicious! I would go back for the food alone. The farm also produces their own wine, which was so tasty - we had quite a few bottles during our stay! The place is run by family, which just adds to how special it is. A definite must!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper level with a view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissazwaneveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband had stayed in this hotel on business a few years ago and had remembered that the restaurant was very good. We chose to stay here for 1 night before our last night of the holiday in the city of Bologna, which is only a 30 minute drive away. Our room was in a separate building next to the pool which was beautifully decorated with a fabulous large comfortable bed. Very spacious with superb air conditioning and large powerful shower. The Pool area was lovely, so tranquil with gorgeous uninterrupted views of the countryside. Our evening meal was in the restaurant situated in the main building, there is also an outdoor seating area. The staff didn't speak much English apart from perhaps the hotel owner who was always on hand to help and recommend dishes and wines. The food was very good with recipes that had belonged to the family for generations. I had told the waitress I was a vegetarian but it transpired that one of the courses I had ordered was a dish with beef in it. They were quick to let me know this and suggested they make something else for me. The breakfast was the best we had during our Italian holiday, and you could also order cooked dishes which is rare in Italy. We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing stay and the superb food was an added bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I had the good fortune to stay at this wonderful place for two nights with my wife and two friends.
The rooms were very modern and beautifully appointed---twenty steps and we were at the poolside. Enjoyed early morning swims. The views of the four hills were awesome. The owners were very helpful-they organised a tour of a local Parmesan cheese making farm--the whole process from cows to tasting free samples was very good. The two evening meals ticked all the boxes and the local wines of the surrounding hills --both red and white were lovely. You really need a car to visit all the local interesting attractions. We didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back in the Springtime.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteveglio
2.1 mi away
Alla Rocca Hotel
Alla Rocca Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bazzano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
6.2 mi away
Locanda Del Feudo
Locanda Del Feudo
#1 of 1 in Castelvetro di Modena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Cartiera
Hotel La Cartiera
#1 of 1 in Vignola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Amati Design Hotel
Amati Design Hotel
#2 of 4 in Zola Predosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corte D'Aibo
Corte D'Aibo
#1 of 11 in Monteveglio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.7 mi away
IL Castellazzo
IL Castellazzo
#3 of 11 in Monteveglio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Gli Ulivi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Gli Ulivi

Property: Locanda Gli Ulivi
Address: Via Montebudello 33, 40050 Monteveglio, Valsamoggia, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Valsamoggia > Monteveglio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monteveglio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Locanda Gli Ulivi 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a beautiful, peaceful setting, surrounded by stunning Italian countryside, vineyards, and the striking natural beauty of Monteveglio's nature park, the hotel is ideal for a relaxing or romantic break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Locanda Gli Ulivi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Gli Ulivi Monteveglio, Italy - Province Of Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing