We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge
Stellenbosch
1 review
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Me and my friend rocked up in howling winds and needed shelter for the night. We have'nt booked but the Duty manager came from his quarters and sorted us out at a very reasonable rate. The staff was very helpful and the general reception for the whole weekend quite enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    143
    92
    29
    24
See reviews for
122
174
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a very good experience at the Resort. The staff was very friendly and helpful, respecting our privacy. The room was immaculate and beautiful. We are planning to visit again, with our whole family this time, end of January. The view was amazing and at night, falling asleep to the soft slapping of the ocean against the rocks was so soothing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2013

If you are looking for a place to ease off work and city stress then the Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge is the place to be. You will be surrounded by picturesquare views. The restuarant serves delicious meals and you can have these overlooking the river. The staff are friendly and will give you a good service. If you own a boat you need to head down there and have a time of your life. Like I said this place is peacefull and tranquil, it is a must visit. I am heading back again.....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bonani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We enjoyed our stay, found the staff to be very pleasant but were let down with the bar and food. The menu was extremely limited and for a three star resort we felt let down and had expected more as a previous stay a few years ago. Your bar prices seemed to be a bit too high. We hope this feed back will assist you as we have many years experience in food and beverage.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pamela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uitenhage
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed in the Luxury rooms.Very nice.. An offer to help with our baggage
would have been welcome.The separately run Restaurant and Pub offers
good value for money and friendly service. The weather was horrible,,, but we
still enjoyed our stay. A real friends & family place. WILL be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Arno V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Witsands a beautiful place this hotel is great in the respect that its a friendly place where the staff go out of their way to help, the maintenance guys were so friendly and helpfull with advice on local spots and fishing also Lizzie the manager was great very friendly and down to earth as was Brian Rosi and Catherine, Patrick great barman and really funny.
The locals are great people who will help you more than any other town ive stayed in,really friendly and welcoming (thanks for the grunter Marge xx)
The menu is a little limited but there is a great place to eat just up the road called the "whale watchers inn"
The Hotel doesnt do snobbery,they look after everone regardless of our wealth or wherever ou come from, as im sure most of ou are aware this isnt the same everywhere.
A small thing that reall stood out for me was if you needed to ring any of the local services the hotel would do it for you, as dialling from a uk mobile costs a fortune,it was no problem for the staff to help you out anyway they could.
Top marks xx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve-n-toad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Was asked to settle room account at check-in, which was unexpected. All accounts at restaurant had to be setled separately and with each sitting. Room was comfortable, but noisy, as it was close to reception. Restaurant service was fair but the food was poor. This is not a good place for a family with young children. I will not recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bernard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge

Property: The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge
Address: 1 Joseph Barry Drive | PO Box 27, Witsand 6666, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Witsand
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Witsand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in Witsand / Port Beaufort "THE" Whale nursery of South Africa on the Garden Route midway between Cape Town and Plettenberg Bay, on the unspoiled bank of the mighty Breede River. The water course is tidal and navigable for up to 40 km. The area is a mariner's dream both on the river and the sea. Angling features as the number one attraction with many record breaking catches over the years as will be seen on the Breede River Lodge Wall of Fame. Safe tranquil beaches for walking and swimming. Beautiful in the windless and mild winter days. The area is also renowned for all kinds of water sport, swimming, surfing, wind surfing, deep sea and river fishing, rock, boat and fly fishing, river cruises, canoeing, sailing, spear fishing and snorkeling. With all of this in mind the hotel endeavors to cater both for the local family traveler and the international traveler who would like to see a part of the real South Africa. Experience friendly village life that offers food for the soul and a place to simply relax and unwind. We are ideally situated on the Garden Route as a middle point and base from which to travel and experience the vast arrays of attractions available on this route. We look forward to welcoming you here at the Breede. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breede River Resort And Fishing Hotel Witsand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing