We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unit 410 Breede River Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Unit 410 Breede River Lodge”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the amount of space there was in the unit and although the kitchen is small it was still possible to prepare light meals without too much hassle. Only reason everything is not excellent is because the children's room was quite small.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jaclyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    139
    86
    27
    19
See reviews for
113
168
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mossel Bay, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The restaurant's menu are very very small. Previously the restaurant was excellent, but the menu was a big problem besause we did not take any food with us for the weekend and we did not know that the the restaurant changed. Hopefully it will change.


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Liana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Having visited a few years ago regularly we were eager to come back agin. The new structure is extremely guest unfriendly. The hotel is run as a seperate entitiy to the bar/restaurant- and when I say seperate I mean seperate. You can't run a tab, borrow a bowl or buy a coldrink to take on the boats(made us go to the cafe in Witsands. It is absurd. The service at the restaurant is vvv sow- and this in midwinter with few customers.. The hotel itself- which is really just the rooms, is fine.

what a shame- I think it's days are numbered in this form.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deborah Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreedeRiverLodge, Manager at The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We remember your booking and we are really sorry for the inconvenience causes by the small misunderstanding. We supply all cutlery and extra’s direct from front office reception.
The pub do sell takeaways, cold drinks and water that you can take away on the boats, but they are not allowed to sell any alcoholic beverages of site. The pub allows for an account that needs to be settled direct before the end of the day.
The hotel consist out of 1 to 4 bedroom self- catering units, studio units, budget rooms and lux hotel rooms overlooking our private harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a lovely time at the Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge. The accommodation was lovely and modern, immaculate clean and very comfortable. They even provided heaters in the room, which was very welcome being a cold week-end in winter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After the waitress told me the linefish was frozen, i did not have high hopes. Well the previously frozen grilled yellowtail was fantastic! The chips were perfectly seasoned and crispy and the salad simple, but fresh. I was the only dinner guest, being midweek, off-season, yet I thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was fine - the underfloor heating was a lifesaver - it was a cold night...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the resort. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We has a request to be moved to a different room, and this was done with no fuss (or extra cost). The room were in good condition, and we had a beautiful, though partial, view of the river. This really was value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Timothy1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The receptionist Hanlie was very professional and helpful.
The food was very affordable, delicious and TOO large helpings. The waitresses (Bonita / Elzieta) was absolutely brilliant, courtious and friendly.

Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witsand
1.1 mi away
Whale Watchers Inn
Whale Watchers Inn
#1 of 2 in Witsand
60 reviews
15.6 mi away
Malagas Hotel
Malagas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malagas
96 reviews
19.2 mi away
Morukuru Ocean House
Morukuru Ocean House
#1 of 1 in De Hoop Nature Reserve
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Skeiding Guest Farm
Skeiding Guest Farm
#1 of 8 in Heidelberg
176 reviews
21.9 mi away
Aan de Kanal Guest House
Aan de Kanal Guest House
#3 of 4 in Heidelberg
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge

Property: The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge
Address: 1 Joseph Barry Drive | PO Box 27, Witsand 6666, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Witsand
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Witsand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in Witsand / Port Beaufort "THE" Whale nursery of South Africa on the Garden Route midway between Cape Town and Plettenberg Bay, on the unspoiled bank of the mighty Breede River. The water course is tidal and navigable for up to 40 km. The area is a mariner's dream both on the river and the sea. Angling features as the number one attraction with many record breaking catches over the years as will be seen on the Breede River Lodge Wall of Fame. Safe tranquil beaches for walking and swimming. Beautiful in the windless and mild winter days. The area is also renowned for all kinds of water sport, swimming, surfing, wind surfing, deep sea and river fishing, rock, boat and fly fishing, river cruises, canoeing, sailing, spear fishing and snorkeling. With all of this in mind the hotel endeavors to cater both for the local family traveler and the international traveler who would like to see a part of the real South Africa. Experience friendly village life that offers food for the soul and a place to simply relax and unwind. We are ideally situated on the Garden Route as a middle point and base from which to travel and experience the vast arrays of attractions available on this route. We look forward to welcoming you here at the Breede. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breede River Resort And Fishing Hotel Witsand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing