We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunny time in Cerbere”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cerbere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Restaurant Hotel La Dorade
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cerbere
Certificate of Excellence
cerbere
1 review
“sunny time in Cerbere”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

A perfect place for a few days sunshine, comfort, wonderful food and superb hospitality, to say nothing of the gorgeous village sur mer- would come back in a heartbeat, thankyou Ladorade!!!

Room Tip: sur mer for sure but even the cheaper rooms in the annexe are charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disurgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    45
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
43
69
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bagneres-de-Bigorre, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Really enjoyed a one night stay here after cycling across the pyrenees. Accommodation is basic, but clean and with secure bike storage. Owners were very welcoming and helpful.
Food was brilliant -- highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fastfish1x1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Har Adar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I stayed at Hotel La Dorade over the weekend and would best characterize the hotel as providing a totally informal and unexpectedly unique small town experience. I arrived by bicycle and left by train. The train station is within walking distance from the hotel and serves towns all along the coast to Marseilles.
Staying over the weekend at La Dorade without a car happened to be the perfect opportunity for some quiet downtime and to "chill", as there is not very much to do in town itself other than enjoy the quiet vista over a small pebbly Mediterranean beach and port.
My room was in located in the annex on the other side of a small square from the main hotel building. The reception area is partially outdoors and doubles as a bar and triples as a small restaurant. Service was quick and pleasant at the bar/restaurant. Although the room was small, it was tidy and clean. Free internet access was available, but only in the reception/bar/restaurant area at the main building. Various small eateries, a bakery and a mini-market are all located within a block from the hotel.
My most striking memory from my stay at La Dorade is the gratiousness of the hotel owner, Yves, who was extremely helpful, friendly, very conversant in English and who provided guidance about services available in his town and assistance that was out of the ordinary.
For someone looking for a clean and quiet place to stay in a small town by the sea, La Dorade is a very nice option for a short stay or as a base for day trips.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MFPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We wanted to break up what would otherwise be a rather long train ride between Avignon and Barcelona. Stopping over-night in Cerbere would also give us an opportunity to spend a little time in a small Mediterranean village. Hotel La Dorade itself is a solid two-star, but the hotel's restaurant was exceptionally good. At the end of dinner, in speaking with owner Yves about our travel plans, he noted that a rail strike had been called for the next day. That would, of course, greatly affect our plan of catching the train into Barcelona the next morning. He offered to call the rail station in an effort to learn whether our train would be running. Beyond this, he alerted wife Anne that we had travel complications (she would be in the the morning). When we awoke, Anne had already been busy trying to make arrangements for us to get to Port Bou, Spain where we could catch the train. She had tentatively reserved a cab and even spoke with a friend who was possibly driving to Port Bou. Ultimately she arranged that ride with a friend and we were able to continue our travels without delay. Everyone was so friendly and helpful; that why I say 'outstanding personalized service'. We truly appreciated all these extra efforts made for us.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank conradmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We've been staying in La Dorade over the last few years since we discovered Cerbere, a little quaint town on the Mediterranean.
Charming Anne and Yves are always there to welcome us with their big smile and hospitality. It's like going back to see old friends.
The hotel is very pristine, with a very homey decor in the restaurant as well as in the rooms. Most of them have a view right over the beach, and for opera lovers, you've got it galore! They both are big fans!
You can sit at the terrace and sip a glass of wine, or have a candle light dinner at the restaurant enjoying the local Catalan cuisine Francois, the chef, prepares with care.
If you're going that way, make sure to stop at "La Dorade" and meet Anne and Yves!
Don't miss it!

M & D from Paris

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diranmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We have been visiting La Dorade for over 16 years and every year it never fails to offer the best service, marvelous cuisine and terrific rooms with the most amazing views of the Mediterranean!! The value cannot be matched in the area. The family Maurice (the owners) are always friendly, caring and helpful to all who visit as well as stay there. The restaurant offers the most delicious Catalan-French cuisine to be found - they have the best baked mussels we have ever had! Also, their 'fruits de mer' is amazing! We will continue to recommend and visit La Dorade whenever it is possible for us. Also, it is located in the perfect place along the Mediterranean in the village of Cerbere which still retains its small village charm and authentic character - a rare find along the southern French Mediterranean coastline.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cerbere
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Vigie
Hotel La Vigie
#3 of 4 in Cerbere
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel le Catalan
Hotel le Catalan
#1 of 3 in Banyuls-sur-mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arago
Hotel Arago
#4 of 4 in Cerbere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Collioure Port Vendres
2.9 mi away
Cote Thalasso Banyuls sur Mer
Cote Thalasso Banyuls sur Mer
#2 of 3 in Banyuls-sur-mer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Madeloc
Hotel Madeloc
#1 of 16 in Collioure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Restaurant Hotel La Dorade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restaurant Hotel La Dorade

Property: Restaurant Hotel La Dorade
Address: Front de Mer, 66290 Cerbere, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Cerbere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cerbere
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing