We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, clean and convenient”
Review of Hotel Metropol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ipiales
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Metropol
Ranked #8 of 15 Ipiales B&B and Inns
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good value, clean and convenient”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are travelling between colombia and Ecuador there is a good chance you will be doing an overnight stay in either Ipiales or Pasto. For someone arriving and departing by bus the Metropol is perfect. It is right cross from the terminal so there is no need for taxis. For 20000 pesos a night you get a private room with a private bathroom. There s no need to make a reservation unless you are arriving in holiday season. The room was clean and bed was comfortable. The room was quite cold but they give you plenty of blankets so we weren't actually cold. The hot water took a long time to get warm but once it warmed up it was fine. It can get a little noisy between other guests and traffic but nothing too bad. The area is not the best for dining options but there is a restaurant by the lobby which serves reasonable typical Colombian meals for about 5000 pesos. The reception also sells water, yoghurts, chocolates etc. A visit to Las Lajas cathedral is a must before you leave. A collectivo from the front of the bus station will cost 2000 per person. A taxi to the border will set you back 7000 pesos. Overall, it's a good value option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kieranspt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    26
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
7
33
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

While crossing the border of Colombia into Ecuador this was one of the only hotels we could find in Ipiales.
But it was perfect and for 20,000 pesos only a night for a private room and bathroom it was a complete bargain.
It was across the road of the bus station which was good after the long transfer over the border.
There is a restaurant he ground floor which was cheap and good value.
There are a few shops and restaurants near by.
The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because our room was sooo cold at night but it was clean and had cable TV and the Foxlife channel which had English programmes.

Room Tip: Choose a room with less windows it will be less cold and also the wifi only works probably to to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarfairy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

my boyfriend and I needed a place to stay for the night before crossing the border to Ecuador. We didn't book in advance as we were told we could just turn up and they would have a room. That was correct. We turned up and asked for a room. The lady said yes and asked if we wanted to look at the rooms first. We weren't bothered though so just took a key and went up. The room cost 25000cop which was approx £8.50 for the night! Bargain!!! The bed was fairly comfortable and the shower was hot. we even had cable tv with English channels. We didn't have a toilet seat but the bathroom was clean so I had no complaints. Our room was quite cold however we had plenty of blankets. There is a small restaurant in the hotel which doesn't look like much but the food was delicious. We had the menu of the day which was home made soup, a meal of chicken, rice, chips, salad, beans and plantain and also a drink. This cost us £2 each! We got up early and left for the border so there isn't much else I can say about the place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

At less than five pounds a night per person for a double with private bathroom, this border hotel was an amazingly pleasant surprise. Room spotless, bed very comfortable with plenty of bedding, shower luke warm. Ideally situated opposite bus station and taxi ranks. Arriving from Popayan late afternoon we took taxi to Las Lajas and then into town for dinner. Taxi to border next morning cost 7,000 COP.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IXQUIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I am writing this review from the hotel and I just don't get the nice review.
Clean? i just found some hair in the bedding.
Nice and new? if you like rococo decoration from the 60's
They only give one old towel per room no matter if you are two or not.
The receptionist is as moody as a moody teenager can be.
The rooms are freezing and no chance to get a water bottle.
Have I mentioned that there are children playing in the corridor and music blasting ?
we wish we had gone with the Lonely planet recommendation instead of the tripadvisor one.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SOSOLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ipiales hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We spent an unintended night in Ipiales and had done no research into where to stay. This hotel is located just opposite the bus terminal and is by far the most modern looking building in the vicinity. A double room ensuite with tv was COP25 000 for the night and was clean and surprisingly decent. It makes visiting the Sanctuario de Las Lajas convenient as the collectivos are at the bus terminal (this costs COP2000 per person-note these are normal taxis but are white and will only leave once filled unless you pay the equivalent of 4 persons) and to take a taxi to the border (COP7000). Unfortunately there are no banks or decent unless you take a taxi to the "centro" (COP2000-3000), however there are several small kiosks and internet cafes within the terminal itself.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I normally try not to go to hotels, but as I did not find a hostel in Ipiales and Hotel Metropol was just outside the bus station, we decided to stay there. For the price (25.000 for a double), it was really nice. Really clean and new, with good sized private bathroom and TV. The beds were confortable. There are not a lot of restaurants in the area so if you do want to have something to eat you will have to do so in the bus station or go to the city center.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanFFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipiales hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Torre De Cristal
Hotel Torre De Cristal
#2 of 2 in Ipiales
4 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Vegas
Hotel Las Vegas
#12 of 15 in Ipiales
2 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Suiza Aparta Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.5 mi away
Hotel Mayasquer
Hotel Mayasquer
#2 of 5 in Ipiales
13 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Avanty
Hotel Avanty
#2 of 15 in Ipiales
24 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Dorado
Hotel El Dorado
#10 of 15 in Ipiales
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol

Property: Hotel Metropol
Address: Carrera 2 # 6-10, Ipiales, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Narino Department > Ipiales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ipiales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing