We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gastro experience on a charming village square, and at village prices”
Review of La Place - CLOSED

La Place
Price range: $42 - $55
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Geneva
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gastro experience on a charming village square, and at village prices”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Don't miss this bistro! It belongs to the nearby starred restaurants, L'Oustau de Baumanière and La Cabro d'Or, and the cuisine is inspired and managed by the same brigade! I go there often and it's a great culinary experience every time. The prices are just incredibly low for what you get here, both regarding what's in the plate - only the very best products, manipulated as little as possible, and yet sophisticated - and the general ambiance, elegance of the little place, friendliness and professionalism. Great wines.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GenevaDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    82
    42
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manzanillo, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best risotto with scallops, ever!”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

The four of us had a fabulous and delicious dinner there while staying close by. Two of us had the risotto with scallops, one had a beef dish and one a fish dish all cooked to perfection and presented beautifully. They also served us a delicious "amuse bouche" of brocoli soup like nothing we had ever tasted before. What they did with brocoli was pure magic on the palette. We also had amazing desserts. Would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brigittecowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Highly recommend-food is excellent”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

A little hesitant given some poor reviews about service however could not have been more pleasantly welcomed and made feel special by all the staff and owners. However it is the food that steals the show, truely amazing, creative and exceptional value for the price. Kind of tempted not to review as I dont want this gem to be overrun but I think that horse may have already bolted!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melb0urnegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
all over
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good food, fish was excellent”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This restaurant is charming and very good. The fish dish was excellent and I would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eat_drink_and_sleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“clearly Terrible visited a different place!”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

we hadn't been back to Maussane (La Place) for a couple of years, but it was so good then that we decided to re-visit, and having done so, went back yet again a few days later.

in particular, we like the fact that the menu changes every week (i think) and it is very short - just 3/4 choices each of entree, plat and dessert - though there were also a couple of specials for the day.

typically for france, choices for vegetarians are sparce to almost non-existent.
on this last occasion, i had forgotten to mention when booking that my daughter is one of the pariahs - no problem; sorted charmingly(!!) in a trice.

certainly by london standards, and even locally, we all concurred that La Place offered imaginative and well-executed cuisine at very good value for the quality - about € 45.00 a head including some excellent local rose (Selective; the most expensive at € 28.00) and a reasonable extra gratuity.

=============

i wonder if the last reviewer has fogotten that the french (and italians) judge restaurants not by the speed in which one can get in and out again, (an appalling aspect that can be encountered across the pond) but more by quality of cuisine and ambience, a leisurely pace being very much part and parcel of the pleasure.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank veloiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Place also viewed

Maussane-les-Alpilles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Maussane-les-Alpilles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Maussane-les-Alpilles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Maussane-les-Alpilles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing