We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cottage right near the fjord”
Review of Vangsgaarden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vangsgaarden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Spacious cottage. High ceiling in the living room/kitchen and a lot of natural light. Excellent view of the fjord. The cottage is right on the dock and ferry ships come and go.
2 sleeping rooms, one with double bed and one room, under the roof, with 2 separate beds, ideal for children. Kitchen well equiped and large enough.
The cottage is excellent for a few days stay. Aurlandsvangen is quite and calm but is a good base to visit Stegastein and Fläm.

Unfortunately during our 3 days stay there was a local festival with music and street noice until late after midnight which made it difficult to sleep. We left after the 2nd night and did not have to pay the third night. On the other hand, management should inform customers upfront of such events when the booking is made so that at least they have a choice. If my night rest would not have been disturbed by loud country music until after midnight i would have rated this place as 'very good'.

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage nr. 4. Cottages 5 and 6 have a slightly better view as the dock in front of the...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koen75koen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Vangsgaarden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 200 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

Aurland is a very beautiful and relaxing town. Perfect for walking around enjoying the view of the fjords and hills. Vangsgaarden is right in front of where the ferry drops people off which was extremely convenient. They also have a delicious restaurant with great pizza where you can sit on the deck overlooking the spectacular view of the water. Th rooms were lovely as well. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

A spectacular place to stay! First, the town of Aurland is a gem! Compared to Flam, less touristy, quieter, better views. Second, Vangsgaarten is a great choice. It has several types of rooms, including cabins on the fjord, a restaurant-bar, a convenient location close to grocery store--and it is still quiet. We stayed in one of the cabins, cooked our meals there, and soaked up the spectacular views and quiet. We opted for breakfast--ample and worth it.

We spent 16 days in Scandinavia, 7 in Norway, 2 here--and they were among the best days on our trip. Aurland plus the Vangsgaarten is great place to break up a Norway-in-a-Nutshell trip, soak up small-town Norway, enjoy hikes and photography--or just relax surrounded by quiet spectacular views.

Room Tip: All cabins great. Clean, spacious, modern, kitchens well-furnished. Cabins #4-6 are a bit more dir...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed in the guest house and enjoyed it very much. The house is typical Norwegian and so is the breakfast. This is not a fancy hotel, but it has a lot of charm! From the room there is nice views over the fjord.

I would stay here again!

Room Tip: I do not know how the cabins are, however guesthouse was superb!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henriette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

If you're willing to spend a little more, book the cottage! The view is totally worthwhile.
Wake up early to admire the sunrise and the perfectly still waters of the fjord before the boats and ships start moving.

There is a restaurant at Aurland which would be enough for dinner, however make sure you bring some food along just in case it's closed.
You can take a little hike around Aurland if you're not tired.

The rooms and amenities are average, so don't expect much. The cottage is all about the view.

Room Tip: Get the fisherman's cottage with fjord view if you can afford to splurge a little.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas_TY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

if you are looking for a place with breathtaking views, local charm and peace then this is the place to be! we loved every minute of our stay. the tv was in english, showers very hot and rooms very well heated. Would recommend to visit the viewpoint for THE VIEWS.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Ruuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

When you see a photo of the fijiords in Norway with quaint red houses on the shore, think of this hotel! It was beautiful in its simplicity with views in every direction. The staff was helpful and the breakfast delicious. The owners have literally opened their home to their guests - surrounded by antiques and memorabilia. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aurland Municipality
0.1 mi away
Aurland Fjordhotel
Aurland Fjordhotel
#7 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
158 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fretheim Hotel
Fretheim Hotel
#2 of 4 in Flam
839 reviews
3.8 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
244 reviews
3.9 mi away
Heimly Pensjonat
Heimly Pensjonat
#4 of 4 in Flam
235 reviews
11.4 mi away
Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vangsgaarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vangsgaarden

Address: Nedstagata 1, 5745, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Aurland Municipality
Price Range: $138 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vangsgaarden Gjestgiveri is situated in Aurland, a small town idyllically placed in the innermost corner of the Sognefjord. Here at Vangsgaarden, the Ohnstad-Stigen family has welcomed guests for several generations and the hotel has preserved traditions that go all the way back to the 18th century. At our restaurant, Duehuset, you can taste some of the local food our town is known for. Vangsgaarden offers rooms, a restaurant and a variety of activities. Our hotel is located right in the middle of some of Norway's most powerful nature experiences like the Flam Railway, the Naeroyfjord and the Aurlandsdalen Valley. ROOMS In our hotel wing we have 18 rooms with beautiful views. In our garden by the fjord we have 6 cabins that are suitable for 4-5 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Vangsgaarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vangsgaarden Hotel Aurland Municipality
Vangsgaarden Western Fjords
Vangsgaarden Norway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing