We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good option on Sognefjord”
Review of Vangsgaarden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vangsgaarden
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good option on Sognefjord”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed in this cute little hotel in Aurland, which is far less touristy than Flam. The town is small, so it was easy to tell we were the only tourists around. Rooms were clean, well furnished, and had decent bathrooms. Front desk staff was helpful when called upon. Absolutely no complaints about our stay at Vangsgaarden.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OleMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    80
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
44
89
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed here for one night on a driving tour of Norway. We had a waterfront cabin but booked breakfast as well which was served in a little house next to the main building. The breakfast was laid out in one room which was a self serve buffet with the dining room just opposite. There was plenty of choice with a few local delicacies to sample as well and it was all very tasty. The whole place is very well laid out with the b&b in the middle, waterfront cabins in front and the pub at the back. We had a meal in the pub at night and the food and service were first class. All in all an enjoyable evening.

Room Tip: The waterfront cabins ( with breakfast if you want) are worth it for the view and are spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scarlet-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed here overnight on a driving tour through Norway. We had a waterfront cabin with double bedroom, two single beds upstairs, bathroom, kitchen and seating area. The cabin was lovely, very clean and warm with everything you'd need in it except bedding and towels which is standard in Norway when you hire a cabin. The view was amazing across the fjord and in the morning a huge cruise ship sailed along right in front of us going to Flam which is about 6 miles along the road. We later discovered that's where it was going when we arrived hoping to take the train but it was booked solid due to the cruise ship docking so don't believe the website when it says it's not necessary to book the train. The meal at night in the pub was lovely and the little town is very pretty and well worth a walk round. In our 2 week tour of Norway this was the busiest place we visited so I can only imagine what it's like in mid summer.

Room Tip: The waterfront cabins have an amazing view but would be better with a balcony onto the fjord
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scarlet-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

our room in the main building was very small but quite clean, and overlooked the water--a beautiful view! The small cafe adjoining the hotel was a lovely spot to relax outside for dinner (the food was excellent), and the breakfast was fine. In the evening after the tourist influx has settled out, it's a very pretty spot--the fjord views are spectacular. It would be nice if the front desk was staffed all the time--we had gotten lost trying to find the hotel and tried to call for quite a while, but no one was at the desk to answer. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a fjord view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ModdeyCloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We had a confirmed booking for a cabin and were really excited staying at Vangsgaarden. Upon arrival we were told that they were overbooked and we couldn't stay with them. We had bought all our food in a grocery store beforehand since we wanted to use the kitchenette in the cabin. Well, we had to throw most of it away and stay at the local hotel in the last roon available without a view.

Never again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Houldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We rented a cabin that had view of mountains and waterfalls, and the view was truly breathtaking. The cabin had kitchen and a bedroom. It was simple but nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was pretty good. I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crashik7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Aurland is a nice little town, and here you can avoid the dozens of tour busses, the cruise ships, and the thousands of tourists in Flam. There are two gorcery stores a block away from the hotel. The hotel itself overlooks a fjord. The room was very small, hardly room to walk around the bed, but had a view of the fjord. There is a cafe nearby serving lunch that was good and reasonably priced.
The drive up to the Stegastein Viewpoint is harrowing, but you should do it.
The heavily-advertised Flam Railway was somewhat of a disappointment; there are similar views of valleys and waterfalls all over Norway.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XenophonAnabasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aurland Municipality
11.8 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
3.8 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
0.1 mi away
Aurland Fjordhotel
Aurland Fjordhotel
#6 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Fretheim Hotel
Fretheim Hotel
#2 of 4 in Flam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
11.5 mi away
Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell
3.9 mi away
Heimly Pensjonat
Heimly Pensjonat
#4 of 4 in Flam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vangsgaarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vangsgaarden

Property: Vangsgaarden
Address: Nedstagata 1, 5745, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Aurland Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vangsgaarden Gjestgiveri is situated in Aurland, a small town idyllically placed in the innermost corner of the Sognefjord. Here at Vangsgaarden, the Ohnstad-Stigen family has welcomed guests for several generations and the hotel has preserved traditions that go all the way back to the 18th century. At our restaurant, Duehuset, you can taste some of the local food our town is known for. Vangsgaarden offers rooms, a restaurant and a variety of activities. Our hotel is located right in the middle of some of Norway's most powerful nature experiences like the Flam Railway, the Naeroyfjord and the Aurlandsdalen Valley. ROOMS In our hotel wing we have 18 rooms with beautiful views. In our garden by the fjord we have 6 cabins that are suitable for 4-5 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Vangsgaarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vangsgaarden Hotel Aurland Municipality
Vangsgaarden Western Fjords
Vangsgaarden Norway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing