We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful French Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Clos - Relais et Chateaux
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful French Hospitality”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Le Clos is not just an hotel, it is an experience. From the moment we arrived we had the feeling that we were being welcomed into the Brial's home. We were given a tour of the available rooms so that we could choose and throughout the week every effort was made to meet our needs and comfort. Dinner and breakfast are both a treat, the food is excellent - accompanied by friendly and efficient service in an elegant, typically French dining room looking out onto the extensive parkland. The warm hospitality is also extended to 'nice' dogs - our Sadie met the Brial's Tina on a walk through the park. There are plans for an extension to include a large conservatory with soft sofas and casual dining. This will surely lift the rating to 'excellent'!

Room Tip: We had a corner suite, south and west facing. This was a wonderful, warm and bright room, even in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDCOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    75
    16
    7
    9
See reviews for
81
299
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cowden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was refered to Le Clos by R&C 5C as I was seeking a venue to host a birthday party for my wife. We stayed the first night on our own and then took all 11 rooms for one night and had the most marvellous event. the owners (Odile and Eric) could not have put more effort in, everything was perfect. Eric has a wicked sense of humour that meant we not only enjoyed fabulous food, amazing wines but also he kept us ammused with his dry wit.

If you like the finer things I life which is reflected by all the R&C represents you could not find a better venue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanMeekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lohja
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our firt business visit to Le Clos. We travel a lott around the world and se many high rated hotels and also eat in star rated restaurants. But this visit to Le Clos was a pleasant surprise.
The dinner was with no doubt a star class achievement. The wine list was exceptinally well selected. The service, in spite our late arrivel, was friendly and flexible. All roms were nice, well funished and clean. Every detal what you would need in the bathroom was at hand ( not so common anymore even in the high class hotels). Breakfast was delicious with fresh bread and the best yogurt I ever have had.
We will come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2013

A second visit to the region, and this hotel, which helps make the visit a real pleasure - it is excellent in every way - a lovely building, intelligently organised and well appointed rooms, very friendly proprietors and staff, first class service and in a delightful village and region.

Of course we didn't try the Spa or pool but that must be good too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 256Derek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
662 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here on business.

The good points

Service was exceptional the owners could not do more
The rooms are very classy I happened to have one of the best rooms.
The rooms are all big
Though we did not eat there the menu in the place looked wonderful
The hotel is beautiful

Not so good

Internet did not work
The price of over 20 euros for breakfast was a little steep

Room Tip: Ask for the best room , the owners are nice and friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barcaranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Went with a friend to this lovely hotel after just arriving in France to unwind before heading back into Paris. Was looking through Relais & Chateaux for a place within an hour or so of Paris that was reachable by train. Spent two nights at this beautiful and comfortable hotel. Odile and Eric were gracious hosts who did everything possible to make us feel at home and spoiled. Our room was lovely and comfortable. The restaurant was amazing. The service was attentive and friendly, the food was over the top in taste and presentation, and we sat in a beautiful setting with a blazing fire going. We loved the town of Verneuil which had a some lovely shops and great walking tours both within the town and around it where a series of moats surrounds the village. You won't be disappointed if you're lucky enough to spend time at this special place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We ended our month long 50th wedding anniversary trip to France with a two night stay at Le Clos. We found this jewel of Normandy through Relais and Chateaux. What a beautiful place!
Our room was lovely, overlooking a lovely park like setting, spacious and very comfortable. The restaurant should be rated a 5 star establishment! However, our hosts, Eric and Odile Brial, made Le Clos extra special. Their warmth, hospitality, and desire to make certain we felt at home went beyond any kind of hospitality we have ever received in a hotel setting. We were on a quest to visit our ancestral towns and they provided directions and even umbrellas on a rainy day. They greeted us each morning with a smile, even took our luggage to our car when it was time to leave and in true European fashion, even stood in the rain as we waved goodbye. Hospitality at it's best!

Room Tip: Loved our tower room with steam shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verneuil-sur-Avre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Saumon
Hotel du Saumon
#4 of 4 in Verneuil-sur-Avre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant du Tribunal
Hotel-Restaurant du Tribunal
#1 of 4 in Mortagne-au-Perche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hotel du Dauphin
Hotel du Dauphin
#1 of 1 in L'Aigle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Hotel de la foret
Hotel de la foret
#1 of 2 in Senonches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
13.1 mi away
Auberge La Pomme de Pin
Auberge La Pomme de Pin
#2 of 2 in Senonches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
22.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Palais Des Congres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos - Relais et Chateaux

Property: Le Clos - Relais et Chateaux
Address: 98 rue de la Ferte Vidame, 27130, Verneuil-sur-Avre, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Verneuil-sur-Avre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Verneuil-sur-Avre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Clos - Relais et Chateaux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Clos, the story start in 1770 when the nuns of the Abbey of Saint-Nicolas bought the land under the old regime called "The garden of the Beguine". Bordered by the remains of city walls and a tower called the white tower, the plots became peasant gardens. A century later, in 1886 - under the protection of a gentleman benefactor of the Abbey of Saint-Nicolas - a Castle was born. The Benedictine nuns began hosting families opened a school for girls of the abbey. The round tower and the square pavilion, pepper-pot roofs and four slopes, false battlements and tall chimneys, windows and doors decorated with braces, are a harmonious example of architectural style of Viollet-Le-Duc. The mansion was an inspiration for the architect to draw on the exceptional tower houses that have adorned the town of Verneuil since the fifteenth century. In gothic style, the walls come alive with color. The "checkerboard", so characteristic of the region, combines the dark brick called "flamed" orange brick and whitewashed plaster, while flints and brick diamonds offer subtle variations in the tone. The sisters welcome families into the 1960s. In 1961, it was renamed the Hostellerie du Clos. In 2007 it became Le Clos. The castle original will require ongoing renovations, modernization and decoration but will preserve its original spirit. In the spring of 2015 will rise to a former conservatory Gustave Eiffel style of 100 sqm, facing south with a view overlooking the park. It will host the breakfasts, a restaurant that showcases the "Bistronomie" tea room, reading and rest ... A relaxation area with a swimming pool cover, bio sauna, bio steam room, fitness , energy showers ... Finally a south-facing terrace on the ground floor equipped with sun and a beautiful place "nose in the grass" to eat more lightly. Today, the castle of fifteen rooms and suites located in a park of ancient trees has beautiful botanicals, beautiful and loyal birds, four hives with bees pollinate flowers and tree gardens. He is a member of Relais & Châteaux since 1975 and this year celebrates its fortieth anniversary of belonging to this great association ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Clos - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos - Relais Et Chateaux France/Verneuil-Sur-Avre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing