We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Borgo di Stigliano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Relais Borgo di Stigliano
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sovicille
Mississauga
1 review
“Great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

We stayed here here for 5 nights this September, and just loved it. It was very peaceful and quiet, yet close enough to see Siena, Florence, San Gimignano and more on day trips. My 7 yo son thought the pool was fun, but it was too cold for us. The restaurant in town was very nice, as were the other ones in towns anywhere from 5 - 15 minutes away.

They also had the cutest resident kitten; if anyone goes there, Alice needed to be adopted!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelgalMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    30
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
40
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tyne and wear united kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

This has some excellent reviews , which encouraged us to choose it. Although it is a hotel, the rooms are laid out so that you can sit outside in the nice outdoor are where there is a swimming pool. Our fridge was broken but they got it replaced ( after a day ). The staff, all female, are excellent, they will do anything to help. The location, in a quiet village in a quiet part of Tuscany is wonderful. Shower and bathroom lovely. Bed, large and very comfy. Air con good and easily adjusted. Breakfast is on the tarrace as the sun rises over the village nearby, it's really nice. Choice of food and drinks excellent, they had Earl Grey tea and that made my day! Nearby is a village restuarant, expensive for what it is but in Sovicille a few minutes drive away you will find an excellent pizzeria/restaurant. From here it is very easy to reach all major areas of interest such as Siena, Volterra, Montepulciano. It looks ideal for children as well ,as there is room for them to run and play ( supervised of course ). The staff loved the children staying there, as all Italians do !

  • Liked — Location and design of the buildings
  • Disliked — Poor access road and car park, shingle and loose stones.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thequiettraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

Whilst travelling around Tuscany and Umbria we had one night's accommodation. This B&B provides excellent value for money. The rooms are large but sparse, the lounges, terraces and pool area are excellent. Breakfast was enjoyed on the terrace outside. There is an excellent restaurant in the small village (200 yards) which the staff kindly booked us a table for. It is also local to Siena and San Guiminano. We would definitely return and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkstravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

Wonderful small friendly hotel about 20 minutes south of Sienna. Ancient building, totally renovated. Beautiful pool area.
Tiny village with one restaurant but many lovely places to eat in the surrounding towns recommended by friendly staff.
Breakfast patio view of castle buildings.
We stayed in a large room on the second floor.
Web site not great but well worth pursuing.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank hscalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2006

This remote location adds to the charm of this property. Complemented by an exceptional staff, our week stay was a pleasure. I travel to Tuscan often, and plan to stay on any opportunity. Some fun dining experiences in Stigliano, or short drive to Siena.
Perfect get away!

  • Liked — Remote and Historic
  • Disliked — Late May and they had not turned on the A/C
  • Tips/Secrets — Rural and Remote, make sure you have accurate driving instructions
  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank posterguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2006

By chance we stumbled on the name of this hotel when we were looking for a place to stay for the weekend near Siena. The price was right (under 100 euros/night) and breakfast was included. The hotel is a refurbished Tuscan farmhouse that has been renovated tastefully in accordance with the regional architecture. The rooms were very large and immaculate. The view of the small adjacent village of di Stigliano was very beautiful and the swimming pool provided a refreshing break at the end of the day. Breakfast choices were varied and the food fresh,abundant
and tasty. The service was excellent at the front desk. They have lists of local vineyards, restaurants and sites that proved extremely useful since we only had 2 days to enjoy the region.

This was one of, if not, my favourite hotel in Italy. For value for your money it would be hard to beat.

  • Liked — Architecure
  • Disliked — Need a car to get around
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nursing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2006

This property was wonderful. It is situated in the small town of Stigliano giving it the rural and rustic feeling of a true Tuscan village. It is also convenient to the major highway and a short distance to Siena. Therefore, it is a good base for exploring Tuscany and its many hill towns. The pictures on the internet do not do the property justice. When we arrived there our reaction was "Wow, this looks a whole lot better than the pictures." We reserved a superior room and it definetly was superior. The bedroom room was huge (20 X 20 ft.) with beamed cathedral ceilings and a bed between a queen and king size, the room also had a small entry foyer and a large bathroom. It was very clean and comfortable and had a great view of an old Tuscan tower and buildings across a field. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Moira was especially delightful with her high energy , bubbly personality, and excellent command of the English language. Breakfast(included) was granola, cereal, fresh pastries and rolls (you could smell them baking in the morning) poached eggs, fresh italian bread, cheese, italian sausage, yogurt, fruit and juice. All were fresh and well stocked through out the entire breakfast period. The only thing not superior was the driveway to the hotel. It was gravel and had some serious pot holes which required a very slow speed. The small restaurant in town was very good but did not take credit cards so you have to make sure you have enough Euros to pay the bill.

  • Liked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you have a room that is on the second level and book a superior room.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank anesthetist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sovicille
2.0 mi away
POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo
POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo
#1 of 7 in Sovicille
5.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 39 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,785 reviews
10.6 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
5.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 39 in Siena
5.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
9.9 mi away
Montaperti Hotel
Montaperti Hotel
#1 of 1 in Casanova Pansarine
4.0 of 5 stars 1,242 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Di Campagna in Toscana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Borgo di Stigliano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Borgo di Stigliano

Property: Relais Borgo di Stigliano
Address: Localito Stigliano Poggiarello, 53010, Sovicille, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sovicille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sovicille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Borgo di Stigliano 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Relais Borgo di Stigliano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Borgo Di Stigliano Hotel Sovicille
Relais Borgo Di Stigliano Sovicille
Relais Borgo Di Stigliano Italy/Sovicille, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing