We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Countryside and Siena”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Borgo Pretale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Borgo Pretale
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Sovicille
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Countryside and Siena”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

As a family of six we enjoyed the best of everything - some played tennis, some had a swim and some went sightseeing. Beautiful cottages, good restaurant and friendly staff. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rossbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    41
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
73
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

What a beautiful place! The food was rather expensive but well worth it. We did a tuscan roadtrip and stopped off here for 2 nights enabling us to do day trips to Sienna and surrounding countryside. We were lucky enough to stay in the tower with a four poster bed. The room was very hot at night but had a great large bathroom, fridge, very comfy bed and very clean. We enjoyed the pool in the late afternoons following our day trips and although the pool was extremely clean, it was freezing, it was late September however. But we had the pool area to ourselves and we were amazed with the setting and talked endlessly about our dreams of owning such a place. The service was great and we felt completely at ease in the surroundings, which had American, Brazillian, Swedish and Australian tourists. I would highly recommend spending a couple of days here away from the hustle and bustle of Florence, Pisa, Sienna etc. It was just what we needed and I would highly recommend! Well done Borgo Pretale!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotnsunny724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Borgo Pretale is not a hotel that would be considered conventional. In fact the staff and manager are quite eccentric, but in a good way. They are laid back but always helpful. The location of this hotel is quite stunning, and comprises an exquisite, ancient medieval classic Tuscan stone building housing reception, restaurant and bar, with sensitively designed stone cottages and lodges for the guests which are scattered around the substantial grounds.

There is a superb swimming pool (unheated but very clean) in a beautiful glade close by, a terraced restaurant, or the option of eating inside. The textures and fittings throughout are tasteful and under-stated but beautiful. This hotel oozes individuality. Breakfast is superb.

The restaurant can be a little pricey but on the night we subscribed to a wine tasting evening, both the wines and food were superb.

There are a couple of flaws: Firstly the little mini-bar/fridges in the rooms are simply not up to the job. Ours broke down but was replaced a day later. In a hot climate one needs ice cool drinks, not luke warm. Secondly, the rooms are quite small but adequate. The bathrooms are good.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, but leave you alone if that's what you wish. There is good internet access which is free.

In conclusion, this hotel is really not for those seeking thrills or "facilities". It is just a wonderful location and laid back hub from which you can explore the beauty of Tuscany.

One comment not related to the hotel but relevant to those hiring cars: I have never seen such bad driving by theTuscan locals anywhere else in Europe. Their driving is dangerous, bullying, selfish and inconsiderate. Almost everyone tail-gates you, sometimes a foot behind at any speed. They barge their way past in a dangerous manner, and cut corners so you are regularly facing a car coming towards you on the wrong side of the road. Tuscany strictly enforces speed restrictions but traffic police seem not to care about the appalling standard of driving.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerner77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Borgo Pretale was magic. When we arrived, I was literally moved to tears by how beautiful it was. The grounds were immaculately kept, and the staff was so kind and did everything they could to make our stay memorable. It was our honeymoon and this was the ideal romantic setting for us to celebrate our marriage. Luna dei Meille! Next time we will definitely rent a car to visit surrounding villages but it's also the perfect place to retreat for a week, eat beautiful food and drink delicious espresso in the garden over looking the tuscan hills. A wine tour was happily arranged for us so a car wasn't really needed this time around. Thank you dear friends at Borgo Pretale, we'll be back! Toronto, Canada isn't so far away!

Room Tip: We stayed in a two story stone cottage with our own private garden, it was incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonWestlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allibongo10
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We used to stay here once a month when he had meeting in our Siena office. A lovely rustic, typically Italian hotel with lovely surroundings. Maybe a bit remote for some who may be visiting to tour Siena but a fab hotel. The service is good and the food was also lovely.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allibongo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

We spent two nights at Borgo Pretale in September, and it was lovely. The grounds are beautiful. Simply sitting in a chair looking out over the fields and hills was an event in itself. The first night we ate dinner on the grounds and found it to be delicious and not too over-priced (apps, entrees, bottle of wine and dessert for under $100). There were adorable little cats darting in and out whle we ate - but not begging. Just being cute. The second night we spoke with the woman at the front desk who recommended two area restaurants for us to try. We were very, very happy with that dinner, too. And the setting - an old fort/castle - was magnificent at sunset.

Both nights we slept peacefully with the window open. For breakfast (not included) we drove to the next town for a loaf of bread, a little block of cheese, hot coffee, and grapes, and we dined by the pool. Other than two pesky bees, it was a peaceful and happy way to spend our last few hours on vacation.

My only complaint is that the maid service didn't adhere to our "do not disturb" sign on the door. Nothing was missing, but I like my privacy. I would have been more diligent about putting away personal belongings.

Also, we were just a short drive from the gorgeous walled city of Siena. And the Borgo Pretale grounds have fig trees filled with yummy fruit!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmconlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorgoPretale, Direttore generale at Borgo Pretale, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive review. We appreciate all your suggestions to improve always our service. While we would like to thank you for the compliment of our Restaurant, we do not understand why you are saying that breakfast is not included. At Borgo Pretale there is a Buffet/breakfast which is always included. Hoping to receiving you again at Borgo Pretale, kind regards.
Antonella Haberling Licata, G. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We were in Borgo Pretale for a weekend and we were not treated like welcome guests. No flexible reactions to any of our wishes and in the end, we even had to double check the bill as they had charged us things twice. The grounds are really beautiful but this hotel is not up to date in any cases. Rooms, pool, furniture, air con everything looks like it has been used for at least a dozen years. The restaurant serves nice food, but thats about it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peady z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorgoPretale, Direttore generale at Borgo Pretale, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

thanks for your review which is very WELCOME for us like all our guests!!
Just a few words to comment your disappointment…
If you mean “not flexible reaction” when we pretended to register all your friends lodging in, YES, we have to do so for security reasons. As you surely know there is an extra charge to pay for any extra bed.

Antonella Haberling Licata
G.Manager
Hotel Borgo Pretale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sovicille
2.9 mi away
Relais Borgo di Stigliano
Relais Borgo di Stigliano
#2 of 7 in Sovicille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
8.3 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
4.2 mi away
POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo
POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo
#1 of 7 in Sovicille
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
9.3 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
4.7 mi away
Relais La Suvera
Relais La Suvera
#1 of 1 in Pievescola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Pretale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Pretale

Property: Borgo Pretale
Address: Localita Borgo Pretale SNC, 53018, Sovicille, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sovicille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Sovicille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo Pretale 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo Pretale is a heavenly retreat in the lush green hills of Siena.34 rooms located both in the XIIc. Tower and in the lovely cottages spread in the 2h garden.Restaurant with tuscan specialities and terrace with breathtaking view over the valley. Sporting activities: Tennis court, gym with sauna, archery, trekking, mountain biking and swimming poolConference room -ideal location for team building and outdoor training.Wedding and banqueting facilities.Open seasonly from April to October ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Borgo Pretale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Pretale Sovicille
Borgo Pretale Hotel Sovicille
Borgo Pretale Italy/Sovicille, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing