We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A shame to see a great place suffering from no investment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borgo Pretale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borgo Pretale
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sovicille
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A shame to see a great place suffering from no investment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We had our honeymoon here in 1997 just after the hotel was opened and it was bliss, now however after 14 years of no money being spent on it the experience wasn't comparable. As others say the grounds are rustic at best, the pool is big but showing it's age and the poolside lunches basic when they used to be wonderful. The restaurant is average and the service poor to ok depending on the night. It was nice to see the location is still lovely but sadly the hotel has gone down hill. Rooms are also rustic at best. Probably better to spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oliver63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorgoPretale, Direttore generale at Borgo Pretale, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thanks for coming back to Borgo Pretale after so many years. We regret to read your comment especially because we have always worked hard to improve our service and faclities. This is confirmed by the fact that our most faithful guests are still coming back every year.
We understand that people now have high expectations in a 4 star Hotel but we feel that Borgo Pretale is over this idea. If you fall in love with this tiny little tuscan hamlet is not just for the romantic furniture or the poolside but for the overall experience that you might have here. The welcoming staff, the careful service, the unspoilt woods and the Tuscan specialities of our Chef de cuisine served on the panoramic terrace: all your senses and feelings. Borgo Pretale is a unique experience and you will feel "at home" as anywhere else. Antonella Häberling Licata, G. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    41
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
73
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

They do not care about guest. They know you will leave so we have many problems with the service including that someone that works at the hotel stole our mobile in the hotel. They did not do nothing. Be careció if you go there too bad experience we had with them.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Don't pay any attention to reviews of this hotel on other sites, Borgo Pretale is a lovely hotel, very isolated maybe, but that's a plus point. The General Manager,Antonella and her staff, in particular Jessica, made my wife and I feel very welcome. We had a Junior suite which was more than adequate. We stayed for 4 nights and ate there every night sat outside on the lovely terrace. The food was very nice and the outdoor pool was very clean and welcoming. I would certainly go back and would not have a problem recommending it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sezlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorgoPretale, Direttore generale at Borgo Pretale, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and the great comments of our Borgo. We do hope very much that you will visit us again in the near future Kind regards.

Antonella Häberling Licata, G. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

We were in Italy for 27 Days in May. Borgo Pretale was our favorite hotel. The staff was wonderful and the place was lovely. It was very secluded which means quite and relaxing. We took many pictures of this place itself since it was like a famous site in itself. We visited many places in the day. But in the evening we had diners at Borgo Pretale every night. We did not see the need to go outside. Everything was delicious. The Tuscan Wine, and the restaurant atmosphere were great. I recommend it to 7 of my relatives who went there the following month. They loved it too. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crisama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is a review of the restaurant only.
We were staying at the nearby Borgo Il Poggiacio and after having dinner there the other 3 evenings (which was exceptionally good, food quality, wines and service!) we thought it might have been nice to change. What a dissapointment!

the restaurant is old fashioned, waiters are unfriendly, the maitre is a real pain bossing around the others and feeling very important. Non-resident guests are really not given any attention. We had to ask to bring our wine, had to ask to bring a plate for our bread (which was rock hard).
They have a good wine list, but - oh surprise - half of the wines (the affordable ones) were not available. Since we didn't want to pay over 35 euro for a bottle, we decided to have their house wine, but it was really bad.

The food was not bad but overpriced.

We didn't bother to order dessert or coffee (had it in Il Poggiacio instead), what a dissapointment!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sayvmath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorgoPretale, Direttore generale at Borgo Pretale, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

thanks for your review which is very important for us. We are very sorry that you didn’t enjoy our restaurant and particularly our service and the wines. You are right when you say that the wine list had less choice as ever. In fact, in those days, we were waiting for a huge order from our wine distributors and due to delivery problems a few labels were missing.
In spite of this, most of our guests definitively appreciate our new wine list which has a great selection of tuscan and Italian wines and in particular the small, local producers which still offer a high quality product.
Hoping to having you as our “Guest” here at Borgo Pretale in a near future, we remain

Best regards
Antonella Haberling Licata
G. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at Borgo Pretale for 5 nights. We were looking for a nice, quiet "villa" outside of Siena overlooking the Tuscan hills. We basically got that at Borgo Pretale. The hotel itself is exactly what we were expecting. The rooms were a little more rustic but still nice. We had a view of the rolling hills. The restaurant was very good. They have breakfast included every morning. DInner was very good and there was always something new to try each day. The only negative thing I could say is it was farther outside of SIena than I expected and it was difficult to get into town. So, a lot of guests ate every meal there or rented a car. I think getting lunch at Borgo Pretale is a little overpriced, although the day we did it they had a nice spread. Overall I liked this hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleTraveler1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorgoPretale, Direttore at Borgo Pretale, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Dear Guest,
thanks for your review and the great memories of your stay at Borgo Pretale. We have recently changed our Chef de Cuisine and we are very happy to know that our guests loved the Traditional Tuscan Specialities and that's true...now more guests are choosing to have dinner here instead of going to Siena!!
Hoping to welcoming you again in the future here at Borgo Pretale

Best regards

Antonella Haberling Licata
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed two nights, actually ended up extending our stay from planned one-night visit. Wine tasting dinner was well organized with great local wines. The room in the tower was intimate and cozy. Decoration little outdated, but everything was clean. Surroundings make the place, peaceful, great views and lots of natural pathways around. Loved the pool out in the woods, proper tennis court. Would love to come back with our kids, perhaps not ideal for children under 3, but a lot to discover and play around for +4 year olds. Wireless internet not available.

Room Tip: Ask for aircon room, we did not have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maitopossu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sovicille
2.5 mi away
Relais Borgo di Stigliano
Relais Borgo di Stigliano
#2 of 7 in Sovicille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
8.3 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
8.0 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo
POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo
#1 of 7 in Sovicille
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Castello
Hotel Castello
#4 of 7 in Sovicille
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
7.2 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Pretale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Pretale

Property: Borgo Pretale
Address: Localita Borgo Pretale SNC, 53018, Sovicille, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sovicille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sovicille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo Pretale 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo Pretale is a heavenly retreat in the lush green hills of Siena.34 rooms located both in the XIIc. Tower and in the lovely cottages spread in the 2h garden.Restaurant with tuscan specialities and terrace with breathtaking view over the valley. Sporting activities: Tennis court, gym with sauna, archery, trekking, mountain biking and swimming poolConference room -ideal location for team building and outdoor training.Wedding and banqueting facilities.Open seasonly from April to October ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borgo Pretale Sovicille
Borgo Pretale Hotel Sovicille
Borgo Pretale Italy/Sovicille, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing