We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Spirit House

Spirit House
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Yandina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $79
Cuisines: Thai, Australian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Bowen
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch at Spirit House, Yandina. Set in a rainforest setting with tables peppered around a lake, the setting was tranquil, relaxing and we really felt like we were on holiday! The service was incredible, food to die for, and my young children loved their kids meals and the excitement of water dragons running around.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    925
    216
    89
    60
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really Special Experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Spirit House is an experience. Thai style, set around a small lake filled with water dragons. Lunch time can be interesting when the dragons are active and running between tables; evening time they are asleep! The ambience is superb: the food even better. It is a dining experience not to be missed if you like Thai-style food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roddyneame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A total dining experience”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Thai style open pavillions around an ornamental lake in a beautiful asian garden setting are revealed when you step through the gate from the car park and follow the winding path through the grounds. The scent of incense wafts through the air, chimes tinkle in the breeze and little water dragons bask in the sun. A visit to Spirit House is so much more than just eating and drinking. Our waitperson was very knowledgeable and explained the philosophy guiding the style of food served as well as describing the individual dishes and recommending the most appropriate wine to accompany them. She helped us choose dishes that were not to chilli hot and that went well together, the beef on sticky rice for entree, the coconut prawn lon with crispy fish and the spatchcock with peach main courses followed by syrup teacake for dessert. The reisling she recommended complemented these dishes very well. Once we had ordered she bought over a little book for us to look at about the history of Spirit House and a newsletter with more information and recipes that we could keep. The food was excellent and the main courses with a seperate serve of rice were just right for 2 people to share. The beef entree was exquisite and a real highlight but the serving was far too small consisting of 2 pieces each being just a spoonful of sticky rice shaped into a patty and topped with 3 tiny shavings of beef.
We were suprised to find the restaurant so busy on a Monday lunch time and were lucky to get a table as we had not booked. It is expensive but worth the money for what is a very special dining experience. Dinner at night time would be even more magical and we hope very much to be able to experience this on a future visit to Queensland.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dandylionlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Ok you used your little bit of power to remove my unbiased review, let me be a little bit more precise why my experience was not that endearing.Entree, four bait size prawns on skewers,over cooked served in a egg cup with a spoonful of dipping sauce wow wee.16$.Confit of duck 39$, yes folks we got the three legged skinny duck ,covered by penang sauce(main course)Also we got Green curry loin of pork.$40,pork was tender ,green curry no different from out of the jar,with the australian infusion of two strips of granny smith apple peel!!!!!! The desert was a confusion of five overly sweet flavours.Once again nice location ,attentive staff over priced,small portioned meals.use your power to delete this honest unbiased review.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine coast
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“becoming very average”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I can’t remember when was the last time they changed the menu here so I am surprised that rather than perfecting the dishes, i have found that the standard is slowly falling off. Maybe the chef is tired of cooking the same dishes day after day. Regardless they charge top dollar and for a remote restaurant like this they can only survive on their historical good name for so long.
The last two times have been groups of 6 and 8 and the view is shared by most that had been before.
I think I’ll wait for the menu to change before venturing so far again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justcruizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spirit House also viewed

Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
 
Yandina, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Spirit House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing