We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarteneja
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fernando's Seaside Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Sarteneja B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had an amazing time here in Sarteneja and Fernando's. We were the only guests in his Guesthouse and almost in town. But it was worth it. Sunsets are nice, the place is quiet and safe and the people are really, really nice. Fernando's wife even cooked for us - lobster dinner, conch dinner and breakfast. And thi for a really fair price you'd have to find first elsewhere. Really recommendable. We took a jungle tour with Leo, which was also a nice activity to do. Absolutely recommendable. The rooms are very spacious, nice and clean and there is a bid terrace with seaview and a pier in front to swim from.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwissTraveller1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
weltbürger
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had read only good reviews about this place but felt ripped off once the owner wanted $100 BZ Dollars plus Tax instead the $30US (=$60.00 BZ)
which is published in the internet. He explained the price of $30US was a rate from 30 years back.
I think he just took advantage of us arriving in the evening and looking tired.
We suggest they update the false price information in the internet soon:
http://cybercayecaulker.com/sarteneja.html

Other than that the room was clean and OK - nevertheless we decided to move to another place instead.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cactus0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My father and I arrived in Sarteneja via the Thunderbolt just before 8 am, and found Fernando's only three blocks from the dock. Our surprisingly spacious room overlooked Front St. and the bay, had it's own tiny balcony and easy access to the large common veranda. Both the room and bathroom were updated and spotless, cleaned every morning by Fernando and his Mrs. Other than a few attempts to sell real estate, Fernando was the epitome of the perfect Sarteneja host. One of our main reasons for staying in Sarteneja was to visit Shipstern NR. After my unsuccessful attempts to contact them through email, a ranger from Shipstern arrived at the hotel (requested by Fernando) to discuss potential tours. The areas of Shipstern we wanted to see weren't accessible (boat temporarily out of commission), so Fernando suggested a local guide to show us sites closer to the village. Wow! During our six-hour tour, our guide showed us the cenote, the cave and the Maya ruins just outside the village...all on bicycles! I wish more of Belize still had the same charm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimbdivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We drove here via Orange Walk. The last hour is very potholed and slow-going whether in a saloon (as we were) or 4-wheel drive. If you're coming from Corozal, its much better to use the ferries, but avoid early am and late afternoon queues and you'll need advice as none of the roads for that route appear on any maps. Fernando's is nicely placed on the front, and sitting on the verandah is very relaxing. Our room was clean and OK, but the bed was very hard. There is access to a fridge downstairs in the family kitchen but this has some problems as you have to go outside, down the stairs, and go in through the front door, which is locked later in the evening. There is no provision in the room for getting any drinks or buying them. Breakfast is not included - you arrange this with a nephew of Fernando the evening before who prepares it in his house and then brings it in his car. You can also do this for an evening meal, but it can be cold, and our lobster was pretty overcooked. But there's not many tourists in Sarteneja and alternatives are difficult to find so it could be Fernando's is still the best bet. Fernando himself tries to be helpful.
We visited the Shipstern Reserve - our main reason for going to Sarteneja. This is not really geared to independent travellers at present, and overall our visit to this part of Belize was disappointing. We found our visit to La Milpa much more rewarding, and similarly several years ago, our trip to Coxscomb Preserve, further south.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cymraeg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Sarteneja was one of the many surprises of our expedited trip through Belize. It's quaint and mysteriously devoid of tourists and symbols of capitalism.

We only spent one day at Fernando's. My advice is to take a few days at least. The pot-hole laden drive in from the Orange Walk was a frustrating and arduous adventure. I'd recommend driving instead from Corozal (which is the route we took on the way out). I'd also recommend filling the gas tank before departing for Sarteneja. We were low and gas and needed to buy from a black market seller in town. The gas he sold us was diluted with water and we had a pretty nerve-racking drive back to Corozal.

Fernando's was beautiful. It is a 3 room hotel right across the street from the beach. We had a really nice room with a beach view and It was $50 US for the night. Fernando was also really helpful at advising us what to do and where to do it.

It would be tough to beat the value of Fernando's hotel. If you want to spend some relaxed time away from big cities during your Belize trip, I'd totally recommend a trip to Sarteneja. Perhaps the most laid back place I have ever been to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clone-Radio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, California
Level Contributor
1,308 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 778 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We saw the guest house on a day trip in December out of Corozal. We stayed there for nine nights in May this year and it is an excellent value. The owners and staff are very accomodating and this is right on the water with a nice breeze most of the time. You can get anywhere on the peninsula easily from here. Fernie will assist in helping make this a memorable vacation. Fernando, Sr and his wife are related to most of the village so if you need any information they will be able to assist. They are currently remodeling and adding on so in the future this should be an even better value. A great place, very laid back, extremely clean.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantzville, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2008

I got off the bus from Orange Walk in an attempt to get off the beaten track in Belize yet still be on the ocean, walked through the unspoiled village of Sarteneja and along the waterfront to book in at the first guesthouse I came to - Fernando's Seaside Guesthouse. Sure glad I did!

Everybody in the Fernando family were friendly and went beyond the call of duty to be helpful e.g. on the last day when I had to get a bus at 6.30am, Mr. Fernando Senior suggested himself that he knock on my floor (his ceiling) at a 6 a.m. wakeup call and drive me around the village to find the bus so that I could get a good seat rather than wait for its regular stop at the guest house. "By then, it will be full of school kids and you won't get any seat."

I had a choice of rooms. Mine was large and clean, the bathroom especially spacious and the adjoining common airy verandah overlooking the calm coconut palm-fronted sea picturesque. Entirely satisfactory for $30 US a night for two people. The family has plans for expansion and for improvement of the coral beach just steps away.

Staying here is one-stop shopping for the traveller. The Fernandos will arrange anything for you: a fishing trip to the reef or into the bay, a flight to Ambergris Caye, a hike or drive to the nearby nature reserve, a boat trip to Corozal. They even found hair conditioner for me.

The one other guest when I was in residence had been visiting for several years. He was so appreciative of the way in which the family helped him with advice, courtesy, honesty and practical assistance when he bought land in the area that I was impressed and did too.

Lyn Hancock

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank LynHancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarteneja
16.6 mi away
Almond Tree Hotel Resort
Almond Tree Hotel Resort
#1 of 6 in Corozal Town
187 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hotel Villanueva
Hotel Villanueva
#6 of 21 in Chetumal
177 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hokol Kin Guesthouse
Hokol Kin Guesthouse
#3 of 12 in Corozal
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Mirador Hotel
Mirador Hotel
#6 of 6 in Corozal Town
43 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Crimson Orchid Inn
The Crimson Orchid Inn
#1 of 5 in Corozal Town
44 reviews
13.5 mi away
Serenity Sands B&B
Serenity Sands B&B
#1 of 7 in Corozal Town
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernando's Seaside Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernando's Seaside Guesthouse

Property: Fernando's Seaside Guesthouse
Address: # 62 North Front Street, Sarteneja, Belize
Location: Belize > Corozal > Sarteneja
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sarteneja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Fernando's Seaside Guesthouse Belize/Sarteneja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing