We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little out of the way place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarteneja
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Backpackers Paradise
Moore, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great little out of the way place!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This review is from a visit a couple of years ago. We were staying in Corozal and were told to see if we could find this place. No problem -- sign right as you enter Sarteneja. It really is a place for backpackers to stay, clean up and get some good simple food.

We had lunch and it was worth the effort to find them. Very nice french lady served us -- I think she and her partner run the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRinSC653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    23
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
6
25
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clonakilty, Ireland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Backpacker's Paradise for about a week in February of 2013. We had travelled to a few different locations in Belize prior to coming here, and were totally shocked at the prices of rooms, so staying at Backpacker's Paradise was a nice surprise. The rooms are very simple, but very affordable. If you're looking for something really fancy, this may not be for you, but Backpacker's Paradise provides you with a comfortable and clean (and minimal) room, with use of a wonderful common area. The common area includes a basic kitchen with all supplies, mutliple hammocks, couches, and lots of books. There is also a restaurant area with Wi-Fi, providing a nice homemade meals at a decent price, if you don't feel like cooking for yourself. Edward and Natalie, the owners are very nice and helpful, we spent a great deal of time chatting with them, and hope to come back soon! Maybe next time there will be beer for sale so we don't have to go to the Chinese restaurant ;) Love to you guys from Holland!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in one of the rooms with a shared bath, which is just a bed in a little hut in the woods, but it actually quite comfortable, quiet and at $14USD it may very well be the cheapest place two people can stay in Belize. Just know you will not have much space for your bag, etc, there's a foot or two on 3 sides of the bed for you to slide your bag into and a small shelf in the corner, but that's about it. We also spent a night in the small house which had its own bath and kitchen including mini-fridge. It was nice, but possibly not worth the $33 it costs. The rooms and common areas are clean and the communal room itself is a really nice screened in room with hammocks and tables and frequently a nice breeze. There’s also a restaurant with affordable and really delicious food, cooked by Nathalie. In addition to cooking amazing food, Nathalie is also a great host that makes sure you enjoy your time in Sarteneja by helping to arrange activities and give directions and just generally checking in to make sure you have what you need. Mostly we loved staying here. The biggest downside to us was the communal kitchen which we felt wasn't very well stocked. There was no refrigerator (only a small cooler that would barely fit a 6-pack) and only two cooking pots, one that was too small for cooking much and one that was stew pot size that the propane burners struggled to heat to boiling. There were several plates and silverware, but no bowls, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Nathalie's place. Her partner and her are very chilled out and their accomodation is lovely : cabins under the trees, really quiet. It's a 5-10 minutes walk to the village. They have got horses you can rent like a bike and go for a ride about. Really cool !!! We loved the energy and the kindness of the place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grigouillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

i was in sarteneja for months working a conservation project and frequented back to the Backpackers many, many times. The dogs here were my running buddies and i came often to visit the horses and baby chicks natalie (owner) keeps on the farm and take possibly the only hot shower in town. It is a working, environmentally sustainable farm that supplies the amazing little restaurant here. The establishment is designed to accomodate all sorts of travelers at an affordable price from private rooms to room to set up tents. The private rooms are basically a little standing building filled mostly by a king bed. They are wonderfully vented and each has an electric fan and room to hang mosquito nets. One can also hang a hammock in the common room that has it's own kitchen or a futon to stretch out on. Natalie provides mosquito coils for all accommodations. I loved the Backpackers and would be comfortable enough to coordinate a vacation around it as base point if it wasn't out on such a remote peninsula. If you're up at this end of the country, I would definitely recommend making a trip out to the Backpacker's just for the experience of staying there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in a private cabana with a kitchen and bathroom. The property is quiet and spacious. Nathalie and the staff were very accommodating and friendly. We rented bikes the second day and biked to a beautiful butterfly sanctuary. The property is a short walk away from town so it is peaceful but not too far away form the local amenities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photopig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in our cabana in the forest setting. Rooms were very cosy but adequate and the communal area was really cool. The restaurant food was good, despite the owner Nathalie not being there.definitely not a ten minute walk from the water taxi pier, nearer 25. Worth it when you arrive.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanbish1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarteneja
0.0 mi away
Hotel Maya
Hotel Maya
#4 of 6 in Corozal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Almond Tree Hotel Resort
Almond Tree Hotel Resort
#1 of 6 in Corozal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bella's Backpackers
Bella's Backpackers
#4 of 21 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lower Dover Field Station & Jungle Lodge
0.0 mi away
The Funky Dodo Backpackers
0.0 mi away
Pedro's Inn Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Paradise

Property: Backpackers Paradise
Address: Bandera Road | Corozal District, Sarteneja, Belize
Location: Belize > Corozal > Sarteneja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Sarteneja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers Paradise is a hostel in the cultural tradition of the backpacking lifestyle, cheap but with all the facilities we need such as kitchen with fridge, clean bathrooms, free wifi, large communal room with hammocks, horse and bike rental. Higher standing rooms are also available. The location is an 3 acres of tropical organic farm, including mangoes, avocados and bananas trees to say a few, and many species of birds, the best for bird watching. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Backpackers Paradise Belize/Sarteneja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing