We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small surprises”
Review of Vina y Mar

Vina y Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Situated in the heart of the old town our small Mediterranean kitchen serves only the freshest produce from neighboring areas whilst fusing ecological ingredients with a slight oriental flavor such as our famous mini retinto beef hamburger with coconut milk and bamboo sauce. Delicious salads with regional cheeses, fresh fish caught daily such as Octopus from Barbate and the only restaurant in town to serve the spectacular special of ecological Kid from Cadiz To compliment our menu we serve over 20 Sherry wines by the glass and local wines and over 200 varieties to purchase by the bottle.
Ballarat
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small surprises”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We passed by this on our first day and noted that it was a sherry bar. Ok we wanted to try the sherries, so when it started raining we went in. We had 2 of the 8 or so varieties of Sherry and the 'owner' was very helpful (even if it was time for him to head home).
He spoke no English, but brought up a translation page on his computer and then showed up, very proudly the food selection he had as images. The food looked great, so that evening we returned.

Well we tried all the varieties of Sherry, but our host was right about which we would enjoy the most. The food was excellent, and all made at the restaurant. Recommended for a good meal/night out and great chance to discover the varieties of Sherry.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank agf-on-holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    33
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Place!!!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

With so many great places in Vejer De La Frontera to choose from its quite hard to settle on where to eat. We saw Vina y Mar and thought we would stop in for a quick sherry before dinner. I am glad we gave into curiosity as we ended up staying the evening and had a fantastic experience. Sitting at the Bar we were offered a fantastic selection of sherry and wine and as it was so hard to choose from the wide range on offer, the owner and staff did a great job to recommend fantastic local products that didn't disappoint. Generally the bigger the wine list the more pretentious a place can be. This is far from the case here as they are honest and truly passionate about their food and wine and simply want to share it with you. I wish there were more places like Vina y Mar. Great Job!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank achalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you love your wine or sherry, this bar is a must!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

From the minute we walked in to this cosy but inviting bar, we felt extremely welcome. I'm passionate about wine and it's fantastic to see that same passion for food and wine, and yes of course- sherry, from the owner and staff. His recommendations for both food and wine/sherry were spot on and you can just sit at the bar and soak it all up. This place deserves to be up the top of the reccomendations for Vejer De La Frontera!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juliar3779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious menu, gorgeous staff and the best Sherries in town”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Walking up the hill to the old town of Vejer we stepped into this fab little bar thinking it was just that, a bar. But we were happily surprised to discover a delicious menu showcasing the best of local and in season produce with a modern twist to traditional Spanish dishes. Ramon the owner is passionate about sharing his knowledge of the local wines and especially Sherry which he has a huge selection by the glass. I had a fab chicken and apple salad with a dressing of yogurt and sesame oil paired with a crisp glass of Manzanilla, whilst my hubbie had the local beef burger known as Retinto with a glass of Oloroso. It was so good this is now our local!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsealeachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vina y Mar also viewed

Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
 
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
 

Been to Vina y Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing