We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Escondrijo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vejer de la Frontera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Escondrijo
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked Escondrijo on the basis of reviews from this site and the fantastic write up on Mr and Mrs Smith. I have to say we were not prepared even so for such a fantastic stay.
Escondrijo is tucked away down the beautiful Andalucian streets of Vejer de la Frontera, close to the gorgeous tiled and palm tree lines square of the Plaza de Espana. Once inside we blown away by the beautiful decor and endless personal touches that made this such a home from home.

The rooms are as fabulous as the pictures suggest, and the views from our balconies (we had the Woodburner Suite and the Hammock Suite) were breathtaking. The breakfast room/honesty bar area are perfect for enjoying a G&T before you head out and the delicious breakfast served each morning. The fresh fruit, yoghurt and homemade granola had me leaping out of bed each morning, and following that with a selection of brads/pastries, meats and cheeses we were well stocked to explore the area.

The rooms were gorgeous, with plenty of info on the local area and thoughtful touches like beach towels and travel adaptors meaning it took minutes for us to feel settled and at home.

Now on to the owners, Netty and Nigel. I have never had the pleasure of staying in the premises of a more welcoming, friendly and helpful couple. They did everything possible each day to make sure we had our plans organised, great suggestions of where to eat, they even sorted out or taxi's and ran around the square to find us when we couldn't find our cab on a night out. Not to mention their willingness to lend anything we needed, let us use the cute lounge and breakfast room to relax after check out for as long as we liked....I could go on. They really do elevate escondrijo beyond anywhere else I have stayed.

Needless to say our group are already saving up to go back. You will not be disappointed if you go here!

Room Tip: The two suites have balconies next to each other if you are in a group this is a good option for eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Tucked away down a whitewashed alley in beautiful Vejer, I could have stayed here for a lot longer than a week it was so relaxing. We stayed in the Hammock room which was light and airy and with beautiful views across the parched hills of Andalusia. There's also a fantastic guest terrace at the top of this mazy, stylish and charming house. Breakfast was simple and perfect and delivered every morning to the room. I think the thing that most stood out for me though was the warmth and unaffected friendliness of the owners, Nigel and Netty. They're so helpful with suggestions and ideas of what to do and have an unrivalled knowledge of the area- from the best beaches to bars. Their little hotel is a true reflection of the people they are, happy, friendly, literate (there are books everywhere to tuck into) and fun. It's not a wait on you hand and foot kind of place more of a "help yourself to the drinks cabinet and use the honesty box" home from home. Loved it and will go back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank markhuckerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Yet again another lovely few days spent relaxing at Escondrijo. The owners lent us a cool box, beach umbrella, and packed a picnic too. Recommended the best beach to visit on the windy day, and also some fab restaurants (Patria and Quatros Gatos our favourites). Nothing is too much trouble, and thus a really relaxing mini break for us. Highly recommended, fly into Gib and use the A381 fast route or take the coast road and enjoy the views of the sea.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Everything about Escondrijo is perfect.Netty and Nigel were welcoming,helpful and very friendly and made as feel like at home.Escondrijo is a stylish,peaceful and relaxing place.
We stayed there for 10 days and we loved it.
Highly recommended it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KikoandSyja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

There's no doubt about the lovliness of both Escondrijo and the town of Vejer de la Frontera.
After a slightly dissapointing few days in Rhonda, Vejer was a lovely surprise and less obviously touristy that Rhonda.

The owners of Escondrijo have gone to great lengths to make it a peaceful, relaxing and welcomimg place to stay.

We stayed in the "Woodburner" room, which has its own private terrace with great views indeed. The room itself was a bit bohemian for our normal tastes, but none the less it was a reflection on the place itself and maybe our expectations have changed over many years of travel and staying in smaller owner/operated places.
The only real downside to the room was the toilet being located in the main sitting/kitchen area and only being separated by a small wall, with no door. So the only way to "use the loo" in private was for the other person to go outside onto the terrace...for the duration!

Having said that, maybe it's being middle aged that determines your need to go to the bathroom in private!

The breakfasts delivered to your room were delightful, as were the owners and Duna the dog.

Room Tip: The Woodburner for the large terrace and views. As long as you don't mind going outside when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awkenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Very relaxing weekend break, in spite of Vejer's steep climbs. Lovely room, gorgeous setting and made to feel very welcome by the owners. Highly Recommended

Room Tip: Recovering from foot operation so not as mobile as usual. Would've found it very difficult if w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

I can take no issue with other traveller's comments here. The location is excellent with views from the terrace out to the sea. Helpful and friendly english hosts. The hotel was quiet (very quiet in fact). Honour system for the very fairly priced bars (although ice was an issue...) Good breakfasts. We stayed in the hammock room and it was big, cool and comfortable. They have internet and lots and lots of books downstairs.
Vejer is a good place to base yourself in this area. It is on the edge of the hills that stretch across to the mediterranean, so it's much prettier country than on the plains further toward Cadiz. The beaches are close and other historic towns are a relatively easy drive. The restaurants and bars in the old town are good. We ate very well at several.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgileLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vejer de la Frontera hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel
Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Sindhura
Hotel Sindhura
#2 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Convento de San Francisco
Hotel Convento de San Francisco
#5 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Shelly Hospederia
Casa Shelly Hospederia
#1 of 20 in Vejer de la Frontera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel V
Hotel V
#3 of 20 in Vejer de la Frontera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Cobijo de Vejer
El Cobijo de Vejer
#2 of 20 in Vejer de la Frontera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escondrijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escondrijo

Property: Escondrijo
Address: Callejon Oscuro 3 | Vejer de la Frontera, 11150 Vejer de la Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Vejer de la Frontera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Vejer de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Escondrijo Hotel Vejer De La Frontera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing