We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Added value to Vejer's Plaza de España” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garimba Sur

Garimba Sur
Price range: $5 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Added value to Vejer's Plaza de España”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a dinner here while there was a live piano concert on the Plaza de España.
We shared several dishes and liked them all very much.
Together with the music, this was one of the nicest experiences ever.
I read some bad comments, but cannot make one myself that evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    133
    42
    25
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Don't go to Garimba Sur”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Garimba Sur has really fallen in standards in the last few years. The food I had 2 weeks ago was awful and really overpriced. I was charged 9 Euros for a really tiny side salad of a few slices of tomato, a bit of lettuce and a bit of sherry vinegar chucked on top. I will never return. There are now far better places to eat in Vejer. Garimba Sur needs to be careful or it will lose customers fast.

Also beware of Claudia the daughter of the owner who presumably is being trained to take over from her father. She is terrible at customer service and rude. She needs to learn some lessons from the waiters who have worked there for years and who are far better than her.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier D, Gerente at Garimba Sur, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear costumer,

We have reviewed everything that happened the day we actually comment and really there was a confusion because you asked us for a salad on the plate and we served a complete salad aside, and for this reason we paid back you the 9 €, something that you don´t comment.

On the other hand, we are surprised for your commentary about the treatment received by one of our employees. In fact, as you have seen in the other reviews on tripadvisor, Garimba Sur is known for the friendly and close behavior of all our employees.

We are very sorry that your experience has not been pleasant , now we are working to improve and make our clients feel at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great food, perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

go for this great place for a late lunch, great food, nice staff! really tastefull restaurant, could not be better!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Felix_Vienna1140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastisch food in a fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

During our staying in Zahara de Los Atunes we visited the very beautiful village of Vejer the la Frontera. The restaurant is located of the beautiful Plaza de Espagna, at arrival we reserved our table for noon. It was a delicious lunch, we were a party of 8 and we had great outdoor food, the service was excellent.
We can recommend the paella and also the variety of first courses you can order, specially those with Tuna are splendid.
Wine list is more than OK with a variety of local and other Spanish wines, follow their recommendations. We had a great time and delicious food

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome place in Vejer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great food in an amazing location. Service was also really good, only friendly smiles. Have returned twice already.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bvh39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garimba Sur also viewed

Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
 
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
 
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
 

Been to Garimba Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing