We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lots of Character”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Spent a night here while visiting the Costa del Luz. The hotel is an amalgam of townhouses which have been opened up to form the hotel with a pretty rear courtyard.
The hotel overlooks the town square and parking is about 150 metres away in a designated area in an underground car park.
The hotel has lots of character on a Moroccan theme. As it is a conversion of an old building it has many quirky features and you need to be pretty mobile to manage all the stairs. Care needs to be taken as there are low ceilings in some of the stairways and it would be easy to knock your head in places if not careful.
Reception staff were friendly and we were shown to the suite we had booked overlooking the courtyard. This was a spacious room with a sitting area and a good size bathroom. Mineral water, tea and coffee, and a kettle were supplied.
Having explored the town, we returned to the room around sunset to freshen up before dinner. This being early February, the nights were cold and it took a while to work out how to switch on the air conditioning unit to provide heat. This should probably have been explained to us on being shown the room.
I decided to wash and take a shower, 5 minutes later I was still waiting for hot water to arrive. On asking reception I was told that the hot water to that room always took a long time to come through, so I returned and about 2 to 3 minutes later hot water was coming out of the taps. What a waste of water though, it had to be run for about 7 minutes. Again, why were we not advised of this on check in.
We had reserved a table in the restaurant which has a Moroccan menu. The food was interesting, well presented and tasted superb. I thought it was excellent value for the quality of the cooking.
After a peaceful night's sleep breakfast the next day was a self service buffet with a good selection of dishes and freshly squeezed orange juice.
Leaving aside the problems with the hot water and heating, I would not hesitate to stay here again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard will be quieter than those facing the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Owner at Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hola and thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have just completely reengineeered our complete hot and cold water systems. We have had two technicians working on site for 3 weeks now so we are completely confident that an incidence of this type will not happen again. Apologies but we do hope to see you again soon. James Stuart - Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    135
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
47
323
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel is set in the old town, the receptionists are wonderful, the hotel oozes romance, but some details, to some people, may be very frustrating. We were there for several days and every evening we had to ask for the room’s milk, coffee, toiletries, toilet paper, etc, to be replenished, or take steps to do this ourselves. In fact it became such a chore that it spoilt our experience greatly. We used the restaurant once. On departure we were asked if everything had been OK and we formally reported the above problems. I hope the hotel can understand how such constant irritations can be very frustrating to some clients.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a position that protects them almost entirely from noise; from the road, restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avistaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Set in stunning countryside in the province of Cádiz (the only really unspoiled seafront for 300 km since Malaga) the village of Vejer de la Frontera rises on a hillside full of white houses. A small town, not really designed for cars, in the centre of which is this stupendous hotel. Composed of many little cottages, including alleyways, the entire hotel exudes all the personality you expect in a private hotel, and a deeply Moorish ambience. Little reading corners, quiet sitting areas, a roof terrace with stunning views of unspoilt countryside and every room unique and individually decorated in old moorish style, but with all the expected appurtenances of a modern hotel. You get lost quickly finding your way through the passages and little well-furnished seating areas, and that is the charm and fun of such a unique place. Similar to 'La Tangerina' in Tangier, (at almost the same price) it even has, with a nod to Harry Potter, a room number 9 3/4. The staff were helpful and kind, the beds comfy and the views wonderful. Breakfast was included and was fabulous; everyhting fresh including freshly-queezed orange juice. We sat for hours in the sunshine enjoying it all - in early February! This place cannot be faulted.

Room Tip: They say the African Suite is to die for, and is more expensive than a standrad double. But we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnFJ999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed in one of the "special" named double rooms which over looked the square, gorgeous.
My in-laws were in the Africa suite which has to be seen to be believed! Pictures don't do it justice, its huge!
The food in the restaurant is utterly delicious! Plenty of variety too.
The attention to detail in this hotel is second to none, fresh flowers everywhere, candles lite in all the neuk and crannies, just stunning.
The service was great, very friendly staff. The only gripe I have would be that on the 2nd night of our stay, we tried to book a particular table in the restaurant as it was my mother in-law's birthday, and were told the only time we could have it was 10pm, fine, we booked for then. Unfortunately when we arrived at 9:50pm there were still people sitting at our table. We heard one of the occupier's say "that must be the people who've book this table" , so we decided to go for a drink at the bar to give them time to finish up. When we returned at around 10:15pm, they were still there and didn't look like they were in any hurry to leave! So we spoke to the waitress to let her know we had arrived and had the table booked. She said she was sorry the last people were still there, and that they had been told that the table was reserved from 10pm. The unfortunate thing about this was that the waitress didn't ask them to leave, but instead told her manager, who didn't apologise to us, he just sat us at a different table. We wouldn't have minded so much if A - we hadn't been told at the time of booking we had to come at 10pm if we wanted that specific table, which we did, and B- the manager had at least asked us if we would mind sitting elsewhere!
Besides that small hiccup and slightly rude manager, we had a really fantastic stay. I would warn though that it's not suitable for anyone that has a problem with stairs!!

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own personalities, but for something a little more special any of the named...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemmameeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Owner at Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Muchas gracias. A la prôchaine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband booked the Torre Suite for my birthday treat this year after a recommendation from friends and we were not disapppinted - the room was excellent with a big bathroom although have to say the wardrobe set up in the bathroom was a bit old fashioned and we would rather have had two hand basins but hey, ho. Hotel is very different and quirky - lots of small staircases everywhere so you need to be careful as they are steep and glad our bag was not that heavy. Internet worked fine for us and the staff were very helpful and explained where to find the public car park which wasn't far. Dinner in the restaurant downstairs was absolutely fantastic - unusual setting, good service and lovely food - we really, really enjoyed - it made the weekend. Breakfast was included and the buffett on offer was one of the best we have ever seen - a good selection of fresh and home made produce. Excellent - great hotel, great restaurant, great weekend - five stars from us!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DolphinEspana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

So you made it to Vejer de la Frontera, ready to explore the town this hotel is a great place made of a series of houses hence the place has many stairs. Our room not large but very comfortable and overlooked the courtyard restaurant and had a great view of the valley. Bathroom was spotless and well equipped, drain was kind of slow but had everything to make my wife happy.
Has a great terrace with outstanding views, morning breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle/Italy
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love this hotel! I loved everything about it. It is so quirky and individual, it feels a real treat. I stayed in the smallest room but really wouldn´t have called it a ´small double´, it had plenty of room and was so well furnished. It didn´t have a balcony or much of a view (looked out onto a small courtyard) but it was very cosy. We ate at the restaurant one night which was amazing. I´m not easily impressed by food but the Sufa Chicken was really good.
Although the hotel wasn´t perfect, I´ve given it 5 stars because of the ambience, helpful staff, beautiful rooms and really good restaurant. The experience was so unique it totally overpowered the patchy internet and the lack of refills of tea and milk!
Another reviewer mentioned the parking being on the other side of town. The private parking for 10 euros a day is a little further (5-10 minute stroll) but we didn´t need to use it as there is a free public parking at the back of the hotel which the staff pointed out. Unless you stay in the height of summer, I think there would be plenty of public parking space about a 5 minute walk around the corner.
A word of warning too if you are not good with walking on stairs or hills, the hotel has many stairs and the paths around Vejer can be rough.
I hope to come back some day, hopefully for the Africa suite!

Room Tip: The hotel website has detailed descriptions of the different rooms available. Suites look amazing! T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpNorth2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Owner at Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hola and many thanks for the 5 stars. Just to clarify about the parking for other readers. Our new Califa parking is less than 100 metres from the hotel - not a 5 to 10 minute stroll as mentioned in this review (Vejer's municipal car park on the edge of the old town). The Califa parking guarantees you a parking space at all times. In the winter there is more space for street parking obviously but as most reviewers previous to October (when we opened our new parking) have mentioned parking close to the hotel is usually a problem. Re. internet you were in rm. 8 where it may be patchy but generally considering our occasionally 2 metre thick walls and laberynth structure we usually do pretty well. If any client who is reading this specifically needs internet in their room for work etc. ask reception about which rooms have the fastest speeds although the Wi-Fi should reach all rooms. Re. tea & coffee note taken - i'll crack a few whips! (Although I should point out that Tea & Coffee making facilities are not standard in Andalucía - a plus when staying at the Califa!). Thanks for the review and please come again. James Stuart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vejer de la Frontera
3.1 mi away
Hotel Sindhura
Hotel Sindhura
#2 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Convento de San Francisco
Hotel Convento de San Francisco
#5 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Paso
Hotel El Paso
#3 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Rural Leonor
Casa Rural Leonor
#4 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
60 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Madreselva
Hotel Madreselva
#1 of 3 in Los Canos de Meca
139 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz
Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz
#2 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel

Property: Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel
Address: Plaza Espana 16, 11150 Vejer de la Frontera, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Vejer de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vejer de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa del Califa is Vejer's No.1 hotel, which since its founding in 2001 has become a favourite place to stay in Andalucia for travellers and Spaniards alike. The Califa's origins date back to the 10th century, with the building sitting in the heart of Vejer in the palm filled Plaza de España. The historic hotel offers views across the marshes, forests, and hills of the Atlantic coast. The Califa offers a wide range of rooms, from simple doubles to luxurious suites, catering to guests of all tastes. The rooms are spread out among interwoven buildings linked by staircases and courtyards, with a characteristic Andalucian patio garden at its heart. The Califa is the ideal place from which to explore the Atlantic Costa de la Luz (the Coast of Light) & the 'Sierras' of Cádiz. The cultural and outdoor attractions are endless: walking, bike riding, trekking, birdwatching, painting, visiting Cape Trafalgar, seafaring Cádiz, long empty beaches, quiet palm-filled plazas, the sherry bodegas of Jerez, kitesurfing, horseback riding through pine forests, a day trip to Tangiers, sunset drinks on the hotel terrace, magical white towns...all this and more is a daily experience at La Casa del Califa. In our small and intimate hotel, you will find just the right balance of comfort and decor combined with wonderful views, tranquility, and of course excellent service. Convenient private covered parking is located just 80m. from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Casa Del Califa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing