We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Casa Rural Leonor(Vejer de la Frontera)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Convento de San Francisco(Vejer de la Frontera)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel El Paso(Vejer de la Frontera)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sindhura(Vejer de la Frontera)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
El Chili(Barbate)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Adiafa(Barbate)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveler rating
336
152
27
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
152
27
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafrica suitela casa del califarabbit warrenbeautiful hoteltaginemoroccan stylebeautiful squarelow ceilingssister hotellovely restaurantterrace barjunior suiteindividual hotelmany levelsnarrow stairslarge bathroomloved this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 532 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have just returned from Spain where we spent 2 nights in this amazing hotel. It was one of those places that is just charming through and through, and you feel lucky to have experienced it. It will remain in my memory as a 'special place' and one that I would definately return to.

The restaurant serves fabulous 'moroccan' food, and the staff were all cheerful and helpful. All I can say is 'thank you' - this hotel far exceeded my expectations!

Room Tip: Our 'standard' twin room was upgraded to a junior suite, (personal request for a double rather than twin) and it was worth every euro extra.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueCHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Owner at Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Many thanks! Glad you enjoyed your stay - James Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our stay in la Casa del Califa was magical. It's location, the beautiful moorish hotel built up on many different levels each with it's own terrace all with beautiful views. Our room was perfect. The helpfulness of the staff, nothing was too much trouble. Great internet connection. The choice and the layout of the breakfast was amazing. Only one word to describe this hotel and it's magic is WONDERFUL.
I canot wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Lovely beautiful little hotel in vejer. I would go festival time so things are lively. There is a rooftop bar which is amazing to see the view. And now there is a small pool there. The restaurant is beautiful so is the food, however the staff are so grumpy!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Emma-jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Owner at Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed it. The pool is part of our annexe Triperia No.1 and due to its size is not available for use by Califa customers. If you want a pool follow the link to Triperia from the Califa homepage.

Sorry about the grumpy staff. As you can see from our reviews we usually get high praise for customer service. Oh well, next time we'll do better! Hasta pronto - James Stuart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent a delightful 5 nights here. The setting is wonderful, opening onto the most beautiful plaza at the front and with views falling away to the plains behind. Originally the Caliph's house the hotel is full of quirky corners, staircases, roof terraces, courtyards and flowery alleys. The hotel rooms are tastefully furnished and air-conditioned with modern bathrooms. The outdoor restaurant is delightful at breakfast and very atmospheric at night, the menu is authentically Spanish/Moorish. Located in the centre of the most charming hill town the streets are very narrow and parking has inevitably to be some distance away. This should been seen as an advantage as the streets and plaza outside have an attractive array of small street bars where it is pleasant to sit relatively untroubled by passing traffic and you are able to soak up the atmosphere and use your imagination to drift back in time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosamundj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Owner at Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Hola and thanks for your review. PARKING! Finally this has been solved and I'm sorry you weren't here to take advantage of our brand new car park just 60m. from the hotel. (Opened on October 13th.) This project will make all the difference to the medieval quarter of Vejer and we hope will make our visitor's experience that much more enjoyable.

The town hall will now be able to implement its long standing project of pedestrianising the majority of the old town. Good news for everyone! Thanks - James Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Lovely Moroccan atmosphere throughout La Casa del Califa Hotel. Staff were friendly and very welcoming. Stayed for only one night, but will definately will be back again. We were luck enough to be able to eat in the restaurant without having made a prior reservation, but recommend that you book it when booking your room. Dinner was excellent too.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Dex00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews