We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional quality”
Review of La nueva Tajea

La nueva Tajea
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Cadiz, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional quality”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Have been to this restaurante on numerous occaisons and the quality of food and service is exceptional for this part of Spain. Paco his wife and the chef Alberto make a fantastic team. The solomillo is without doubt the best fillet steak i have eaten. Unfortunately it also seems to be the best kept secret , whenever we go we are one table of very few customers. Think they need to do a lot more advertising especially in ex pat mags or forums.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemmawillcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    34
    16
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming and delicious!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

One of the most charming restaurants in all of southern Spain, beautiful sorroundings and impecable decoration. Appetizers are all recommended (and yummy!) and entrés simply delicious - solomillo con salsa de foie gras is a must!
Service is perfect, the chef extremely kind (and gorgeous!).
Strong recommend that if you are in the area to make a reservation.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It's been 3 years since we last visited”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We ate here last time we visited Santa Lucia and were delighted to find that the restaurant was not only still here but was better than remembered. Lovely views, wide choice of menu - traditional and modern, and really good value wines. Booked for 9pm and left at 1 am having had a great evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“On equal standing with Patria but just lacked a little atmosphere.”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Food was all excellent except pudding which was pretty mediocre or even poor compared to the standard of the other dishes. Will certainly be back though and hope lots more people are too. We were the only customers there (was a Monday night though) so would have been a little nicer had there been a few more.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank lizzypeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An experience to repeat!”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

On a roadtrip around Andalusia, my wife and me came across La Nueva Tajeva outside of Vejer this Saturday afternoon. The restaurant is beautifully set in a natural park, with an amazing view on Vejer. Upon arrival we were greeted by a mother chicken followed by 9 little ducklings....enough to fall in love right away. The friendly chef is from Madrid, who decided to relocate to this beautiful spot 2 years ago. We went for the daily changing tasting menu and never regretted it a bit. Same for the great bottle of Rose wine. Though a bit quiet -still early season- we felt very much "at home". Altogether, an experience we will not easily forget (and at a fair price too).

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Maryana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La nueva Tajea also viewed

Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
 
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
 
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
 

Been to La nueva Tajea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing