We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for vegetarians”
Review of La Castilleria

La Castilleria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $67
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Spanish, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a big family that strives year after year to offer something unique. Castilleria is a trendy place located in a nature environment of clean air with the best raw materials grilled. Castilleria tells its history and its landscape on the table; in the flesh, in the wines and in the coal that fuels the fire and give the perfection to the grill.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not for vegetarians”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

A great place for a really nice evening, you have to go up a ridiculous wee road but it is well worth the effort. An idyllic setting amongst the trees ensures it is coolish on warm nights and the meat is excellent. The scrambled eggs with mushrooms and prawns was an interesting, tasty starter but the lomo ( entrecote ) was the star of the show. You have to ask for " hecho " , which means done, to get it UK medium rare but it was perfect. You get a token vegetable on the side of the plate for decoration but this is a place for carnivores. My wife and daughter had the solomillo ( fillet ) with a good green pepper sauce and they cleared the lot. Steaks are about 21 euros which is good value for the quality, quantity and surroundings.
Unfortunately I only get to go every couple of years when we return to the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HotScot19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    163
    48
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Incredible meat and just great place”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

After finding this place along a delightful windy road, we were sat in the wooden veranda with water trickling behind us providing a gentle cooling atmosphere. This is a meat-fan place.... You can tell as you see all the cuts and joints on display in the fridge as you pass the glass-walled kitchen. Not a place for veggies but then if you were a veggie, you probably would not come anyway!

Assuming you want steak, we went for the variety local to the area and were not disappointed. You get to choose the cut, the age of the cow and the way it is cooked, and if you want, a variety of sauce. Generally you need to order veg as an extra side as this is a meat restraurant and that is what you get! The steaks were beyond perfect - tender and tasty, cooked exactly as we asked. The large wine list is good for all pockets and you will find the desserts pretty good too if you have room. Try the lemon sorbet served, not with a spoon, but with a straw which is just sublime.

In sum, worth the trip into St Lucia and the windy lanes. Worth my poor Spanish language skills; worth being adventurous and going for a local breed. Good price, good wine, good meat and so a good choice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nahrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Are we lost?”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

After traveling 500 meters down the VERY narrow road towards the sleepy hamlet we were convinced that we had been misinformed. However, another 300 meters brought us to a small sign , "La Catilleria". Once there, a walk through a narrow alley reveals an oasis of green dotted with white linen clad tables, an open kitchen, and a windowed cooler filled with choice meats.
What meat it is! Thick cuts of Andalucian beef cooked 'a punto'; to perfection. Service was prompt and professional. Do not skip the desserts!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L0bstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Meat, meat and more meat”
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful restaurant. The ambience is perfect, the waiting staff were really helpful with their recommendations, and the meat - which of course is the whole point of the place - was excellent. Not sure what vegetarians would do here though!

Helpful?
Thank CCP1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A rare find”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

You wouldn't expect to find a 5* quality restaurant in a sleepy village in Andalucia but this was a gem

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Castilleria also viewed

Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
 
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
 

Been to La Castilleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing