We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A morrocan experience in the heart of the Cadiz countryside”

El Jardin del Califa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Vejer's most popular restaurant has stone vaulted dining rooms and a lush palm-filled courtyard set in an emblematic 16th century building. 'The Caliph's Garden' is one of Andalucia's prime eating destinations. You will be served fabulous North African & Middle Eastern food in a historic, tranquil & unsurpassed setting in the heart of Vejer's medieval quarter. Overlooking the palm filled square of the medieval quarter the Jardín del Califa is inspired by the Moorish rule of Vejer over 700 years ago. The Jardin del Califa is set in one of Vejer's most important historic buildings. The principal building dates from 1527 (and includes parts from the 11th Century) and is now a grade 1 listed monument. The stone clad dining rooms and the palm filled courtyard are the perfect company for your meal with us. Come to the Califa and you will enjoy tasty dishes, stone vaulted cellars, an enchanted garden, a splashing fountain and scented plants. The haven of this quiet corner in the heart of Vejer will provide you with many memorable moments.
Estepona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A morrocan experience in the heart of the Cadiz countryside”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Its hard to find any fault with this outstanding restaurant. We ate their 5 years ago, and again yesterday. It is still delicious and different. The menu has moorish (in every sense of the word) dishes that are typical of northern Morroco, and a range of things outside of the usual tagines and cous-cous. They have those as well, but the chicken en croute ("pastel") and the boned lamb with baked quince were simply orgasmic. The classic soup is a must to start. They have a really nice wine list including half-bottles of Ribero del Duero, even better than the usual Rioja. Service was good and unobtrusive, and we had a delightful table. Expect to pay between 35€ and 50€ a head, depending on the wine and on whether you can resist the desserts. (we couldn't)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnFJ999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,029
    549
    162
    49
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Time-traveling dinner”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Locationwise this restaurant is hard to top. Located deep inside the old andalucian castle of Vejers old city center you feel as if, you've been transported back in time. Especially at night the atmosphere is mesmerizing - the tables in the courtyard offer a spectacular view to the andalusian starry night sky, while the tables inside is tugged away in the corners and adjourning small rooms of the old building (and a little warmer during summer).

The food is excellent, the service impeccable making the whole experience a night to remember. We've been there both with and without our kids (5, 7, 17) - and the only slight drawback was that it felt somewhat stressing that most tables was couples looking for a romantic (and children free :-) evening.

Don't miss it if you go to Vejer - which you definitely should - it's a wonderful city. Make a reservation if you can - this place is very popular.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thomasroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal in a stunning, romantic setting”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were staying in Tarifa and visited lovely little town of Vejer for the day where we spotted El Jardin del Califa and thought it looked like it would be a nice place for dinner. Once we got inside I was delighted with our choice, the interior is beautiful, ambient and romantic. The food was delicious (it beat anything we had in Morocco by a mile) and the service was first class. I'd love to go back one day!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Senorita12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Nice restaurant. We went as a couple for dinner it was romantic lovely atmosphere. Portions are massive we had the sharing plate to start but it was quite big so then I was overwhelmed at the main so no room for dessert. Food nice we had been to morrocco earlier in the year so interesting to compare possible tapas so good in spain its hard to try a different cuisine but if you are looking for something different its nice. The pastilla we had was a bit dry and tasteless I had the tajine which was lovely although it was heavy. I know I have over used the word nice describing the food however atmosphere wine etc were great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meath82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley Moor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Time for a treat”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Go unfashionably early and catch the blue hour as the day fades and the night lights up. The food is good; but the ambience is fabulous.

Book early; it's always busy. If you stay at the Casa del Califa, it's your breakfast spot too. As many freshly squeezed oranges as you like and great service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelaurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jardin del Califa also viewed

Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
 
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
 
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
Vejer de la Frontera, Province of Cadiz
 

Been to El Jardin del Califa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing