We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in Pershore”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pershore
Studley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great hotel in Pershore”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed in room 6 and although the room is small and fairly basic, it was clean and tidy with everything you would want for a one night stay.

The hotel is very nice with a large bar area and superb gardens on the river avon, it is in a great central location and also has free parking. I didn't have an evening meal there but the full english breakfast was excellent and cooked to order, I had expected a buffet so was very pleasantly surprised.

I booked via TriVaGo for just £40 bed and breakfast, but was told that its always worth giving them a phone call to see if they can do a better deal!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    164
    102
    45
    33
See reviews for
86
376
19
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have been many times as a couple and with friends the staff are wonderfull Roz is a star the food second to none. If anything is wrong they will try to put it right ,yes some of the bathrooms are tatty but all in all a great place and most people who moan moan about everything you just carnt please them, if you want new and perfect go to a modern hotel its what it is old and quaint Yvonne and Steve Cresser

Room Tip: rooms at front of hotel have better bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night and chose to upgrade and stay in a suite, stayed in the Avon suite. Don't bother doing this as it is really not worth paying the extra- tiniest bedroom ever for a suite. Bathroom very small and had zero water pressure so making a shower virtually impossible and the bath would take forever to fill so had to bathe in 3 inches of water. Bits of paint off walls etc in several places and my bedroom window was actually jammed open with a small plank of wood! Only 1 socket in the bedroom which actually means that you cannot watch tv whilst doing hair or attempting to boil kettle, very odd and never stayed anywhere that has only 1 socket it the room! Only plus sides where the bed was really comfy and the breakfast staff are so polite proving a really good service and very high quality breakfast. All in all though very poor suite and very over priced for what you actually get!! Would not consider staying here again as I really felt ripped off due to all the above

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannem001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here for a night (down on business) I phoned ahead as I would be arriving late, they asked if I wanted to dine in the restaurant, I did and they kept the chef back, brilliant attitude and a good steak!. Room fine and excellent bathroom. The breakfast was high quality and lots of it. i left my specs behind they phoned me to tell me & offered to post them home. First rate staff 7 service. i will stay here again when I am in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I accept this is a very old listed building, which can make undertaking and updating very difficult. The staff that I encountered were very pleasant and helpful, including the lady who cleans the rooms. On arrival we were offered an upgrade at £30 per night as only one other room in the hotel was occupied. We refused this and were shown to room 7 on the first floor.

On reaching the first floor we were confronted by a very long narrow dark corridor with a very long, very dirty carpet. The carpet in room 7 has a burn from the complete sole plate of an iron next to the bed. The carpet is filthy covered in spills and other marks. It was so awful I wouldn't walk on it in socks, let alone bare feet!

On the left of the window the wallpaper had lifted and the wall behind was absolutely soaking wet and covered in mould. The wet wall extended from the ceiling to the skirting and was about 2' wide. There was mould on the inside of the en-suite window frames also.

The furniture was of poor quality and little in the way of drawers in which to put T shirts, jumpers etc., though there was a large built-in wardrobe (but no shelving inside suitable for clothes). One of the bedside lampshades was damaged.

The bed was comfortable and the linen and towels clean as were the surfaces of the furniture, loo, basin and shower. The en-suite was ok and the shower efficient. However, the shower head was dirty and there were cracks in the basin. Also a rather suspect brown splash on the tiling to the right of the loo, (I was not about to investigate it!). No double glazing, but possibly not allowed.

We had business in the area, and needed to use our laptops. The main reason we chose this hotel was because it said there was internet access throughout. None was available.

We had booked in for two nights, but decided we couldn't spend another night there, partly because of the state of the room and also the lack of internet. When we explained to the receptionist that we would not be staying the second night she immediately said our second night would therefore not be charged and acknowledge the room was below standard. She also offered us an upgrade at no extra cost and apologised. She did her very best to be helpful.

I know this is a very damning review, but it's accurate.

I would like to reiterate that the staff couldn't have been pleasanter and the breakfast was fine. The lady who cleaned the hotel was clearly doing her best under very difficult circumstances. The poor grade I'm going to give 'Cleanliness' is NOT a reflection on her. The unacceptable state of the hotel is down to the owners, not their staff

Room Tip: I only saw two rooms, I wouldn't pay to stay in either of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PAM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Angel is blessed with space. Its garden runs down to the river Avon (with mooring facilities) and is at least the size of one football pitch. Suitable, therefore, for pitching several gazebos, a bouncy castle, a burger van, a real ale & cider tent and music stage. Much of last Sunday afternoon was spent supping at The Big Plum - The Angel's music, beer and food festival and the main event (on that day) of the Pershore Plum Festival. It was heart-warming to see (what appeared to be) most of the town's population turn-up in the evening to watch the firework display. 'In-tune' and 'commercially smart' are phrases that could describe The Angel's management. As a pub, it would score 5 out of 5 - good range of beers & proper ciders, well-priced wines and above average food (with, of course, several plum-inspired dishes). As a hotel, it comes up a little shorter... we were delighted by the first impressions of the room but, after a fitful night's sleep, we agreed that the bed was too narrow... and the shower was a trickle rather than a refereshing torrent. With a little investment, the room could be brought up to the standard of the rest of the inn. Nevertheless, whether visiting the Plum Festival again (it was brilliant on Monday!), visiting the asparagus festival in nearby Evesham or simply enjoying a walking weekend in classicly English countryside, we'll book into The Angel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is an old coaching Inn and the rooms are only reasonable being a bit tired looking. The restaurant makes it worth the stay though. I don't know what such a talented chef is doing working in such an ordinary environment.

Room Tip: Rooms to ther rear of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 586cammie586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pershore
4.2 mi away
The Wood Norton Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel
#2 of 11 in Evesham
1,009 reviews
5.8 mi away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#1 of 11 in Evesham
552 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Northwick Hotel
The Northwick Hotel
#5 of 11 in Evesham
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
6.8 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton upon Severn
181 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Salford Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: 9 High Street, Pershore WR10 1AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Pershore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pershore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Inn Hotel is refined and welcoming with an abundance of character and a dedication to food and comfort. Situated in the heart of the charming market town of Pershore, close to the banks of the River Avon, this sensitively refurbished hotel and bar of Tudor origin offers something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Pershore
The Angel Hotel Pershore, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing