We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Pescador

Cafe Pescador
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Xai-Xai
Price range: $3 - $100
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Cafe Pescador and the Reef Resort Venue are the new additions to Reef Resort in Praia de Xai Xai. Cafe Pescador has been drawing the crowds, especially those of a somewhat more sophisticated palate and culinary expectation since it opened its doors in December 2013. Seafood is the speciality and Reef Resort's fishing boat brings in the wonderful fresh daily catch from the rich ocean just meters away from the spacious 70-seater, double storey restaurant. Coupled with the abundant 'pantry' of seasonal sub-tropical fruit and vegetables, including home grown organic herbs, Cafe Pescador offers a unique dining experience. The tastefully decorated 100-seater Venue downstairs from Cafe Pescador is suitable for meetings, conferences, special occasion dinners and celebrations. Reef Resort is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, 7 days a week. We look forward to welcoming you to share the experience.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner and breakfast here during our one night stay at reef resort and it was really good! Chef Jonathan made us an amazing grilled fish with garlic butter sauce (fish is fragky caught everyday) and a very nice chicken burger. But we also saw some (big!) handmade pizza's passing by to other tables.
The dishes look very nice and taste amazing.
Jonathan: we probably head straight to Swaziland and won't stop at Xai Xai on the way back. All the best and wishing you all the luck making Pescador a succes!
Cheers from the Dutch brothers.

Helpful?
Thank Ronald_adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefResortXX, Owner at Cafe Pescador, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review of our restaurant, we do appreciate it. Please accept our apology for the delay in responding to thank you!
Regards
Cafe Pescador team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
“Quality and Style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

With a fresh and elegant white and blue beach decoration, this restaurant offers a delicious variety of food to please every member of the family (salads, sea food, pizzas, curries).
Eating the best grilled fish of the day that I had over the last years while listening to the sound of the waves and enjoying the night breeze was an experience that I suggest to anyone that goes to Xai-Xai.
The staff is friendly, chatty and polite... Congrats for the breath of fresh air brought to Xai-Xai's hospitality!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ManuelPRego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefResortXX, Owner at Cafe Pescador, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review of our restaurant, we do appreciate it. Please accept our apology for the delay in responding to thank you!
Regards
Cafe Pescador team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Very good restaurant next to reef resort, quality of food very good ( mozambican food) and free wifi

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank REMCOD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefResortXX, Owner at Cafe Pescador, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review of our restaurant, we do appreciate it. Please accept our apology for the delay in responding to thank you!
Regards
Cafe Pescador team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I had the Valentine diner on this restaurant and It was amazing!
The food is 5 stars and the staff very nice!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefResortXX, Owner at Cafe Pescador, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review of our restaurant, we do appreciate it. Please accept my apology for the delay in responding to thank you (and its nearly Valentines dinner time again....we hope we can welcome you back)
Regards
Cafe Pescador team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marloth Park
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best of Mozambique coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Well what can I say? I have been disappointed so many times dinning out in Mozambique but this place is a gem! A little far out but when in Xai Xai there is no point in cooking for yourself. Just go down to Cafe Pescador and treat yourself! The fresh fish is excellent and the variety on the menu will keep you in treats for days!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DenisGoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefResortXX, Owner at Cafe Pescador, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our restaurant and also for being the first person to comment about us! We do appreciate it very much. Please accept my apology for the long delay in responding!
Regards
Cafe Pescador team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing