We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have realistic expectations and you'll be delighted”
Review of Country Lodge

Country Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Country Lodge
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I don't agree with the negativity in some of these reviews. The Country Lodge is in Mongu. It's not going to be Claridges in London. This is a relatively far-out part of Zambia that experiences common water and power cuts - and yet the Country Lodge still manages to deliver a great standard of hotel that wouldn't be out of place in the continent's richest cities (they have their own generator and water supply, by the way).

The beer is cold, the restaurant is decent (tasty local fish and good nshima and relish), the rooms are comfortable, the mosquito nets are new, the grounds are pleasant, and importantly the service is great.

If I find myself in Mongu again, I'll definitely be tucking into fresh Zambezi fish and a cold Castle at the Country Lodge.

By the way - for people who complain that there's only three things on the menu... I've had some of the most delicious meals of my life in places where you ask for a menu and get the response: "Yes, is chicken!"

Room Tip: Rooms face out into the grounds of the hotel (villa style)... so roll up your welcome mat and stick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Minitruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

I am told that the Country Lodge is the 'best' place to stay in Mongu and since I have not tried elsewhere I cannot comment but I took an 'executive' room at around USD 80 per night, there are also standard rooms at around USD 50 per night - probably not so much difference but the exec room does have its own workout bicycle. Rooms are clean, if a little dark, with a TV showing football channels. Nice touches are a fresh air spray and a mosquito spray to support the efforts of the bed net. There is even a room safe. Staff are very friendly.

Our evening meal was a huge disappointment, it took over an hour to arrive and was very ordinary. Perhaps you could live with this if it was not for the high premium price charged. The breakfast, supposed to be served at 7 was only ready at 7:30, is a prime example of how to put on a 'buffet' at the least cost. Cheapest cereals, margarine, cheap bread and 'Ricoffey' rather than actual coffee.

If you are able to get out of the lodge I suggest you try some of the other places in town to eat - especially 'Oasis' which has better meals at half the price and served in just 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itsmorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was there in August 2012' for only one night on my way back to Lusaka from Kalabo. It was a wonderful stay, comfortable bed, clean room and great food at reasonable price. They even delivered it to our room. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Situated in the middle of mongu beside the barclays bank - lodge has a well-done garden area - comfotable rooms - melas are ok, but unfortunately they nearly can´t manage to bring the meals that the menu showed. there were only three possibilties of 40 availible. There were no other tourists, only a few businessmen...
Would be ok for a stop-over-night ! Next time we will try other accomodations in mongu !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TakamiseTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Let's face it, there's not a large choice of accommodation in Mongu, but this place was a welcome surprise. The staff were friendly and helpful, and quickly put right a few problems with our room. The garden in the middle was a nice place to relax, and the food was simple but excellent. We definitely had the best food here, out of all the other eating places we tried.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Afrigogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 3066 Independence Avenue, Mongu 30100, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Western Province > Mongu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Mongu
Price Range: $49 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing