We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and simple”
Review of Le Kuriri

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maupiti Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Kuriri
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maupiti Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We spent 5 nights at Kuriri with our 2 young children (ages 6 and 10). It was a beautiful adventure that leaves you far away from the tourism of Bora Bora, and leads you to the simple pleasures of a beautiful tropical island escape. Our children treasured the freedom of running around the small "village" and being able to run safely on the beach to play with the hundreds of cute hermit crabs. The beaches on the other motus were absolutely private and beyond words as far as beauty. The water around Kuriri and Maupiti are spectacular. A visit to the manta rays is a must! The hosts were very accomodating and friendly. They made our children feel incredibly welcome. The rooms are large in comparison to the average hotel room on the other islands, but they are also more rustic. To me, that adds to the charm of the place. If you expect luxury and pampering, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a place to spend time together and relax in an environment unlike any of the big hotels, then I would give Le Kuriri a try. We also did the half board plan which is a must in staying there. There are no other options for eating, other than going to the main island of Maupiti, which is not a convenient go-whenever-you-like stop. We don't eat seafood (I know, it's a sin when you go to the South Pacific so I know that we missed out on alot) but AnnMarie and Camile did their best to accomodate. Due to that, our selection of food was limited to a few repeated things, however I do not blame the hosts. The guests who ate their daily fresh seafood were raving! My only recommendation to the hosts would be to offer more choices, especially at breakfast. It was difficult to stay for so long with the same food (fruit and bread) at breakfast. All in all, it was one of our favorite stops on our trip. Definitely an island that I'd love to spend more time getting away from it all!

Camile and AnnMarie, Thank you for the lovely trip. My kids are still talking about it, and they miss Durga!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rangiroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
There are newer reviews for Le Kuriri
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 274 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

Me & my husband spent 04nts in this simple but confortable and clean place with daily maid Half board included and breakfast and dinner very good Owners are a very accessible couple ready to help Hotel located in a wonderful & quiet motu with unforgetable sunsets Maupiti a destination to go Kuriri a very good choice

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatriciaV4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We spent 2 night in Maupiti for our Honeymoon. As you can see, there are few reviews for this place, as it is off the beaten path; most honeymooners do Moorea. Bora Bora, some combination of the two. If you can swing it though, head out to Maupiti. It's a very rustic, simple island, but you will have deserted beaches, crystal clear water, and no huge resorts causing a ruckus.
Im not sure I'd call this place a hotel; its more of a B&B. However, a lovely dinner and breakfast are included with each meal, and they're served communal style with the other guests at the resort. Most of them are French, and some of them speak English. If you're in no mood to interact, don't bother.
We had a whole tiki hut to ourselves, which was fun. It's rustic though, so be prepared. And you will see bugs and lizards and such on the other side of your mosquito net, so if that ain't your thing, again, stay away. Still, you're right up next to a beautiful coral reef (with it's resident shark...Hector!), they have free snorkels and fins for you to use, and the owner will boat you to the main island where you can rent a bike and circle the whole thing in a couple of hours. Go here, veg out, regress a bit, then high tail it to Bora Bora for a return to 5 star living.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

Coming from Tahaa what an awful difference when we arrived to this Pension !
We tought all they wanted from us was our money ! Only one towel for two, the ventilator was not functionning, hot water not available and the bathroom looked more like an ancient outside toilet ! A little curtain dividing the bedroom and the toilet and the closet which also was divided by a curtain was directly aside the toilet bowl !!!
No smiles from the owners ! A certain fatigue was the only expression we had from them! Only the neighboor's dogs salute our passage when arriving !!
Forget the food: if you don't like garlic or onions (very useful to cover the poor quality of food) you will not be happy on that side also.
Thank to the Maupiti habitants to have given us a nice souvenir of their island .
Would not recommand it to our worst ennemy.... We changed our plan and left sooner !
G.M. Filion
Québec, Canada
April, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Genecool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiapaa, Owner at Le Kuriri, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2011

We read this message two years ago and thought is was so "enormous" that the only valuable answers should come through spontaneous testimonials from our guests., which has been the case during these years.
One spicy detail is missing in this apocalyptic description : these ladies never paid for their stay since we did not invoice their agency !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

We have visited Kuriri last year on our French-Polynesia-trip.

I have started to write a nice long review about it, but reading the previous one, I could only repeat it.

Instead of it have a look at our photos:
www.tabblo.com/studio/stories/view/283355/

We have really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful, relaxed place, and we highly recommend it, if you are into the natural beauty and you want to relax on a small motu.
The bungalow is so romantic, the beach is amazing, we have been the only guests, so it was just a kind of Robinson Crusoe-experience :)
Read the previous review, look at our pictures, and you will know if it’s for you.
I can’t wait to go back. Next time we will skip Bora Bora and will spend more time here and on Moorea.
If you have any questions, send me a message, I am happy to help.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BabaYagaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LorPen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Smll1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maupiti Island
0.0 mi away
Village Temanoha
Village Temanoha
#1 of 1 in Cook's Bay
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pension Papahani
Pension Papahani
#4 of 14 in Maupiti Island
140 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fare Pae'ao (Chez Janine)
Fare Pae'ao (Chez Janine)
#10 of 14 in Maupiti Island
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pension Taputea
Pension Taputea
#11 of 14 in Maupiti Island
21 reviews
55.6 mi away
Hotel La Pirogue Api
Hotel La Pirogue Api
#3 of 5 in Tahaa
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Coconut Beach, Tikehau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Kuriri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Kuriri

Address: Motu Tiapaa | BP23, 98732, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Maupiti Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maupiti Island
Price Range: $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Kuriri 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Kuiri is a small eco-friendly guest house located on motu Tiapa'a in Maupiti. Its four bungalows are built in tropical style, they are all different in their shape and decoration.The resort ends on a beautiful beach facing Bora Bora. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kuriri Village Maupiti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing