We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Great!”
Review of Maupiti Residence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maupiti Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maupiti Residence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We arrived and the lady (owner's partener) picked us up at the harbour. She brought us at the shop to buy stuffs for the dinner and breakfast.
She then gave us keys and showed all facilities in the bungalow. Notice you are going to be in a bungalow on a beach, 5 m from the seaside, with a spectacular lagoon.
Nothing disturbs you around (there are a twin bungalow but was empty at that moment). There's the free web connectionm useful to use Skype and call friends and relatives..
We did long walks in the lagoon during the day; the nighttime is also special: if moon shines, you will see a wonderful sight painted with "ice-like" colors.
Wonderful.
We plan to get back in the next few years and stay for at least 10 days!

Room Tip: There are two twin bungalow. No difference between them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frombs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 94 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at Maupiti Residence for 5 nights during our honeymoon.. and what to say, it was mindblowing ! It is situated on the most amazing beach/lagoon that we could ever dream of, and we had them all to ourselves ! We felt like we had been shipwrecked to Tereia Beach as there's hardly anyone on this part of the island. Definitely the most beautiful beach spot that we have ever seen in our whole lives. We have been to different islands and motus during the course of our stay in French Polynesia, but nothing compares to Maupiti and especially the location of Maupiti Residence. If you go to Maupiti you HAVE to stay at Maupiti Residence ! Other than that, we had the bungalow n.1 which was very nicely furnished and clean. The service members are extremely kind, especially Jamal who taught us how to open coconuts and to whom we would speak very often. We learned a lot of things about Polynesian culture thanks to him. Maupiti is the French Polynesian Island tha we loved the most. We were so sad when we left, but hopefully we'll go back someday. Enjoy !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alessia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This was our best accommodation in all of French Polynesia because it was a whole beach house just for us, and there was only one other family living next to us. They offer free wifi (great for calling home when you've been away for a long time), free laundry and bikes to rent for free if you want to go to the city center.

The kitchen if fully equipped so if you are just able to get some good food (not so great variety in the shops in the city center), you could make great meals and enjoy it on the porch of your beach house.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaela n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

GOOD:
· The bungalow was big, clean and with refrigerator, kitchen, safe. Built relatively new. There are some kayaks, bikes. About 8 TV programs, only french. Good internet connection.
· The transport is organised. You are welcomed by the polynesian managers. The owner doesn’t live on site!
· There is a small snackbar, just a few meters on the beach. Good fish.
· Still good value. Close to paradise for the money you pay.
NORMAL:
· The beach is shallow, clean, with some manta’s sometimes.
· The manager said, the water from the tap is not drinkable. It looked good and the taste was okay. The owner didn’t give a special advice. Maybe they want to sell their bottled water...
BAD:
· Not to many good corals, a few fish.
· The mountainbikes are in bad condition. Brakes work, but gears are broken. There is a small hill between the residence and the village! Maintenance??? Is it that expensive to keep them running??
· The beachvolleyball is not on the beach, its fixed in the water!!?? Although there would be a small place at the beach to set it up.
· The kayaks aren’t good quality, like “ocean-kayak”. Tricky to handle with waves, no holes , so the water cant run off.
· You cant feed your refrigerator enough, as there are no sufficient shops. Even tomatoes are difficult to buy. Cucumbers and bananas are easy to get. Prices are high.
· When you close the mosquito netted windows in the bungalow, there are a few blades in every window ,where they come in -daily! not reasoned made.
· The 2 houses are set together a bit to close. You hear your neighbour even with closed windows. Therefore it should have been better to plan the bedrooms opposite.
· Almost every house has a minimum of 1 dog, but they are relaxed.
CONCLUSIONS:
· A good place for staying, if you like privacy. Still good value, but they could care a bit more. Coming back? MAUPITI: YES; PENSION: YES.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank coralkong502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Walter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nhung-AlainM, Propriétaire at Maupiti Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Gilles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank audrey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maupiti Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maupiti Residence

Address: Tereia Beach | Maupiti, 98732, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Maupiti Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Maupiti Island
Price Range: $90 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tereia beach, the charm and comfort of 2 houses of private guests, 72 m2, fully equipped, living room, 2 bedrooms, kitchen, 5 persons. Exclusivity of a white sand beach, terrace overlooking the lagoon motu (islet), the breaking of the barrier reef at sunset, a natural and wild environment. Nearby meal snacks and breakfast, possibility of delivery to your patio. Supply service before arrival. WI-FI Internet access, washing machine, barbecue. On the island, a great freedom of movement. Access to the islet nearby ford. Very good security for children to swim. Many leisure facilities included. Traditional and warm welcome with activities Polynesians who take pleasure to introduce you to their island. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing