We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Return to Villa Maguana” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Maguana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Maguana
barrie, ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“My Return to Villa Maguana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2010

I returned to Villa Maguana for a few weeks over Christmas and New years 2010. As soon as I got out of the vehicle, the overwhelming feeling returned, prompted by that amazing bluewater beach and the barrier reef, displaying and expressing the whitewater waves like a truly skilled artist displays his soul. The staff was largely unchanged, save as to Alexseis, who now is the manager at Porto Santo, in town. No surprise there. Alexseis is a terrific hospitable manager. My room was terrific...second story and overlooking the reef. Roma, the amazingly beautiful and delightful chambermaid, welcomed me back with opened arms and a tear. She had the baby she was expecting before, and she brought all the pictures to show me. Warm wonderful place, quiet and intimate, and you can walk to the larger adjacent beach. It has a few tourists each day on a bus or two, but only from 11am or so til 3 ish. One night, we were on the big beach til two in the morning, virtually alone. The moon was full, the spirits were high, and the huge waves were crashing their white foamy tops on the reef, under a full moon.
Food was good. Service was terrific. personalities....the best!!! Snorkeing was good, and one day a local, Jordan, got a nice pargo (red snapper) about 15 or more pounds. I got a lot of chonch, but returned them alive to the sea bed. Did find a fifty or so year old rum bottle. Lotsa fish near the reef in the late day, just before dark. Lots of local food offered, especially seafood and fruit. Hard to turn down! Locals behind the hotel and behind the big beach, were friendly and helpful. I often walked at night, in the virtual dark, and never had a moment of anxiety, except for the night I walked into a pig. Another night in jet blackness while wandering back from the big beach, I met Estrella, an elderly neighbor lady, who lives on the beach. Wonderful old gal...very friendly. Maguana is Cuba exemplified , for sure. Rolando the new manager is wonderful, and Elvis his deputy, is as funny and cheerful as ever. Stay for more than a few days to get in the Maguana pace, which is somewhere bwtween whoa and revrse, maybe park??

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 1esteban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    58
    8
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
80
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gryhpe
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2009

The Villa Maguana is a bit difficult to get to, particularly in the dark, but once in Baracoa take the road to Moa going north, and drive for about 20 km on a very poor surface, and watch for a right turn with a sign just past the police post. Then follow the signs to the beach until you see a large sign for the hotel.

Once you get there it is all worth it. We arrived at ten at night after a traumatic drive from Camaguey, but the staff turned too and made dinner for us. It was a good start.

The hotel consists of four or five chalets each containing two rooms, more than is described in any of the guide books. It has its own small and attractive beach and on the other side of a small river is the closest publich beach to Baracoa.

It is a wonderful place to relax and do nothing, and if you started from Havana it is a haven of peace. One word describes it - excellent.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gryhpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2009

If we had known about Villa Maguana before setting out for Baracoa we would have come directly here. It's an oasis amongst the other hotels available in Baracoa town.

Villa Maguana consists of just 12 bungalow style rooms recently (2006) built out of wood next to the beautiful Maguana beach. They blend in perftectly with the surroundings and allow you to enjoy the tranquility and beauty of the surroundings.

This place is ideal for a getaway if you are looking for quiet, simple holidays close to a beach. The restaurant offers breakfast lunch and dinner and though the menu is limited the food is delicious and the breakfast is excellent.

There is not much else to do here than relax and enjoy the beach but Baracoa is about 25mins drive so easy to go in and out if you have a car.

  • Liked — closeness to sea, tranquility, cleanliness, quality, staff friendliness
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Two_Other_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2008

Villa Maguana is one of the few hotels on the beach in Cuba which is not one of those horrible all-inclusive resorts.
The chalets (each containing 4 rooms) are quite well hidden by trees. The rooms are tastefully decorated and confortable, with their own terrrace. Good value for the price you pay. The small hotel beach is equipped with chaises longues and the main, bigger (nicer in my opinion) free beach next to it is just steps away. Nothing to do there except relaxing, but that's what you want if you come here. If you don't want to have lunch at the hotel you can easily get barbecued fish, rice and salad on the main stretch of beach.
The weak point of this fantastic hotel is food. Breakfast was very disappointing after many delicious breakfast in casas particulares and dinner was average.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Renata K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,472 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 860 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2007

Now 16 rooms - there are 4 chalets, well spaced, each with 4 rooms. There is a private cove of white sand with turquoise waters with the public beach within easy reach.

It was always relaxed, calm with hammocks, rocking chairs and romantic seaside isolated tables and chairs to sit on if you wanted a break from the beach.

Not sure what the Alpine chalet design is getting at, but the rooms are a superior quality and very comfortable. The restaurant is also good.

Nothing to do in the evenings except eat, have a drink and watch the stars and the lapping waves. Lovely.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano -Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2006

Hello all i really recommend this little hotel, just 4 rooms its very quiet.
The best thing is the atmosphere familiar like a summer house with family, beach, girlfriend, sun, mojitos. I was in 1999 when im study in Santiago de Cuba and its very dificult to arrive driving its better came in airplane till baracoa and there pick a particular's taxis. its was very cheap to stay and peacefull! i hope back there to enjoy more days in the best beach a saw in Cuba (im brazilian!) Viva maguana!
[ ]
JJsly

  • Stayed June 2002
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LuizBalthazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baracoa
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Castillo
Hotel El Castillo
#1 of 5 in Baracoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Rusa
Hotel La Rusa
#4 of 5 in Baracoa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
117.3 mi away
Villa Cayo Saetia
Villa Cayo Saetia
#6 of 10 in Holguin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
102.7 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rio Miel
Hotel Rio Miel
#13 of 18 in Baracoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
332.7 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 14 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maguana

Property: Villa Maguana
Address: Carretera a Moa, Baracoa 97310, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Guantanamo Province > Baracoa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Baracoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maguana 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Maguana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maguana Hotel Baracoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing