We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My wonderful stay at Rafael and Adis house in Baracoa, by Pedro and Olga Rodriguez from USA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Terraza de Baracoa (Rafael y Adis)
Ranked #3 of 55 Baracoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“My wonderful stay at Rafael and Adis house in Baracoa, by Pedro and Olga Rodriguez from USA”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I recently returned from my 10 days stay at Rafael and Adis house where I went with my husband to spend our summer vacation. It was such a wonderful experience!...in there, you feel the warmth of being around an educated family who will provide very tasty meals if you choose to eat there, in the privacy of the roof terrace where they have 2 bedrooms for rent. This privacy of being on the top of their own residency is what I loved the most, enjoying the breeze while looking at the ocean and the surrounding mountains. They will advise you which tours to take, as the city offers several of them. Rafael's wife, Adis, speaks English (they are both, retired teachers). The rooms are fully equipped with cold/hot water, they are clean and nicely decorated.
I can guarantee you will enjoy your stay at this house.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    30
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
129
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My stay in Adis and Rafael's home was the warmest stay of all the casas I stayed in Cuba, They are a lovely family and they make you feel right at home. They are very nice and welcoming people and if you are open to them, you will feel like part of the family. I traveled alone and after 2 days there, I felt like Adis and Rafael were my Cuban parents.
The rooms are very big and clean, shower has hot water always. On the roof there is a pretty terrace with views both to the sea and the mountains where you can have your meals. Food is terrific and there is a big variety - just tell them in the morning what you want to eat for dinner and it will be ready for you at the time you requested. I had fish in coconut milk sauce one night and lobster the other night. Both were very good but lobster was great!! Portions are big and you can not stay hungry at Adis and Rafael's house.
I recommend this casa HIGHLY and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiskoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heinkenszand, Holland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Staying with Adis and Rafael is the best. Its location in town is ideal.
Our room was very clean and comfortable. The family took very good care of us together with the always friendly Sandra and Anja with Cuba’s kindest smile. Their kitchen is very good, as are the mojito’s prepared by their son.
Parking was easy: opposite the house and guarded by their helpful neighbour.
Thank you very much Rafael for the Cuban coffee you gave us when we left! Back in Holland the taste reminded us of Cuba again.

Warning
Arriving in Baracoa, and EVEN IN FRONT OF THE HOME of Adis and Rafael, there are young guys who try to lead you to another casa. They use all kinds of tricks: riding by bike in front of you car leading you to another street to a house with nr. 29 and/or telling you the casa is full but “I have arranged an other place for you to stay”.
Make sure you really meet the family by knocking at the door of the yellow and red house with a small porch and fence, at Calle Felix Ruenes 29. You will recognize the house and Adis and Rafael from the photo’s on Tripadvisor.
It really would be a pity to miss the kind their hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanssenRien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricany, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed for two nights in this casa. Room was spacious and very nice. Rafael was very kind and helpful. It was only one casa during our 3700 km trip where we could use internet in the casa. Food was average but served on the very nice terrace with great view at Baracoa. Thank you Rafael.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_and_Lubos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Mr. Rafael was very very nice in e-mails. When I asked him about his room options, he told me he had three prices, ranging from 15 up to 30 CUC/night.

When I asked him about the differences between each room, he told us it was pure marketing and the 15 CUC room was just great, sending some pictures of it in the e-mail. So we booked this one. He said he was excited for having brazilian guests, it would be the first time for him. He even got to the point where he promised me a gift, a book about Che Guevara's life before Cuba. Told us that his dinner and breakfast were delicious, and that he would be pleased to show us the typical dish, etc etc.

Before leaving Brazil, we emailed every casa we had a reservation with, telling we were leaving, and we would honor our word and be there on the reservation day.

On arrival, Mrs. Adys showed up at the door, together with her son (which we didn't get to know the name). She was all smiles, and told us her son would come into the car to show us where to park. Driving some 60 meters in the same street, he shows us ANOTHER HOUSE and says we arrived. I ask him if we wouldn't be staying in his house, to which he replies VERY RUDELY: "This is the 15 CUC room my daddy told you guys about". We went up to see the room, and it was fine. But definitely it wasn't the room he showed us pictures of.

Our luck is that Rosi, the owner of the casa we stayed, was a wonderful person, and very happy to be our host. Her casa is even better placed in the city, and meals were great. She and her mother both treated us like her children, they were very warm and receptive all the time. Call them directly to avoid meeting Rafael's son: (53) 21 64-3364

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is truly a wonderful place.
As we got back to the Casa, Rafael was calling us "My children!!!" and treating us like family.
Staying at the casa was so much fun...

Very welcoming people, very nice place and very tasty food!

Eyal & Chen from Israel.

Room Tip: You should ask for the room upstairs, the one that is called- "La Suite du Presidential".
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

During our stay in Baracoa, Rafael and his family opened their house for us to stay for a few days. I can honestly, I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the house, the kind and attentative service by the family and staff, and particularly the location within Baracoa. While most casa particulares in Baracoa are far from the main destinations, Casa Particular Rafael y Adis is located only a block from the Catedral Nuestra Señora de la Asunción, which houses the wooden cross that Columbus set on the coast of Baracoa when he first landed on the island in 1492. Near this church is a beautifully restored cultural avenue with bars, clubs, art galleries, and coffee/chocolate shops.
The meals at Casa Rafael/Adis are definitely worth staying in for!
Overall, you will be more than satisfied with your stay at Casa Rafael/Adis.
I met a few German tourists staying in the room near us, and as i am fluent in German, i was able to affirm that they were greatly satisfied by their stay as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baracoa
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Castillo
Hotel El Castillo
#1 of 5 in Baracoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Rusa
Hotel La Rusa
#4 of 5 in Baracoa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo
Hotel Porto Santo
#2 of 5 in Baracoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
475.4 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Maguana
Villa Maguana
#3 of 19 in Baracoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Miel
Hotel Rio Miel
#14 of 19 in Baracoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terraza de Baracoa (Rafael y Adis)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza de Baracoa (Rafael y Adis)

Property: La Terraza de Baracoa (Rafael y Adis)
Address: Calle Felix Ruenes 29 | entre Coroneles Galano y Céspedes, Baracoa 97310, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Guantanamo Province > Baracoa
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Baracoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The casa is centrally located within walking distance to the cultural and commercial centers and only 500 meters from the Cathedral and Casa de la Trova. Although centrally located, the casa sits in a small side street offering a tranquil atmosphere away from any city noise. The owners are both professors; Rafael a Geography professor and wife Adis an English and Computer Technology professor. Rafael, Adis and staff take pride in making every minute of your stay a memorable and warm experience. We offer two totally independent and spacious rooms. Both rooms have two beds each with extra space to accommodate more than two guests each. We offer total privacy since both rooms are located on the second floor. The rooms have balcony/terrace with rocking chairs, flower garden and healing plants. From the third floor terrace you will enjoy 360° views of the ocean, the mountains, as well as views of the city's roof tops. While relaxing on the terrace, you will enjoy the fresh breeze and the view of the ocean and the mountains; at night you can enjoy having a drink while gazing at the beautiful stars display. Each room offers its own private full bathroom with hot water 24 hours a day. Linens and towels are changed daily unless you order otherwise. There is a library with book exchange in different languages. Each room is equipped with air conditioning. We offer various other services like laundry services, bicycle rentals, schedule tours, salsa dance classes, Spanish classes, and Cuban cuisine classes (our specialties are fish in coconut milk and other local dishes). Adis is an expert in preparing local and traditional foods. The main house is occupied by Rafael and Adis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your La Terraza de Baracoa (Rafael y Adis) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing