We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Terraza de Baracoa (Rafael y Adis)

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baracoa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Terraza de Baracoa (Rafael y Adis)
Ranked #3 of 54 Baracoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is truly a wonderful place.
As we got back to the Casa, Rafael was calling us "My children!!!" and treating us like family.
Staying at the casa was so much fun...

Very welcoming people, very nice place and very tasty food!

Eyal & Chen from Israel.

Room Tip: You should ask for the room upstairs, the one that is called- "La Suite du Presidential".
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    27
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
126
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

During our stay in Baracoa, Rafael and his family opened their house for us to stay for a few days. I can honestly, I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the house, the kind and attentative service by the family and staff, and particularly the location within Baracoa. While most casa particulares in Baracoa are far from the main destinations, Casa Particular Rafael y Adis is located only a block from the Catedral Nuestra Señora de la Asunción, which houses the wooden cross that Columbus set on the coast of Baracoa when he first landed on the island in 1492. Near this church is a beautifully restored cultural avenue with bars, clubs, art galleries, and coffee/chocolate shops.
The meals at Casa Rafael/Adis are definitely worth staying in for!
Overall, you will be more than satisfied with your stay at Casa Rafael/Adis.
I met a few German tourists staying in the room near us, and as i am fluent in German, i was able to affirm that they were greatly satisfied by their stay as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Adys and Rafael made my family feel so at home and comfortable in their beautiful home. The accomodations are upstairs in their beautiful spacious colonial home. There is a private terrace from which you can see the daily activities of simple town living and the beautiful ocean view and view of the town. Meals are delicious and plentiful and brought upstairs to the private patio upon which you can enjoy the shade, ocean breeze in a comfortable Addirondack chair, rocker or hammock. The new addition is a spacious gorgeously tiled room and spacious bathroom with the best shower ever!. Highly recommend this Casa for rest and relaxation and loving care from this beautiful family. Thank you Adys and Rafel for a wonderful stay, Diana

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLook7510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Because the casa was under construction during our stay, we didn't spend much of our daytime there. And why? There is so much to see and do in and around Baracoa - it's incredible. Nature during the day and streetlife complete with music, dancing and drinking at night. Adis y Rafael were busy yet accommodating. The construction is probably finished by now making it a real nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reinhardmajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
159 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed with a friend at Rafael´s house for two nights. They gave us a spacious room on the terrace. In the morning we were served a very complete breakfast on the terrace and at night we had delicious meals. I highly recommend this casa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

the accomodation offered by Rafael and Adis is really excellent. The room is big and very confortable ( recently renewed), on top of it there is a beautiful terrace with view to the sea. The family is easy going and always available to help the tourists, they also take care very much of the food (Baracoa's specialities in particular). Rafael also helped us in founding a taxi particular to our next destination (guardalavaca, quite far from Baracoa and very bad connected) that revealed to be also an excellent solution.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hosts are welcoming and nice. Rafael is a school inspector and might ask you to bring some pens; he will distribute these amongst different schools. Pens are a big deal in Cuba, so be sure to bring some, especially for Rafael!

Breakfast is not very impressive, but will get you started. We however did not enjoy the dinner in the casa and choose to eat in restaurants after the first night. Baracoa has some interesting options.

Two rooms are located on the first floor, bot have a small private area in front of the rooms. This is nice to relax. The rooms are large and are equipped with an electric fan and air-conditioning. You will appreciate this! The rooftop terrace offers great views of Baracoa and the sea.

Critical note: The casa owners 'offered' to pick us up from the Viazul bus station. A bicitaxi driver held up our names on a sign, but charged us 4 CUC (2 persons) for the very small trip from the station to the casa. According to Baracao bicitaxi standards 1 CUC should have been enough, we expected the casa owners to act in our best interest and not overcharge us for this service.

Temporary note: During our stay in december 2012 there was a lot of construction work done on the roof and rooms. This meant a lot of noise and early wake-ups. Work will probably continue in january and february 2013.

Room Tip: Rooms are located on the first floor, we were happy to have to room at the back. We had very little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurosnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baracoa
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Castillo
Hotel El Castillo
#1 of 5 in Baracoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Rusa
Hotel La Rusa
#4 of 5 in Baracoa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo
Hotel Porto Santo
#2 of 5 in Baracoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
766.5 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
475.4 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Maguana
Villa Maguana
#3 of 18 in Baracoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terraza de Baracoa (Rafael y Adis)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza de Baracoa (Rafael y Adis)

Property: La Terraza de Baracoa (Rafael y Adis)
Address: Calle Felix Ruenes 29 | entre Coroneles Galano y Céspedes, Baracoa 97310, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Guantanamo Province > Baracoa
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Baracoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The casa is centrally located within walking distance to the cultural and commercial centers and only 500 meters from the Cathedral and Casa de la Trova. Although centrally located, the casa sits in a small side street offering a tranquil atmosphere away from any city noise. The owners are both professors; Rafael a Geography professor and wife Adis an English and Computer Technology professor. Rafael, Adis and staff take pride in making every minute of your stay a memorable and warm experience. We offer two totally independent and spacious rooms. Both rooms have two beds each with extra space to accommodate more than two guests each. We offer total privacy since both rooms are located on the second floor. The rooms have balcony/terrace with rocking chairs, flower garden and healing plants. From the third floor terrace you will enjoy 360° views of the ocean, the mountains, as well as views of the city's roof tops. While relaxing on the terrace, you will enjoy the fresh breeze and the view of the ocean and the mountains; at night you can enjoy having a drink while gazing at the beautiful stars display. Each room offers its own private full bathroom with hot water 24 hours a day. Linens and towels are changed daily unless you order otherwise. There is a library with book exchange in different languages. Each room is equipped with air conditioning. We offer various other services like laundry services, bicycle rentals, schedule tours, salsa dance classes, Spanish classes, and Cuban cuisine classes (our specialties are fish in coconut milk and other local dishes). Adis is an expert in preparing local and traditional foods. The main house is occupied by Rafael and Adis. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing