We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting History but...”
Review of Hotel El Castillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Castillo
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Baracoa
San Diego, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting History but...”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Rooms were clean, average, sparse. 3rd floor walk up on slippery stairs not a big deal for us but for the poor gut schlepping the bags minus an elevator. Lock box did not work as they were out of batteries. I offered mine but was told they did not have the tools to do the job. Tried another room but no luck. Plugged in my iPhone and blew a circuit including the TV! I rearranged the plugs and got it sorted because maintenance did not seem to know about breakers. Rained so hard that water blew under the door creating a small lake. Took one of the two thin towels provided to create a dam. Breakfast was forgettable. I alerted front desk staff about security box, rain water and circuit breakers and it seemed to bother them. Views were the best part of this property. The town of Baracoa and the people are so marvelous that at the end of the day, the hotel is secondary to the overall experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigitte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    109
    97
    32
    20
See reviews for
23
151
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just came back from 3 days in Baracoa. Initially, we were booked into the newes hotel in Baracoa city called Hostal 1511, which we don't recommend. The rooms in Hostal 1511 were small, with no natural light coming into the room (very small window on the side), with a smell of humidity and low ceilings. In contrast the rooms in Hotel El Castillo are beautiful: spacious, bright, well ventilated, clean and with a small balcony with a spectacular view to the Baracoa bay and El Yunque. It is only 3 blocks away from the heart of the city but up on a cliff. The staff was very friendly and willing to accomodate a last minute changes to our reservation (from 1511 to El Castillo). The pool area is also very enjoyable, with a view to the city of Baracoa below. We had dinner at their restaurant the first night. The food was quite good, plentiful and with very affordable prices. If we are ever back at Baracoa we would definitely stay again at El Castillo.

Room Tip: Select a room on the top floor in the building that is behind the restaurant (not in the pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandra Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel El Castillo is situated at the highest location in Baracoa. It is an old Spanish ford looking out over the sea. The best way to get there from the airport is by bicycle taxi, but remind that you will have to walk the last few hundred meters yourself. The cyclists will carry your lugage up the high stair case leading to the hotel, though. The hotel is close to the beautiful center of Baracoa, and - more importantly - just around the corner of La Patio, a excellent music center. The service in the hotel is good, the rooms are quite spatious, clean and with good airco. Breakfast is good, but you have to be there in time, because otherwise chances are that most of the goodies have been digested by other guests. The hotel has a nice swimming pool, though there is not much shade to hide from the blazing sun. The swimming pool has, of course, a bar where you can get nice coctails and buy art works of the global tourist art style paradigm.

Room Tip: Any room is as good as any other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaaSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had the most amazing view from our very large room... the rest was average. The food in the restaurant was extremely average - cocktails in the bar not bad though. Clean rooms with a/c and a fridge and decent enough bathroom. Steep climb to get to the hotel - fine for us after large meals elsewhere but not so much if you have trouble walking. An easy place to stay for first timers, but next time we'll find a casa.

Room Tip: Try to get into the new wing - great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OSJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, UK
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights there in the new wing and had the most fantastic view of the bay, airport (only used about twice a week) and El Yunque. The hotel has a commanding position (old fort) in the town and it is quite a climb to get to it - unsuitable for some I'd imagine. It would be too steep for a bicycle taxi to get up there with a passenger. The pool had a great view and was surrounded by exotic plants. The drinks in the bar were very reasonable. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening so can't comment on that, but the restaurant looked reasonably full. Breakfast had plenty of choice, although the coffee could be improved. But the view makes up for everything!

Room Tip: On arrival, ask for a sea view (although most rooms do have). We were facing to the West (probably r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

A beautiful hotel, with a wonderful view of the town of a Baracoa below. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The pool and pool deck is a great place to swim, toenjoy a mojito or other drink, or to just enjoy the sun. The town of Baracoa is very interesting with lots of thing to see and to do. every night the main street is shut to traffic and a huge dance and party area is set up, with excellent live music, dancing and beverages. The views from the higher rooms are amazing, both from the front and the back. I cannot wait to get back there in January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The city of Baracoa is very beautiful, with views of the mountains and the ocean. Hotel El Castillo was definitely had no shortage of these views; they were absolutely amazing and we were able to get some breath-taking shots from the front and back of the hotel. Short of the views though, the only other part of Hotel El Castillo that took our breath away was the utter dankness of the lobby, rooms, and hotel restaurant. Due to the damp conditions of this area, there are also a lot of bugs in the room. Unfortunately, everything at this hotel is just very weathered and dated and the overall décor is very bleak. The rooms have permanent stains on the floors and walls and the bathrooms seemed reminiscent of something you might find in a hospital or prison; very stark.

The restaurant also left a lot to be desired in terms of food as well, there just weren’t many options. I of course understand that we were visiting a very remote part of Cuba, so this was about what I was expecting. The breakfast buffet was okay; just be mindful of other extremely hungry guests as I almost lost a hand going for the eggs.

There’s also an outside bar area by the pool that was fairly nice, and beers were only $1 which was great.

Overall there just aren’t many options in the small city of Baracoa. If you find yourself in the area, I’d recommend a casa de particular. We visited a few that were very nice and the families that run them are extremely warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzannable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baracoa
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Rusa
Hotel La Rusa
#4 of 5 in Baracoa
17 reviews
88.0 mi away
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
#1 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
1,289 reviews
540.6 mi away
Iberostar Parque Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Maguana
Villa Maguana
#3 of 20 in Baracoa
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de Baracoa (Rafael y Adis)
103.0 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Castillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Castillo

Property: Hotel El Castillo
Address: Calixto Garcia St., Baracoa 97310, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Guantanamo Province > Baracoa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Baracoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Castillo 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel El Castillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castillo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing