We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel, watch you belongings!”
Review of Hotel El Castillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Castillo
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Baracoa
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Nice hotel to relax for a few days, friendly staff, nice swimming pool, good if you stay in the renovated rooms (the rest of the hotel is under renovation right now). But... watch your belongings. After we left, we discovered that the people at the hotel stole memory cards from camera´s and mobile phones, and also a USB stick was missing.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingColombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 302 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2011

the people working for the hotel is very warming and they do their best to let people feel like at home.

we stayed at the "new rooms" area. Bigger problem for old people are the stairways, more that 70 steps from the swimming pool to our room (225). The towels were small and nearly ragged. No sheet or towel were changed during our two day stay.

I had a very high fever one night and sweat a lot, but even so they didn´t change the sheet next morning. The swimming pool we enjoyed it a lot with a lovely temperature at 7 p.m., and the barman was very kind to us. Also the lady at the restaurant during breakfast. Because we were under a severe diarrhea we hardly could eat anything and she gave us a special tea and guava juice. Very kind of her.

The other problem we encounter was that there is a guy who comes in the morning and wash every car in the parking lot and then asks for money, which is an annoyance. NO money should be given to him. By the way bring your shampoo (not available at the hotel) and buy water at TRD store (cost significantly less), Best view of bay of baracoa and ensenada de miel in town.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mango34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

I wrote an accurate and condemning article about this hotel on March 9, 2010, after a terrible indeed a horrible experience in this hotel in early 2010. The issues of the abuse were never resolved, but they will be. The news is however, that El Castillo, where I have stayed perhaps longer than any other visitor, now has a terrific new manager. Her name is Hiliana and she is a very capable person with a warm and genuine smile, and a very compassionate way with her employees. Indeed, HIliana was the person in charge of quality control for Gaviota in the area, and her eye for quality will be a great asset. Many friends who have returned recently have also indicated that they now see the turnaround, and the staff are admitting their renewed happiness. The problems is 2010 were in some respects I suppose related to burn out of staff and management, who were struggling to open the new rooms there, and infrastructure problems were daily. Now things are running smoothly, and the staff are smiling again. It is my understanding that the former manager has been given an administration type of promotion, with less one-on-one daily exposure to individual staff and clients. Seems the man running Gaviota has made some effective changes. Indeed, the director of that organization, which virtually run every hotel and restaurant in Baracoa, is a fellow who is on the ball and alert. Baracoa will receive more tourism each year, especially from Canadians, who after a few all inclusive trips to Cuba, tend to want to get out into the less discovered and less travelled places. I personally will stay in Castillo again starting in July, and I look forward to seeing the warm and wonderful Hiliana again. She is a terrific ambassador for Baracoa hospitality, and a terrific person with a really nice manner and a good heart. She is exactly what the hotel needed. My March 9 2010 comments are no longer valid. I have asked to have them removed from this site. Gaviota have made the changes. I am so happy for the staff at the hotel, and for the tourists who go there, counting on genuine hospitality and good quality service. Seems all has worked out well for everyone. Gaviota hotels are always safe and secure, and they have proven themselves to be capable of making changes when deemed necessary. Hiliana was a perfect choice for this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 1esteban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Little bit of a climb but so worth it for views of El Yunque (Cuba's very own table top mountain). The poolside bar has lovely waiters who make great cocktails! Wtahcing the sunset is amazing. The pool is large and lovely and arefreshing break from the heat.. The rooms are extremely comfortable and spacious and teh hotel is full of lovely art work which is for sale. The restuarant is decent too, a bonus in Cuba. A real gem of a hotel renovated from an old castle - a novelty in itself!!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trixieCentralAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

I had a great stay at El Castillo! The staff was super friendly and was helpful whenever I had questions. I loved the pool and the outside bar. The breakfast buffet was really good too. My room was clean and had air conditioning, a refrigerator, TV, and a safe. The view of Baracoa is amazing from El Castillo! I would love to come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

After spending nine nights in a casa particular (private rental home) in Baracoa, we enjoyed a change of scenery at El Castillo Hotel for our last four nights. Located on a hill above the rustic town, our room with balcony delivered a commanding view of the coastline and El Yunque. Spanish for “anvil,” El Yunque is the defining flat-topped mountain on the Baracoa horizon.

Beside a pool large enough for swimming lengths, we relaxed, napped, read our Spanish books by the pool, sipped our drinks, and wondered which palm tree would release the next coconut. Drinks, coffee and snacks can be ordered from the poolside bar, to assuage any hunger pangs between breakfast and dinner. Buffet-style breakfast is included in the price of 60 CUCs per night. The buffet dinner costs 10 CUCs while the a la carte menu is 12 CUCs, not including drinks. Additional amenities in the hotel’s 34 rooms include satellite TV with an English-speaking CNN news channel, a safe for securing valuables, and telephone.

El Castillo, part of the Gaviota chain of hotels, means “castle” in Spanish. Fittingly, it is located in a former fortress built by the Spanish during colonial times. As far as food and accommodation go, it’s tops in Baracoa!

Calle Calixto García, Loma El Paraíso
Baracoa, Guántanamo, Cuba
[--]

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quakeup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the El Castillo Hotel in Baracoa. The town had originally been defended by 3 forts, and this was the site of one of them. Little remains of the fort, but the position is outstanding. The hotel is a "new" building in the sense that it is not an old colonial building, but does show the signs of lack of maintenance that you see everywhere in Cuba. Our bedroom window had light showing all the way round, and on closer examination we saw that the window frame itself was rotten - and rain came in in torrents when it rained.. However our room looked out over the town and it was comfortable. Think I would stay there again if I ever went back to Baracoa - vary little choice of other places!

We ate in the hotel the first night, but as happens in Cuba, they shut the restaurant without explanation, and our food was served in the pool bar. I had a creole shrimp dish that was perfectly acceptable, but nothing special. And the surrounding militated against it being a good place to eat, as Hurricane Thomas was only 1 day away and the weather was closing in.

Breakfast was Cuban, to the extent that they did not serve fresh fruit (we always try to eat that in Cuba to avoid the normal stuff!) but tinned. When you consider that the country is full of fresh fruit - I guess it is a reflection on the command economy. The coffee was not just "hotel breakfast coffee" bad, it was truly appalling, but you can go and buy yourself a good fresh cup from the bar.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baracoa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo
Hotel Porto Santo
#2 of 5 in Baracoa
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal La Rusa
Hostal La Rusa
#4 of 5 in Baracoa
18 reviews
88.0 mi away
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
#1 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
544.9 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#26 of 80 in Havana
1,662 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de Baracoa (Rafael y Adis)
9.9 mi away
Villa Maguana
Villa Maguana
#3 of 24 in Baracoa
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Castillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Castillo

Address: Calixto Garcia St., Baracoa 97310, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Guantanamo Province > Baracoa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Baracoa
Price Range: $85 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Castillo 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castillo hotel is located on a hill which can be spotted from anywhere in the city, with excellent views of Baracoa and its surroundings. The hotel is a historic place, as it was built between 1737 and 1742 when it was a Spanish fortress called the Ceboruco Castle or the Santa Barbara Castle. It was meant to defend the city from the attacks of buccaneers and pirates, and afterwards it hosted the general quarters of the Village Guards until the triumph of the Cuban Revolution in 1959. The Castillo hotel offers accommodation, à la carte meals including a wide range of local dishes, afternoon snacks, and local and international drinks, which it makes it an ideal place for healthy recreation. It is situated very close to the city of Baracoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Gaviota Hotels so you can book your Hotel El Castillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castillo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing