We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly and best food”
Review of Casa Adrian

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baracoa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Adrian
Ranked #10 of 55 Baracoa B&B and Inns
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very friendly and best food”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

After 5 weeks Cuba, this is really a highly recommendable casa where we would have wished to stay one more week. Adrian and his family is very very friendly, welcoming and truly helpful. The food, prepared by adrians mother is outstanding and we were really looking forward to every breakfast or dinner we had there. We can recommend it to everyone who wants to have a look into real cuban daily life and is looking for a welcoming and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fabian pascal f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    15
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
51
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent 5 days in this loveley casa. To Baracoa we came by bus where Adrian picked us up. The casa is good situated-you need only 5 minutes to reach the sea and the center of the city is reachable in about 10/15 minutes.
Its a beautiful small and quite city (apart of the roosters in the morning:-) - but thats Baracoa, Holguin, Santiago de Cuba... and after two days you are used to it!) and Adrian and his familiy were always willing to help us in any case, as if we had questions about worth seeing trips to the environment or the city and made us our stay as comfortable as possible! His mother prepared us best cuban food so we enjoyed every single opportunity to eat in the casa:-)
To Summarize: In the few days we stayed there we had a very good -but unfortunately too little time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Massaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Spent 3 wonderful nights at Casa Adrian. Amazing breakfast and dinners cooked by his mom; she's a better cook than most Casa Particulares in Cuba. Adrian's sister is very friendly and she helped us out with our laundry. Adrian is very professional, smart and speaks English; great conversations. The entire family is very attentive, and will help you in every way they can to make you feel comfortable and at home. Very nice and clean room with hot shower and A/C. Nice hammock under a tree. Baracoa was one of our favorite places in Cuba. Will recommend Casa Adrian to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MemoRamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here (family of 4) in January. Adrian and his family are very welcoming and accommodation and food was great. Particularly appreciated garden and hammock. 3 blocks from the main town area - great situation very pretty street - poor road surface but lovely painted houses - don't agree with jankukacka. Go to Baracoa - the best place we visited in Cuba!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I cannot stress enough to avoid this casa. I saw this casa on a Cuban tourist site, and called Adrian because it said he spoke English well and would be helpful. I made the reservation in early December 2012, for a two week stay for the second and third week of January 2013.

Adrian picked me up at the airport as promised, and told me I would have to pay the driver of the private car 5 CUC for the few minutes it took to drop me off at the end of the street where I was to stay. When we exited the car, we had to drag my bags about two blocks, because the street of his casa and the one of his "cousin's", which we had to stay at is not passable by car. Please see my attached pics of the open sewers and terrible condition of the road. When I asked my Cuban girlfriend how long the road has been like this, she answered, "YEARS".

When we arrived at 'Villa Bartelemiy' and checked in, we were told by Adrian that his mother was sick and thus had to move in with him and he didn't want to have us share a washroom with her, but that this casa was only 5 doors down from him and he would be over to help us all the time if needed. After that chat, we only saw him again when we checked out 6 days later, after finally finding a decent casa.

Aside from the horrible street condition and smell, there were crickets in our room that chirped all night, and despite several attempts by the owner and his wife to get rid of them, they were always there. Also, there were several roosters a few doors down this street, that would crow from about 2 am until around 9 am and kept us up all night, we spent many days sleeping through the day. And when we checked out of this casa, the woman charged us an additional 5 CUC per day from what Adrian promised would be our rent, and 16 CUC for the water we drank while there!

And we were charged 6 CUC for breakfast and 14 CUC for dinner, and even though we ate out at restaurants on two nights, she still charged us for dinner every day. If my girlfriend didn't have to provide her ID document to stay there, I would have refused to pay for these overcharges, but I didn't want to cause problems for her as she lives in Baracoa.

And if all of that wasn't enough, when I returned home and checked my email, Adrian had sent a message to me in error addressed to another potential visitor, two days after my arrival, asking from where he should pick her up!

When we were asking other casa owners about a vacancy so we could move out, several owners told us that Adrian has caused problems for other tourists in the past as well.

I can not stress enough for people to AVOID both this casa and Adrian.

The casa we eventually found a vacancy was called, Mirador El Yunque, and was wonderful. If anyone would like the contact information for this casa, please don't hesitate to write me and I will provide it. Unfortunately, it isn't listed on this website.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zakimar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed in Adrian's casa for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
As mentioned previously he speaks good English and was very helpful meeting us off the plane. The room was lovely and clean with air-con and fan and plenty of space.

The house itself is a little walk off the main square but Baracoa is not big so its not out of the way, as mentioned in another review the street is a bit of a mud surface, they were hit by very heavy wind and rain from the last hurricane, there is still clean up going on in some of the streets. its barely effects you.

Most days we did one of the local tours which were brilliant and then in the evening chilled out in the garden in the hammock reading until dinner.We ate in the casa 3 nights and the food his mother cooks is lovely and of all the casa's we stayed at in Cuba she by far had more herbs and spices in the food..delicious. His sister who also speaks english was very friendly too.

Stayed early January, travelled as a couple.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max_washedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed with Adrian and his family in 2012 when we visited Baracoa and we really enjoyed our stay there. The Casa is ideally located and the room was spacious, clean and more than adequate. Adrian and his family were great hosts who always went out of their way to help no matter what we needed. Andrian's english is also excellent which was handy whether we needed some local information or just wanted to talk about life in Cuba...

All in all, a good location, good food and one of the nicest families we met on our travels. Would definitely recommend staying here if you are visiting Baracoa.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan___Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baracoa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Castillo
Hotel El Castillo
#1 of 5 in Baracoa
299 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo
Hotel Porto Santo
#2 of 5 in Baracoa
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Rusa
Hotel La Rusa
#4 of 5 in Baracoa
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de Baracoa (Rafael y Adis)
0.1 mi away
Residencia Machado
Residencia Machado
#1 of 20 in Baracoa
41 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Maguana
Villa Maguana
#3 of 20 in Baracoa
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Adrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Adrian

Property: Casa Adrian
Address: Rodney Coutin # 100 | Juracion y Bonilla, Baracoa 97310, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Guantanamo Province > Baracoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Baracoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Adrian is two blocks from the ocean, and in easy walking distance of the town centre. We offer two rooms with a double bed and two single beds that has air-conditioning, a fan and louvered windows for natural ventilation. There is a private ensuite bathroom with hot and cold water 24 hours a day. We have a terrace and a beautiful, green garden with a hammock to relax in under shady mango trees.At our house we offer traditional Cuban food, vegetarian options and adventurous desserts. For breakfast we offer fresh tropical fruits, juices, fresh bread and local honey, coffee and chocolate. For dinner we offer many traditional Cuban Creole dishes, especially fresh, local seafood such as lobster, fish and shrimp. The speaciality of our house is a traditional dish of Baracoa: fish with coconut milk (Pescado a la Santa Barbara). Guests are welcome to have their meals in the garden, where they can enjoy a peaceful, tropical atmosphere.The owner of the house, Adrian, speaks fluent English and a little French and Italian. He is a cameraman for the Baracoan branch of the Cuban Television Network, and is a maker of award-winning documentaries about Baracoan culture. He can provide guests with detailed information about Baracoa and Cuba.Safe, illuminated parking is available, as well as telephone and laundry service. Check in and check out times are flexible. How to find the houseFrom the bus station (Viazul):Follow the Malecon Avenue to the Matachín Historical Museum and turn right into Juracion Street. Walk for two blocks and then turn left into on Rodney Coutín Street. Half a block further is Casa Adrian, a blue and cream, two-storeyed house on the right hand side.From Santiago by car rental:When arriving in Baracoa on La Farola Road turn left into Cepero Bonilla Street (at the corner before the Cupet gas station). Continue to the end of this street and turn right into Rodney Coutin Street. Half a block further is Casa Adrian, a blue and cream, two-storeyed house on the right hand side.From the Baracoa Airport:Take a taxi and show the driver the address (Rodney Coutin # 100).From Holguín by car rentalArrive in Baracoa on the 1 de Abril Street. Follow the road as it turns right and becomes Calixto Garcia Street. Travel about 1km and then turn left into Moncada Street. Continue for four blocks and turn right into Rodney Coutin Street. Two blocks further is Casa Adrian, a blue and cream, two-storeyed house on the right hand side. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing