We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“not bad but thin walls, & backpackers in the communal areas noisy till late” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rima Hotel

Rima Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ruteng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rima Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ruteng
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
109 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“not bad but thin walls, & backpackers in the communal areas noisy till late”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

VIP Room wasnt bad but the walls were paper thin and loads of noisy backpackers shouting until about midnight in the communal lounge (which is surrounded by the VIP rooms) made sleep difficult. the hot shower is created using an electric heater which ran out after only 1 shower - you then needed to wait about 30 minutes for it to reheat. beds comfortable with blankets (which are needed as its cold at night) a basic breakfast was included aswell. Basically this is like an upmarket backpackers with private rooms. Manager spoke good english and was helpful. I found the other staff very helpful aswell.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelreview123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    25
    25
    25
See reviews for
6
40
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Hideous place to stay. We had to stay here one night as part of our tour of Flores. Horrible room, noisy, bed not made up, sheets did not fit the bed, no towels, no toilet paper, smell of gas when using shower, sink leaked all over floor, toilet broken, smell of cooking fuel pouring into room in morning. Manager no help at all.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

It will do for a night. I found the youngsters helpful and eager to please but the grown-ups were only after your money. The internet was reasonably efficient but pricey and having to pay 20,000rp for the wi-fi password was too much, It was noisy because it was on the main road, However if you can get a room towards the back, that will help.
Rooms are basic with not very comfortable bunk beds (economy). There is only 1 power socket per room so a 3-way adaptor could be very useful if you have a lot of things to charge up.
The youngsters managed to arrange a taxi to Bajawa for us and that all went fine.
A strange hotel - looks fantastic but service and facilities not really up to the price. Only Moni offered less.

Room Tip: If you buy anything from a shop and it seems much cheaper than home, it is probably counterfeit. Cam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

The rooms are quite basic, you have 3 different prices, economy with shared bathroom, standard with inside bathroom and business with inside bathroom hot shower. Breakfast is included, and is a banana pancake, 2 piece of breads (ask for jam) and free hot tea and coffee. The restaurant's food is good and the price is correct. Not much other things around, mostly simple warungs.
The plus of this place is not the rooms but the family running it. Jenny is from North Sumatra and has lived and worked in several places in Indonesia before to follow her husband and come here. Her little boy Jonathan is very cute. She speaks perfect English and can help you out. Ask Erlyan to call her friend Aris if you want him to drive you for half-a-day or a day motorbiking to the spider web rice fields and his village Cancar where you can walk around, chill out with people and go to the market. Better go at sunrise to see children going to school, and catch the great morning light.
Hotel Rima has a spacy cosy lounge upstairs where you can rest for a day or afternoon, borrowing a book from the library, or surfing the internet on your netbook. There are also 3 pcs to use internet, the connection is good. I only slept one night in Ruteng so I can not compare to other places, but I really liked the people here and that made my trip here different and nice. They can arrange local buses to other places, ask as soon as you arrive, sometimes bus get full quickly for the next day. If you plan to stay a week or more on Flores and want to explore more remote places, check out the excellent book about Flores they have in their library made by the tourist office. It will give you exhaustive information and ideas of treks and customs to see on Flores. There is a good book about diving too.
Enjoy your time there!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annepom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

We spent just one night here to check out Ruteng. The hotel was almost full but we managed to get the rate down to IDR200,000/- (USD22) for the night. The hotel is predominately made of wood and the room we had seemed pretty new with a clean western WC and hot gas fired shower. The walls were thin and you could hear plenty of noise from guests, staff and the main road out front. The beds and pillows were some of the most uncomfortable we've slept on. Breakfast was coffee or tea and a cold pancake. The staff were friendly enough and gave good information. Well there is not much choice in Ruteng so this hotel is something to put up and it wasn't as bad as imagined reading the other reviews here!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

The family that runs this hotel act like it's their home that, unfortunately, guests use at times. The service was crap, the room was clean but miserable. They were doing construction by our room at 8am with grinders and power saws. They blasted their music at night from their family room and they basically left it to the incompetent kids to run the place. We have moved to the nunnery hotel up the road which is 1000 times better. Don't stay at Hotel Rima unless you are desperate!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drewskya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Rima has basic but decent rooms and a range of options depending on how tight your budget is. It also has decent food, an upstairs bar area (few and far between in Flores) and a pretty front patio so you can sit out in the sun (though it is by a main road). The best thing about it though, is the family that run it. They really looked after us throughout our stay. They were always happy to answer any questions we had and were a godsend when my wife had a motorbike accident and needed stitches in her knee. They took us to the hospital and to the mechanics to get the bike fixed and did it all with a smile. I look forward to visiting them again sometime.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Art022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruteng
30.8 mi away
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
41.4 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#2 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
40.3 mi away
Bintang Flores Hotel
Bintang Flores Hotel
#7 of 37 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
127.5 mi away
Coconut Garden Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
MJR Ticketing Guest House
51.2 mi away
Komodo Resort & Diving Club
Komodo Resort & Diving Club
#1 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rima Hotel

Property: Rima Hotel
Address: Jalan Ahmed Yani, Ruteng, Flores, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Ruteng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ruteng
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Rima Hotel Ruteng, Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing