We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Nearby Hotels
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capetonian Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$197
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$76
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fountains Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$185
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Tulbagh Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Townhouse Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$138
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Parliament Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$66
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$56
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,452)
Filter reviews
1,452 results
Traveler rating
742
535
115
38
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
742
535
115
38
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treewoodstock areawarm cookiescape townloft suiteold biscuit millupper eastsideshuttle servicefree shuttlemodern hotelthe hotel offersrestaurant staffexcellent hotelper dayexcellent stayreception staffwater front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,169 - 1,174 of 1,452 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our recent stay at the Double Tree by Hilton - Upper East Side was probably one of the most memorable experiences at a hotel. From the moment we booked in the friendlyness and professionalism of the staff were noticed. They catererd for all our additional requests on time and in full. the hotel is situated in a very busy older part of Woodstock, but its very safe to go in and out by car. Its close to all the wonderfull that Cape Town has to offer and reception was more than happy to share that with us. I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Thinus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Sir- WOW what an amazing review thank you so much it is this kind or response from our guest's that make it all worthwhile. I will pass on your compliments to the rest of my team .

We look forward to welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel was fine and with a free shuttle to the waterfront it was a great added extra. But what really made this hotel great was the staff - all the driving staff I came in contact with where friendly, helpful and would go out of their way to assistant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Sarah - thank you so much for your kind review - we are so pleased that you had a good stay with us ! I will pass your compliment 's on to the staff especially our team of drivers.

We do hope to welcome you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our Company had taken a team of 240 Dealers for conference and leisure trip as part of our Annual Franchisee Meet.
DoubleTree Hilton happened just about 10 days before we departed from India as we were still finalizing on the Hotel options. With lot of apprehensions we went ahead and confirmed our stay with them.
From the time we checked in till we checked out the staff especially the Senior staff were always ready to help for any service that we needed right from the Breakfast,lunch, Room service etc.
The staff at the Cafeteria always were willing to serve with a smile.

Rooms were well cleaned everyday.. Not a single complaint was registered on any loss of items from rooms considering we were a huge group.
Overall hospitality was Warm and special Thanks to Roger King and Junedray Jonhson the Senior Staff at the hotel for ensuring we had a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Choose for Rooms facing the Mountain.. It's pleasant to wake up for a great View.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSSunita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel - we are so pleased that we exceed your expectations - it is this kind of feedback that we strive for . I will pass on your comments to the entire team and especially to Roger King and Junedray Jonhson .

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town Upper Eastside again !

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Once again I had a great experience this past weekend at the newly named Doubletree by Hilton Upper Eastside Hotel in Cape Town.

As always staff were friendly and welcoming, rooms were pleasant and the food was awesome!

A consistently good effort from a great team!

Room Tip: Any room is a good bet, but if you want some space try the King Executives.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Sir, thank you so much for your great comments we are delighted to have welcomed you back to our Hotel !

We will pass your comments on to the team and especially the Chef !


We hope to see you again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

It is my home from home. They know my name, they remember the last visit I made to their hotel, the staff are always very pleasant and always ready to assist - no matter what. The rooms are just great and suit my business requirements.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Tania K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Sir - we are so pleased that you consider our hotel your home away from home - that is a great compliment to us all . We look forward to welcoming you back again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews