We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Nearby Hotels
$104
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capetonian Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$113
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fountains Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$117
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$114
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Tulbagh Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Townhouse Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$97
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Parliament Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$65
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$56
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,455)
Filter reviews
1,455 results
Traveler rating
743
537
115
38
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
743
537
115
38
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treewoodstock areawarm cookiescape townloft suiteold biscuit millupper eastsideshuttle servicefree shuttlemodern hotelthe hotel offersrestaurant staffexcellent hotelper dayexcellent stayreception staffwater front
Filter
Updating list...
1,243 - 1,248 of 1,455 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great service (especially from reception - Victoria is a star), very nice breakfast and food, comfortable, nicely decorated rooms. Only cleanliness could be improved (but I can say that about all hotels rated lower than 5 stars I have stayed with in Cape Town). Car (rental) highly recommended, as the hotel is not in the city centre.

Room Tip: Choose ocean view if possible
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mebneter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

this hotel has a very very very bad service. The housekeeping would not be interested to come to your room even after calling them 5 times. On the 6th time when they come, they do not have manners. The front staff was very good the first day when you check in (because you are paying 100% money in advance) but the next day onwards, they would hardly speak to you properly. We asked for a cake since one of the family member had his birthday during our stay and this was agreed to be provided complimentary from the hotel BUT instead of a cake, a PASTRY was provided to us that too after reminding them 7 times and also at 11pm leaving us not even a single choice of going back to the market and getting a CAKE.

This is not the end of our ordeal, we checked out at 9am in the morning and unfortunately left a charger in one of the rooms. We came back to the hotel around 1pm and asked for the charger. Till 3pm, no one at the reception or with the housekeeping bothered to help. At 3pm when we were furious, that is when they called housekeeping and told that there was nothing found in the room..very surprising.

I would NOT RECOMMEND this hotel to anyone..and will make sure none of my acquaintance or even a stranger goes to this hotel

Room Tip: please do not stay in this hotel
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sankalp G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a regional team meeting at this hotel with a few of us on the global team. The hotel was fairly close to the airport and shuttle buses had short drops when we wanted to go downtown. The rooms were basic business rooms with compact bathrooms and an iron, and done up in a more modern design. The beds were comfortable and things were clean and safe, but it was not in a walkable neighborhood like by the V&A waterfront. Meeting rooms were great for our events and the room rates were at a big discount. Even with transport, this seemed like a better deal than the port-side hotels, but a time-pressed traveler may want something closer to town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Arriving in front of the hotel, a guy with sunglasses wants to chase you off, although we parked at the droop-off parking. Oh, of course, this guys had NO manners at all.
At the reception you have to pay the full prize in advance - this is our policy, they say. Wrong, if they would read their homepage, the would know it better. BU, nearly all credit-cards were declined - so the guy asked, if we probably reached our limit at the platinum-cards..... only the credit-card from Standard Bank worked. 10 min. later we draw cash with all our credit-cards - and surprise, all our credit-cards were okay.
And if you think there is somebody who assists you with your luggage - no of course not.

This is the beginning of our disappointed trip to Cape Town and a hotel, which does not deserve my money ! And I can't recommend that hotel at all !

Room Tip: Who wants to stay in a room at such a welcoming ????
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank Shut U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Shut U

Thank you for your review. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our guests. Your concerns have been noted and we have looked into the possible causes that led to our promise not living up to your expectations. Please accept our apologies. We would love communicate with you in order to ascertain whether we could be afforded the opportunity to redeem ourselves on your next stay at Upper Eastside Hotel.

Best regards

Francois Steyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed there with the in-laws, my wife and 2 kids (4 and 7 yr old) for a 3day trip to Cape Town.
Hotel close to airport and about 15min drive to V&A waterfront, so very conveniently located, however the neighborhood could be better. Service is good and the basics work well. We had dinner twice at the hotel restaurant and the food was surprisingly good and the service was also good, although the restaurant was not busy at all. During breakfast, sitiuation got a bit hectic as there were not enough tables to sit all guests, but at the end waiting time was minimal. Food is really basic for breakfast, but enough for me and my family to enjoy. Parking is convenient, and price is fine (R40/day). I would definitely recommend this hotel.

The only awkard situation was the (lack of) organization at the reception as during the check in they were saying we just had booked one room when in reality we had booked two rooms. After a little moment of stress, lots of discussion and patience, they finally sorted out the confusion.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgwata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews