We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Protea Hotel Cape Town Mowbray(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SUN1 Foreshore(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimberley Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Parliament Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Capetonian Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,450)
Filter reviews
1,450 results
Traveler rating
740
535
115
38
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
740
535
115
38
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treewoodstock areawarm cookiescape townloft suiteold biscuit millupper eastsideshuttle servicefree shuttlemodern hotelthe hotel offersrestaurant staffexcellent hotelper dayexcellent stayreception staffwater front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,299 - 1,304 of 1,450 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in november. We were a bit alarmed initially as the area in which the hotel is in is somwhat out of the way and certainly not in a place where you would feel safe to walk about possibly day or night, but dont let that put you off!
We hired a car to drive in and around the cape town area which when not in use was safely parked in the secure parking of the hotel, an added bonus to this was that there was no charge for the car park.
The reception staff were a bit hit and miss, some were more helpful than others, those that were helpful were able to arrange a visit to table mountain for my husband and I including taking us by taxi (minibus) to table mountain and then picking us up and taking us to the waterfront. There is a free shuttle bus to the waterfront which runs at various times during the day.
The bar and restaurant area is nice, the bar staff friendly and all communal areas very clean.
The room, once we got to the right one having first been given the key to an already occupied room, we were very impressed by. There is plenty of storage space, a safety deposit box and a tv. The beds were very comfortable and spacious and the bathroom was beautiful, clean with a great shower and lovely toiletries.
Probably the most disappointing thing about this hotel was its lack of views, but it wasn't the end of the world either.
If you're looking for a hotel which serves as more than a place to rest your head then this probably isn't what you're looking for, but for us it worked just great, easily accessible to all the sights (if driving) and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrskbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Excellent rooms, nice beds, very clean always. Overall look of the hotel is very trendy. Breakfast is nice, a lot of choice. Inside the building they have a small supermarket and coffeeshop, very nice.
Location is a downpoint, not near citycenter or waterfront. They have a free shuttle service which is good, however doesnt run frequently (0900/1200/1500/1900) so its either adjusting your plans to that or take a cab or hire a car yourself.
Also, we were a family with a baby. The crib itself was okay, however take ur own sheets etc for the crib.
The standard rooms dont have a fridge/minibar, so its not possible to safe baby milk etc which was a hudge downside. Managment staff wasnt willing to upgrade us to a room with minibar, only when paying for an upgrade. We didnt do that as its too much for a 9 night stay, so not that babyfriendly after all. Other then that, we had a good stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mommyfromholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a company function. The hotel is very neat and fairly stylishly decorated, I had expected a bit more flare and uniqueness from a 4 star establishment. The rooms are not outstandingly beautiful, but then, if you're using it purely as a place to sleep, you won't be left wanting. The staff were friendly and helpful and pretty much everything ran smoothly while we were there. All in all, for the price one pays, it's certainly good value.

One point to note is that the hotel is in more of an industrial area, it's an up-and-coming area but you're really within walking distance of anything, nor is it safe to walk around at night. It's highly advisable to have a car to do your own thing and use the hotel as a conveniently located base. It has easy access to major freeways and the city making very handy as a business hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the mountain-facing side of the hotel, it should be quieter and you get a bit of a better view.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Pros: close to Old Biscuit Mill, free breakfast for 1, nice rooms
Cons: Frances at reception was incredibly rude to me, and the other receptionists not that much better. He made me wait at the front desk for close to 10 minutes, and expected me to have change for a payment to the hotel - what hotel expects their guest to provide change? will not be back

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vt061498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Location was perfect for my business needs. Not walking distance to restaurants but taxis are inexpensive. The staff was vey attentive and ver helpful. Brandon & Roger were the best! Will definitely stay here next time I come back!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alissalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews