We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roaring log fire ensured cosy and comfortable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Levilehto Apartments
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Levi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Having stayed at the Crazy Reindeer hotel for our past 3 stays in Levi we were understandably nervy as we turned the key in the lock of our apartment. Our moods weren't improved when the apartment was cold (relatively speaking to outside!), we had to make our own bed and did not find any toiletries-we admit we are newcomers when it comes to this self-catering business! But it only took a couple of days for us to completely change our perceptions of the place and promise ourselves that our return visits to Levi, of which I am confident there will be more, we would be staying at Levilehto Apartments.
We booked half board at the Levintunturi Hotel which is a 5 minute walk away rather than cook ourselves but the apartment was more than well equipped for those who want to cater for themselves. What made a real difference to us though was being able to buy a bottle of wine (not as expensive as you would imagine) and come back to relax in front of a roaring fire and watch the TV. Not that Finnish TV is much cop we took our own DVD box set to enjoy. We had little to do with the staff as there was no need but we helped ourselves to wood from the shed and everywhere seemed to be well maintained and there was an office there if required.
It really made a nice change to enjoy your apartment if not quite in the wilderness, certainly providing a home from home. It was also really handy to be able to store ski gear in the small hallway that led into your lounge. A couple of (very) minor gripes, we know it's self-catering but it would be nice to arrive to an already made bed, and a small amount of welcome toiletries wouldn't go amiss, but that really is being ultra-picky.
Just a word of guidance as one night we woke up as if we were camping out in a tropical rainforest. Keep both sets of underfloor heating on 3 and you should be OK, don't be tempted to crank them up if you are feeling cold, you'll regret it. Likewise for the fire, the chimney gets roasting hot so don't think putting another log on the fire to get the flames going will be a good idea, it won't!
Thanks again, and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank theproclaimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 85 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed at these Chalets again this year for the third time and as usual everything has been excellent. This time we were very pleased to receive an upgrade to a larger Chalet and as there were only two of us we had plenty of room to spread out.

The chalets are equipped with everything you need in the kitchen (I even baked some homemade Muffins) which filled the cabin with a lovely smell! There is a private Sauna and wet room style shower with good power and bags of hot water - bathroom has underfloor heating which is nice. There is a dishwasher, washer/dryer/cooker and grill, mocrowave and plenty of utensils.

As I've mentioned on other reviews this is our choice over staying in a hotel as it gives so much more freedom and flexibility.

The Inghams Rep Gavin & Manager MariaKaisa (hope I've spelt it right?) were excellent when we snapped the key in the lock on the first night, she set us up in another cabin and left food and drink out for us for the night - many thanks for looking after us. The other two members of reception staff we met later were also very nice.

We have loved every stay at Levilehto Cabins and we will be back hopefully next year.

We've recommended to many of our friends who have also stayed there and enjoyed it - keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRav100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We have just came home from a weeks holiday in the levilehto cabins . We had a party of 5 me gail andf the 3 girls aged 5 11 12 . We found the 3 bedroom cabin to meet all our needs small enough for a homely feeling but large enough to allow the kids to spread out . The cabins dont look nice from the outside but once inside they have everything you need for a family holiday , So lets start with the rooms . i booked a 3 bedroom cabin 2 rooms upstairs and a room in the ground level all the rooms had single beds and were very comfy , plenty of storage space for clothes so no need to live out of the case . As far as the rooms went i had only one issue ,well it was the other halfs issue was the steeep stairs you had to go up and down to get to the bedrooms Gail found it easy to walk down backwards but the kids found it easy to deal with , and the stairs had a safety gate at the top so you could close this when you went to bed .
The kitchen had a dish washer very fast and done a great job and they supply the dishwasher powder to do the cleaning ,the table had 6 chairs so no issue as well and the sitting area had a flat screen tv and a dvd player .we made our own meals at night most of the week without any problems as food and eating out can be a bit pricey .."20 euros for a standard pizza at the pizza factory that was nothing speical . We did take most of our food with us so that saved us loads and the kids were happy as well.
The cabins have a sauna and a open shower room that also holds the washing machine its a nice size room so not cramped at all , as a family we loved the sauna and the shower we even ran outdoors into the snow as well with our swim wear on.. it was great fun sometthing u cant do in your local housing area . A word of warning thou even thou the room was meant to have anti slip tiles our middle daughter had a slip and landed on her back she was lucky not to crack her head ,so we went to reception for a mat to be put down , we were told they did not do this but they gave us some extra towels to put on flooor so not to slip ..and this worked out fine .We relised that having the washing machine we did not have to take so many clothes for the kids we will not make the same mistake again as 20 kls does not go far with all the ski gear packed away.
The cabins also had a great dryer unit for wet and damp gear and a nice big locker for all you skis and sledgesI cant praise this up enough as we stayed at the crazy reindeer the year before and this holiday was far better .
We was only 5-10 min walk to the front slopes and zero point but found taking all the ski stuff back every night a bit of a pain esp with the youngest one wanting pulled along with a sledge so next time we will rent daily and leave ski gear at zero point , we found the skiing perfect for our needs and ability and we loved slope 8 that we used for our skiing , the kids loved kidsland they had lots to do and a nice warm kota to warm yourself up and have a nice free drink as well of hot berry juice. if i have missed anything out well i will let you go and find out for yourself plenty to do even thou you may not ski ...snowmobiles were great me and my 2 older daughters loved it the reindeer ride was great and money cant buy the experience of seeing my youngest daughter go down the path at santas secret hideaway to see the man himsel....f all in all a winters wonderland great snow great time unforgetable experience just go with a open mind let the wonders of the place take you away have a great holiday

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kiptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

The Airport- The first relief is that the airport was so small that the bags were unpacked almost as soon as we were through passport control & Inghams transfered us to our hotel very swiftly. Starting our holiday in a very relaxing fashion.

Levilehto Chalets- The chalets are not as cosmetically appealling from the outside as some of the others in Levi & on first arriving, we were a bit shocked as to how much they had crammed into such as small space but we soon changed our minds. The smaller accommodation was very cosy with all the ammenities you could ask for, linens, towels, drying closet, dishwasher (& dishwasher tablets) & washing machine. One fact to consider is that the cabin we chose (5780) is only really big enough for two, not the 4 it states. We had an issue when we first arrived in that the under floor heating had not been switched on before we got there, meaning at -12 outside, it was very cold. The reception staff came to check all was o.k & told us it takes around 12 hours for it to kick in so be prepared to light the fire. There are fully stocked wood sheds on site so we did not stay too cold for too long. We made a big mistake & chose to ignore the lady from receptions advice & turned the thermostat up past 3 in the hopes that the place warmed up quicker & we woke up to a extremely tropical apartment. In every other way, we could not fault the accommodation.

Location- The apartments are extremely close to the supermarket which has good opening hours so this was extremely handy. The slopes are a little trek away. Only about 10 minutes at a reasonable pace but in Ski boots & carrying skis it felt like a little further. There are no ski lockers that we could find & this would have made things much more convenient. The town of Levi is very pretty & quite flat so apres ski walks were lovely & all within reach of the chalets.

Eating out- There are a few different places to suit each pocket, ranging from a fast food burger place to posh restraunts. We felt it covered a wide range of foods for all age ranges. I have to recommend the bakery in the town centre, it defeats the object of an active holiday but their cream cakes were fantastic.

Skiing- At the time of this trip I was definately at a mid beginners level of skiing & the front slope was a little bit of a daunting red for me but it is the one you need to come down every time you want to come back in to the village. Be prepared for this & you will be fine. I managed it but it would have been nice to have had a pre warnng so I could steel myself. The peak top cafe/restraunt had beautiful views & well work a break from skiing. The slopes were not too busy, even at weekends & there was enough to play with for my level. My husband was at a higher standard than me intermediate/advanced & although there was not as much piste for his level, he was never bored.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday & once we have visited all the other resorts we fancy for skiing. We will come back to Levi.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kartyflim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

We have just returned from our second trip to Finland. We had a fabulous time. The accommodation was good quality, and very clean, close to the slopes and across the road from the supermarket. We went Husky dog sledging, booked through the tourist information. The providers were called the Husky Team and gave us a personalised service. FANTASTIC! We also went Ice skating on the ice way..... and a trip to the snow village. Amazing! We would love to return, the skiing was lovely.... I am a beginner/intermediate and the quality of the slopes helped improve my confidence.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachcomber2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

I have just returned from a weeks skiing in Levi with my wife and 2 childrn aged 10 and 15. We stayed at the Levilehto chalets (number 8) which sleeps 2-6 although 6 would be a push. The apartments consisted of entrance hall which included coat hooks some storage space and the dryer, living area with sofa, dining table and chairs and a small but well equipped kitchen area, two bedrooms and a shower room with basin and a sauna. The lounge area was small with a 3 seater sofa , TV and DVD player. Bedroom 1 had a bunk bed which was a double on the bottom and single on the top, with an additional pull out bed and a tall but narrow wardrobe. Bed 2 had a single bed with additional pull out bed and another tall but narrow wardrode. The shower room had underfloor heating and was baking hot most of the time. Overall, the chalet was OK, we enjoyed syaing there despite the cramped conditions. and the lack of storage space for clothes. It was about a 10 minute hike to the ski slopes which was a pain but, not too bad and the supermarket was conveniently 5 mins away. I would recommend for a family a 3 or 4 who didn't mind the walk to the ski slopes. The resort itself was nice, a good range of slopes and some good jumps and 2 half pipes for the kids. We'd certainly consider returning to Levi but maybe in a hotel next to the slopes next time.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dad55y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

This place was the best. Value for Euro this is the place. A nice small apartment in a very center location. Full kitchen, nice tv, and room. The only bad thing was it had bunk beds. I'm a 4/5 star hotel guy most of the time, but this was perfect for this trip. Clean, and helpful staff. Very happy! So much fun in Levi!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Levi hotels
0.2 mi away
Levi Hotel Spa
Levi Hotel Spa
#1 of 8 in Levi
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer
0.6 mi away
Hotel Levi Panorama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Levi Suites Levi Gold
Levi Suites Levi Gold
#1 of 1 in Sirkka
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Break Sokos Hotel Levi
2.7 mi away
Golden Crown Levi Igloos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Levilehto Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Levilehto Apartments

Address: Levintie 1625, Levi 99130, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Levi
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Levi
Price Range: $82 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Levilehto Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Levilehto Apartments Levi, Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing