We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel lovely food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Levi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We paid £549 each for 1 week half board at the crazy reindeer including flights through Inghams. We were upgraded to a flying reindeer room in the main hotel and we had no complaints. Free wifi worked well in the room the only slight negative was that the rooms were quite warm. The food far exceeded our expectations especially the quality of the meat, as a buffet we didn't expect that. If you are skiing you can walk down to the lifts/zero point using one of the sledges at the hotel to carry your equipment. Or you can take the bus to the other side of the mountain. The stop is just to the right of the hotel but you will need to add a bus ticket to your lift pass for €2 per day at zero point. Inghams were useless but we did book a few excursions through them. Mini husky sledging, visiting the ice hotel and snow mobiles are all well worth doing. Overall a very good holiday in a lovely hotel.

Tip - March/April is probably a better time to go. February is still low season as it is very cold and not all slopes are open

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emz_ing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 505 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel also runs a penthouse a few minutes walk from the actual hotel. The apartment works well for relaxed work groups / brainstorming / etc. It has AV equipment, a big conference table, kitchen, big couches and three bed rooms + extra bed in the main living room. As suited for a penthouse it's also equipped with a sauna and jacuzzi...but dear God, the mouldy smell in that area...it should be shut down until the problem is solved! Health warning!

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank T-toe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel is ideally located in Levi. The rooms are quite big and for the ski resorts are a good value for money. The hotel is actually part of a chain, so you get a 10-15% discount in many restaurants in town if you are staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xavier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Me and my boyfriend were visiting the Finnish Lapland for the first time and after contemplating getting a cottage to stay in, we chose to stay in a hotel. I had heard about the Hullu Poro before and comparing some of the prices, we decided that this place was the obvious choice. Location is central, it's easy to walk to the slopes, the cross country tracks, the restaurants and the tourist information, so basically everything you need for your active Lapland vacation is nearby. The rooms are not the most modern, but they are tidy and the bathrooms are nice with tubs or a sauna. We were a bit surprised to find that housekeeping had not been to our room after the first day. The second day thet however appeard with fresh towels and so. Wifi is free and breakfast included. Breakfast was a bit disappointing some mornings, with items such as juice ruinning out before 9 am. Beyond that I can't really complain as everything worked very nicely and we really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We really enjoyed this trip.The hotel is great, The rooms are comfortable and well maintained. The food is fantastic and there is plenty to choose from each day. The shower steam units are amazing. The only downside is that the hotel is divided up to separate units by name i.e. Crazy Reindeer so you have to dress up in your winter clothes to walk across the complex to the restaurant, this is not a big issue, but to stay in the main complex book the white reindeer rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guyhew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

And that is all I can complain about. The rooms are clean and tidy. The beds are clean and comfortable and the room has a kettle, fridge, cuboards and a drying cupboard for your wet clothes. perefectly adeqtate for the amount of time that you are likely to stay in the room. The steam shower is lovely after being out in the minus temperatures. The only thing I would say is that the room doors are metal and can be noisy if left to bang by other guests and the only other noise is people banging the snow off their shoes in the corridor - yes you ready that correctly! On the corrdior carpet.

The main hotel is lovely with plenty of comfortable seating areas in the lounge and bar areas and rooms next to the main restaurant areas to change and store your over clothing and boots whilst you eat. There is plenty of choices for food. And if you pace yourselves over a few days and not have "a little bit of everything" as is often the temptation, you will not find the menu repetitive. The dining room can get very busy at peak times but we did not ever find that we were unable to be seated, except on the "gala nights" run by the tour operators, that are rather chaotic.

As you usually have to hand your snow suits back quite a few hours before you depart, I would recommend that you still take hats, gloves and scarves etc, so that you can continue to enjoy the snow until you depart. Often the tour operators will put on a firework display outside, AFTER you have handed your gear back!

I would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: I would suggest that you shop around and consider booking any trips through the local tourist inform...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notdunroamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I booked this holiday before reading the reviews of the hotel so was slightly worried when I saw some of the comments. However, all my fears were dispelled on arrival. Our Inghams rep was very good and arranged the coach to pull up close to the annex so we didnt have to pull our cases through the snow. Although the annexed rooms dont appear to be very inviting on first glance there was nothing to complain about when we got inside; state of the art shower!. Rooms were cleaned every day, and towels changed frequently.
The food was good with plenty of choice and a serve yourself buffet.
Although Aurora didnt show, the ski-ing was great with lovely weather, good instruction.
Overall we loved our trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 59maria2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Levi hotels
0.4 mi away
Levi Hotel Spa
Levi Hotel Spa
#1 of 8 in Levi
631 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Levi Panorama
0.2 mi away
Break Sokos Hotel Levi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Golden Crown Levi Igloos
0.2 mi away
Lapland Hotel Sirkantahti
0.3 mi away
Levi Suites Levi Gold
Levi Suites Levi Gold
#1 of 1 in Sirkka
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer

Address: Rakkavaarantie 5, Levi 99130, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Levi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Levi
Price Range: $110 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Hullu Poro (Crazy Reindeer) is situated in Finnish Lapland in the centre of Levi ski resort. Crazy Reindeer, a holiday legend for more than twenty years already! Yet, we still provide you with something new and unforgettable each time you pay us a visit. We offer high standard accommodation, restaurants with delicious food and happy staff at your service. Recipe to guarantee you a true Crazy Reindeer holiday. Whether you travel alone, with your friends or colleagues, on a holiday or in business, Crazy Reindeer is an experience not to be missed. Crazy Reindeer wellness world pampers both your body and soul. Whether you want more activities and exercise, luxurious face and body treatments or just nice time at sauna and bath department, we have all that waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer Levi, Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing