We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Levi
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is our third trip to Levi but our first stay at this hotel. On arrival, our holiday rep gave us our keys. The room was smaller than in the previous hotel we had stayed but perfectly adequate. We had asked for a balcony which came with a full size bath. The decoration was fine, although there was a very large cupboard for 2 cups and saucers, 2 plates and a plate containing some tea, coffee and sugar. Under this there was a fridge with a key to lock it! Very strange but fine.

We were a bit concerned as we did not have a drying closet but we needn't have worried as all our skiing gear dried out overnight.

The walk to the pistes was a lot quicker than we expected which was a bonus when walking in ski boots. There is also a room on the ground floor to put your ski gear in every day. You get the key from the reception and we kept ours all week although we found out later that other people handed theirs in every day. I don't think it matters which option you choose.

The restaurant is very, very pretty, with twinkling lights on the ceiling and lovely lighting throughout. Although I was a bit disappointed with the food (I am a VERY fussy eater), my husband raved about the porridge, beef brisket and reindeer meat. I had previously read that the tables were all joined together as several very long tables. However, we found most tables were set for 4 people and were separate from other tables. I'm guessing that the hotel has listened to previous comments which shows they will change things where possible.

Overall, I think this was a great place to stay and would recommend it to anyone.

Finally, I have read a lot of the comments when people where situated away from the main building. However, this was the case at the previous hotel we stayed at and we actually enjoyed the walk. You can determine how cold it is and how well to wrap up for the day ahead.

The hotel itself has a lovely friendly atmosphere

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    191
    114
    27
    16
See reviews for
192
146
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful holiday to Levi with Inghams.
The Crazy Reindeer hotel was a great place with very friendly staff and good food. We didn't expect too much considering some of the bad reviews so we were happily surprised with how much we liked it.
The room in the Flying Reindeer (main building) was clean and comfortable, and warm as well. This had a bath with an overhead shower and also a detachable shower head. I would recommend a room in the main building so you are able to go to dinner without all your thermals on.
Dinner was a very nice buffet every evening. We had a delayed flight coming out to Levi and the hotel kept dinner open for us all which was good.
Levi town was good with a variety of bars, restaurants and coffee shops, as well as a couple of nightclubs.
Skiing was absolutely fantastic. Ski School was extremely helpful having never skied before, our instructor Max was brilliant.
We are planning to come here again next year and will be staying at the Crazy Reindeer.
Such a brilliant time.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsvowlestobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We travelled with Thompson (Brilliant Holiday) to Levi and stayed in the White Reindeer after complaining about the Crazy Reindeer room we were allocated, The room we had in Crazy Reindeer I thought was poor and no more than a hostel room, we paid Thompson extra to be upgraded when we booked up so was disappointed upon arrival, however this was dealt with by our rep efficiently and moved to larger room in White Reindeer, the facilities inside the hotel are limited but its not a spa hotel its a place to spend the night.
The bar area and small shop is fairly expensive and some people went to the supermarket locally to buy snacks and drinks, we wasn't that bothered by this as the atmosphere was vibrant and the crooner was good to listen to as he tried singing and playing the piano.
The food, both breakfast and dinner were served in the restaurant upstairs and there was good variety of foods and breakfasts changed daily, it was buffet food and they cater well for everyone its not silver service don't be under any illusions there.
The Thomson's reps and entertainment staff were great and they all worked incredibly hard to provide a great experience and fantastic holiday.
The holiday was finished with a Gala dinner and firework display.
Well done Thompson.
The ski slopes and town is all within an easy 5 min walk, well located to all the local restaurants.
We dined in the Rock Café for one meal and that was good value and huge portions if you fancied a change from the buffet.
in all a great time, good hotel, great staff, room choice is important.

Room Tip: Choose decent upgraded rooms and duplex if possible, White Reindeer quiter as located just away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horse1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Very nice Hotel with Friendly Staff. Booked through the Tourist Office in Levi, all online and email. Was plesently suprised that i had booked breakfast as well. We bought the dine around package from the Hotel and eat in 3 of their resturants around Levi, saving money in the process, but fixed menus with good choices and excellent food.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank issued_xw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Booked & saved for this trip to Lapland to see Santa for myself & grandson in Jan 2013, very disappointed with the Crazy Reindeer, it is not an Hotel it's a corridor with rooms off, no reception everything is based at The White Reindeer, had to pay a under occupancy fee as only I adult & I child but was put in a room that only had 2 beds !!! Very dissociated with Thomsons who haven't even bothered to reply to my Post Travel complaint, would not recommend to anyone with small children as having to get togged up every time you went to the White Reindeer for meals was no fun. Roaring log fires to relax in front of at night !!!! I saw one fire that was lit once in 5 days & had only 2 logs on it as a big notice at the side said this was the limit. Picture in the Thomson brochure don't even show The Crazy Reindeer.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We travelled as a family with ages ranging from 14 months to 70 and stayed in an open plan apartment within the Hotel which was spotless and well-maintained, it was well-equipped to cook simple meals although we were half-board and the twinkling restaurant was a delight to visit at each mealtime with the most amazing fresh tasty meals to satisfy most people. The hotel is ideally situated at the top of the village of Levi for the supermarkets and the ski slopes. We experienced temperatures of between -9 and -29 degrees during our weeks stay, with the most amazing crystal snowstorms. The only problem we found was that after being out in such low temperatures the heat of the apartment was rather draining even though we turned most accessible radiators to low. I would recommend this hotel for a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

So 3hrs from Manchester an we arrive, 15 mins to collect our bags,skis n boots an we are on the coach. 15 mins later in the hotel n checked in what can I say but what a boss place to visit, non stressful, easy.

The hotel is ok, our bedroom a little tired looking but the bathroom is so warm n toasty it's great for drying wet boots an washed clothes.

The restaurant is a nightmare at breakfast, no bacon left at 0830 half an hour before it ends and we managed 2 out of 6 times, the Russians are ignorant they don't queue and on more than one occasion I'm left fuming by it all to the point I almost frizbied someone's toast across the room because he pushed in. Dinner isn't as bad as we usually went down 30 mins before it finishes. I can never get over the fact they pile their plates high an then don't eat it, it's so wasteful.

Anyway onto the resort, beer is expensive €6+ so limited to a couple a day so we didn't overspend. The skiing is fantastic, the scenery is awesome but if the main gondola on the World Cup run isn't running your limited. Lots n lots of tbars and button lifts which can be tiresome so hint to the resort managers get some more chairlifts please.

Inter sport is the cheapest place to rent equipment rather than zero point.

All in all a fantastic funtastic awesomastic flabtastic place to go to. We love u Lapland

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Levi hotels
0.4 mi away
Levi Hotel Spa
Levi Hotel Spa
#1 of 8 in Levi
622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Levi Panorama
0.2 mi away
Break Sokos Hotel Levi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Golden Crown Levi Igloos
0.1 mi away
Lapland Hotel Sirkantahti
0.2 mi away
Levilehto Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer

Property: Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer
Address: Rakkavaarantie 5, Levi 99130, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Levi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Levi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Hullu Poro (Crazy Reindeer) is situated in Finnish Lapland in the centre of Levi ski resort. Crazy Reindeer, a holiday legend for more than twenty years already! Yet, we still provide you with something new and unforgettable each time you pay us a visit. We offer high standard accommodation, restaurants with delicious food and happy staff at your service. Recipe to guarantee you a true Crazy Reindeer holiday. Whether you travel alone, with your friends or colleagues, on a holiday or in business, Crazy Reindeer is an experience not to be missed. Crazy Reindeer wellness world pampers both your body and soul. Whether you want more activities and exercise, luxurious face and body treatments or just nice time at sauna and bath department, we have all that waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer Levi, Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing