We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Finnish cuisine and nice service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Ammila

Restaurant Ammila
Ranked #9 of 45 Restaurants in Levi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Part of the Hullu Poro Group
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Very good Finnish cuisine and nice service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Went for a dinner at Ämmilä. Both had the Sautéed reindeer, which they advertised as the best on the fjell. Can't attest to that fact, but it was really good, and you get unlimited seconds for the same price of one dish. The record at the time of writing was six portions and being a sort of a big guy, I can only wonder what kind of a man could manage that. The portion size is really good and the taste was excellent. Meat was tasty, tender and juicy. Mashed potatoes, lingonberry jam and pickled cucumber are the traditional sides and they were really good. The atmosphere is laid back, and it's supposed to be a sort of a 70's themed restaurant and I suppose they have it dialed in. Wasn't alive back then... More of a traditional Finnish rural feel to it, but what ever. The service was attentive, even though that might be to the fact that we were there during the low season and there wasn't that many customers, but others have had good service during other times as well. Would recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NightByNight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    56
    16
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Grandmas House!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Quirky place, supposed to be Grandmas house, with waitress dressed in Granny clothes and slippers. Really good traditional food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank issued_xw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Typical Finnish cuisine as it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We have been there twice during our five days arctic vacation, food is excellent, service is very attentive and don't get surprised seeing Keke Rosberg dining there, highly recommended...

Helpful?
1 Thank Albert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best meal in Levi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited the Ämmilä restaurant on 16 December 2013. It was one of the highlights of our stay in Levi. Ämmilä was a very cosy and well decorated restaurant wherein its interior design was in the style of a local farmhouse and the servers all worn in traditional dress.

The menu was a-la-carte with a good selection we tourist didn't know. With the help of the friendly servers (an experienced waitress and a young trainee waiter), we were recommended of some really nice Lappish dishes which we were very happy with. To start, we had beef soup, snail, and ravioli (Savuporokeitto pieni, Pelmenit, Etanat). They were all very tasty. For the main courses, I had a beef stew (Hirvipataa) and my wife had beef steak stuffed with smoked reindeer and cheese (Ammin Leike). They were authentic Lappish cuisine and very delicious. The dessert we shared was cloudberry sorbet (HillaSorbet) which was freshly made of a delight of sweetness balanced with sour taste of cloudberry. Including 16cl of red wine (Jacobs Shi-cabinet), the bill of 113 euros was value-for-money. All in all, we considered Ämmilä serving the best meal we had in Levi during our 9-day stay there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kenwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Just like Santas home.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Old fashion way decorated and little bit crazy atmosphere that comes from staff makes you think that you are sty santas home. Food is good, mainly traditional Finnish cuisine. I recommend gladly. Try.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Ammila also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Ammila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing