We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent experience

We have been with this company on reindeers safari as well as snow scooters, both were fantastic... read more

Reviewed today
Ma G
Great Experience

We choose the igloo building experience as a fun activity that was suitable for the large age range... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Sn0wman
,
Cannock
Read all 91 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Levi
from $95.35
More Info
from $137.23
More Info
from $104.03
More Info
from $166.01
More Info
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
74
12
0
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
74
12
0
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews northern lights cookies snow igloo ginger biscuits his colleague enjoyable tour guide victor short film warm fireplace husky park camp fire could not have been more reindeer safari an unforgettable experience levi town juice great trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 91 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2020

Had the trip on 25th Dec. My daughter is 6 years old and enjoy to listen the knowledge to build igloo.

No luck to see Northern Lights but the team is excellent to monitor and explain. They also let us to stay late.

The highlight of my 3 years old boy is having lots of marshmallows. Yummy.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank 986kaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Lee_STG, Guest Relations Manager at Scandinavian Travel Group, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your kind words! Yes we always try to include enough activities for our Polarman's Camp to make sure it's a fun evening whatever the weather :) Unfortunately, we couldn't show you the Northern lights that night but I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our program: the grilled marshmallows, snow igloos, Northern light movie inside our Aurora dome and authentic Lappish outdoor experience! We will always try to give people the best chance of seeing the Aurora, we genuinely want you to fall in love with Levi as much as we have!
Igloo building is indeed very fun and can save your life if you get stuck out in the wilderness here...

I hope your holiday was filled with plenty of delicious and exciting moments and that we see you in town again someday :)

All the best,

Sam

STG team Levi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020 via mobile

We (family of 5 including 3 teens) did the Polarman tour thinking that it would be a great small group experience learning about surviving in the Arctic and the Aurora Borealis. What we got instead was a lot of waiting (our departure was delayed and while we waited for some drunk guests to board the bus), standing around in the cold, not understanding any of the Russian that most of the tour was given in, and no marshmallows because the group is too big. English-speakers were a minority, and although the guide translated some of what he told the Russian speakers, we felt excluded and like we had wasted our time. We did not do the walk along the lake as stated in the tour description. We stood outside the igloo while the assistant did her best to explain about igloos and wildness survival, while the guide spoke to the rest of the group inside the igloo. The video on the aurora borealis did have subtitles in English but they were not positioned correctly on the screen, so we missed out on that part too!

This was our worst experience out of a whole week of activities in Levi and we will be trying to get a refund. We would not recommend this tour unless you speak Russian.

Date of experience: January 2020
2  Thank swissfamilyroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petroal, General Manager at Scandinavian Travel Group, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2020

Dear Amber,
Thank you very much for your review.
Really sorry to hear that you felt it was the worst experience out of the whole week of activities in Levi.
Just wanted to clarify a few points:
In the beginning of your tour there was an extra waiting time, so that your fellow travellers could get an warm winter clothing before we depart to the wilderness camp. Sorry that it seemed like a long waiting for you. I understood you were seated in a comfortable bus.
It's true that group consisted of mostly Russian-speaking clients and your were the only English-speaking clients there. This time of the year is the highest season for Russian-speaking clients in Levi, and you could hear them everywhere. Obviously, our guides did a lot of speakig in Russian. Fair to say that narration and tour guidance is always given in two languages, if there is a mixed group.
You couldn't have missed the lake as the our Aurora dome was standing right on the beach of this lake. The problem with walking on the ice on that evening was a warm weather, as the top snow covering the ice was melted which made it very difficult to walk with a high risk of getting your feet wet. Therefore there was no walking on the ice on that particular evening.
I do apologize that you missed marshmellows, but our guides always have spare pack inside the dome, so you should have just asked for it, and it would have been offered.
Actually in your review I didn't find adequate reasons, which would make up a totally negative feedback.
I think you might have been emotinally distressed with some other issues, and our camp experience didn't help to recover.

I hope to make it up for you on another visit.
Please feel free to contact us should you decide to come again. We'll offer you a free tour to our famous Polarman camp!

Best regards,
Alexei Petrov
General manager
STG Levi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2019

This was a fantastic excursion and we learned things that we can use on our return home. The guide on the trip was very interesting and knowledgeable and made the experience really good for the children in the party. It was a small group which was good and with varying ages it was an excursion that is suitable for everyone. There is a minimum age limit, which is about right - maybe get away with a little younger but would not suggest much younger. This was a great excursion for Christmas Eve, would highly recommend this experience.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank Adele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacation07199800281, Guest Relations Manager at Scandinavian Travel Group, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2020

Thanks very much for your kind words, Adele, it means a lot, I passed on your feedback to our guides and they agreed to err on the side of caution when deciding for a minimum age as small kids get cold extremities that much easier than we do.

We're really glad you enjoyed your trip with us and hope the rest of your holiday was just as good. We hope you'll come back to Levi one day and look forward to saying hello again if you do, have a great 2020...

All the best,

Sam
STG team Levi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2019 via mobile

Visited today, the reindeer experience, the whole thing was very poor, the ropes between sleigh burnt my partner shoulder with a rope burn, fortunately she had the front harness on with our daughter in but the rope didn’t get her!

The whole experience wasn’t good and poor value for money based on what we had.

I don’t recommend at all.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank Johnboygedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Lee_STG, Guest Relations Manager at Scandinavian Travel Group, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hey there John, I'm really sorry to hear of your bad experience with us, we take all criticisms very seriously and always try to improve on them..

There are always safety instructions given before the ride starts and I'm unsure of how your partners shoulder could have been burnt assuming all precautions had been followed. If you have time please call our team to explain how the accident happened in detail as we of course don't want such an event to happen again in the future. +358400514530

It's a shame too that you felt the rest of the trip poor value for money, we always try our best to fill each tour with as many activities as possible to make it fun.. Also, it can't be stressed how much cultural importance reindeer have to the native Sami people of Lapland, their nomadic lifestyle in such remote wilderness was only possible due largely in part to the reindeer; it would be like cowboys in America without cows or horses..(!) The farm you visited was an authentic family run, Sami owned establishment that's been around for over 160 years and a popular cafe for 35. Our guide told you about their history and many adaptations they have for living out here, and you got to feed the reindeer their favourite food - the Cladonia Lichen that grows locally and is harvested every year by the reindeer farmers themselves. Then of course the cafe visit which is like a little museum in itself in addition to being somewhere to warm up and have a hot drink or homemade snack. Bundled with the timely transport to and from Levi centre in one of our well maintained vehicles its a shame you felt the trip overall was poor value for money, we will try harder to squeeze in more info and experience into our trips and cater to all tastes and expectations.

..please do get in touch to give a more detailed account of your criticisms and we will do our best to improve.

I hope you had a great remainder of your holiday and have many special memories to treasure forever, take care and we hope to see you around Levi again one day,

All the best,

Sam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2019 via mobile

Did Polarman trip on the 18th Dec. Was quite expensive for what you get but as the northern lights were out in force this was justified on our trip. The team were entertaining & knowledgable. Best to check chances of the lights showing before booking.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank derrenb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Lee_STG, Guest Relations Manager at Scandinavian Travel Group, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks very much for your review Derren B(rown?!)

We are really glad you enjoyed the evening as we try our best to keep the night fun with lots of activities, we do hope you enjoyed the walk out onto the frozen lake and introduction to igloo building, Dmitry's survival story inside the real igloo that he built himself, the outside fire area with marshmallows and of course the heated Aurora Dome with magic berry juice and movie, your trip was lucky with a really good N.lights display that night too ;) ...legends say if you drink enough of our magic drink you will always see the northern lights...?! :)

In response to your critique, it has taken us years of experience and teamwork to be able to offer the aforementioned activities and there is is quite a lot of pre and post-production work that goes into the Polarman program. Not just setting it up and closing down the area each night by other members of staff but also the aurora dome construction, deconstruction and maintenance throughout the year.. The site is on a piece of land we rent out over the whole winter season, and requires private snow cleaning via tractor, many daytime hour are spent cleaning away snow and ice buildup especially during warm winters such as this where the temperature oscillates around the critical freezing point and there's a substantial amount of ice to hack away at with hand tools :) In the summer months it is public land again so everything is deconstructed and stored ready for next season.. We wish to continually improve upon our Polarman camp, with better technology and services as they become available, a very expensive camera was recently purchased for example for better Aurora photos at the Polarman camp.. STG is a small local business that invests back into itself heavily for better customer experience overall... We fell in love with this part of the world years ago and want to give others the best chance in doing so too..! :)

We really hope you had a great remainder of your holiday and have many special memories to treasure forever, hopefully see you again in Levi one day..

All the best,

Sam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews