We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of La Granica

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fontanile
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Granica
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontanile
Reviewed March 13, 2009

We spent 3 nights here in February and enjoyed every minute. The British owners are very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious with a lovely bathroom. Breakfast was simple but plentiful and the one evening meal well worth staying in for. If you like "off the beaten track" this is the place for you although there is no shortage of local restaurants and sights.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 381,276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 18 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2008

I stayed here last week and I have to say I found it to be one of the best small hotels I have ever visited. The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished while the grounds/vineyard surrounding the hotel make for a lovely tranquil setting. The food was of a high standard and the rooms well-kept and shady in the hot weather. The owners helped out with local information and recommended some great restaurants and attractions.
All-in-all a great experience and I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bigj45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2008

I found this hotel on the Sawdays website. I thought that it was reasonably priced and the pictures looked really good. When I got there I wasn't disapointed. The hotel is nestled in a vineyard. It was really beautiful. My room had a four poster bed, chandelier and a balcony looking out on to the vineyard. Very romantic. There was also a nice swimming pool just below the vines.

The hotel is a good base for touring the area. There are lots of pretty little villages around. The spa town of Acqui terme is nearby. Also, it was a short distance to Genoa. The owners live onsite and were really helpful giving advice on what to see and do. When not touring the vineyards, or stuffing my face with pasta and ice cream, I could be found collapsed by the pool.

Lot's of wine tasting, good food and sunshine. This is not a party vacation, it is suited to anyone looking for peace and relaxation.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorothyvictors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

a rare treat in Italy, there is no traffic hum, simply crickets being crickets and birds being birds as the grapes grow. A nice way to experience North Italian rural life and a pleasing view. Clean, well and tastefully modernised rooms and good cooking are on a civilised and personal scale. The young British owners live in a separate part of the premises and are always helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gettingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

I booked to go to La Granica last year as an extention to a Turin city trip, but had to cancel due to work commitments. We finally got here in June and we wish we had come sooner, this is a beautiful boutique property which lived up to the website claims. They have space here and it really is quiet. After a restful weekend drinking the fantastic wine, from the vines outside our bedroom, we didn't want to leave. This is a lovely private property run by some really great people, we will be back for truffle season.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DreamyTraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2007

A really pretty little hotel run by an English couple (now probably with baby). They have done up the property beautifully - the rooms and communal areas are lovely. It is isolated, but this helps it to be relaxing. Great restaurants in vicinity and amazing wine. We loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ppp54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2007

Run by a delightful Brit and Scot (Mark and Karen) you will feel at home and they speak English so you are not taxing your brain for your first days in Italy. This small vineyard Inn combination is a good central location for touring the Piedmonte section of Italy. Family friendly or great for a party.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank carol j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontanile
1.2 mi away
La Villa Hotel
La Villa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mombaruzzo
408 reviews
5 mi away
Residenza San Vito
Residenza San Vito
#1 of 2 in Calamandrana
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa LuceSole
Casa LuceSole
#1 of 2 in Fontanile
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Granica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Granica

Address: Regione Mulino Vecchio 5 | Fontanile, 14044 Fontanile, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Asti > Fontanile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontanile
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
La Granica Fontanile
La Granica Hotel Fontanile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing