We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular villa perfect for large groups”
pool area plus BBQ
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
pool area plus BBQ
Frontview pool area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
pool area plus BBQ
Frontview
pool area
View from the Pool
Living ground floor
Sitting area first floor
Dining room
The Kitchen
...a glass of wine...
Our Guestbook
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Bedroom
The Garden
a quiet corner...
table set
main entrance
Tennis and Pool
Pool and Tennis
The living
The Poolhouse
The Pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
9 Bedrooms, 15 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Fontanile, Province of Asti, Piedmont

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Spectacular villa perfect for large groups”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

I had a group of 9-17 friends over 10 days for a birthday celebration. The pictures here don't do the place justice - the views are stupendous. The pool/tennis/grill area was a highlight. The house is comfortable and well furnished, with lots of interesting art and objets to explore and every last thing you need to cook and enjoy yourselves. Alessandro and his brother are lovely, friendly hosts who do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. The village of Fontanile is small and well-located for all other areas of interest in Piemonte (though it is not terribly close to trains -- Asti is 30 mins away). I can't recommend it highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hetzels
The Pocket, Australia
1 review
“A grand country estate amidst the rolling vineyards of Piedmonte”
Reviewed October 4, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

What a memorable holiday on this magnificent estate! My family and I (eight adults + six children) thoroughly enjoyed our week in this stylish and elegant house and gardens. We were looking for 8 bedrooms and found this place with nine! From the spacious living and dining areas, expansive pool, tennis court and challenging pool table (very narrow pockets), we enjoyed it all. The hosts (Alessandro & Andrea) were especially obliging and Laura cooked three fine banquets. The countryside is sublime and the nearby towns and villages provided plenty of opportunities for wine tasting, dining and historical visits. A great package that I would recommend to anyone with an interest in food, wine and Italian culture.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne H
2 reviews
“Great stay ”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Our group of 3 families had a great 2-week holiday in August this year. Weather was lovely and Piedmont is a wonderful area; amazing wine, food and places to visit.

The villa is much bigger than it looks in the photos and each family had plenty of space. The area by the pool and tennis court was a particular favourite.

Alessandro and Andrea were on hand to help with any problems and gave us excellent restaurant and vineyard recommendations.

We have already reserved dates for next year and are looking forward to returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2017
Dear Joanne,
Thanks for you comment.For me and my brother was a pleasure to host you and you family in our property.
I hope to see you again next year!
Alessandro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trine F
1 review
“Amazing place to spend your holiday”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We spend one week at Tenuta Contessa Chiara and it was a fantastic week.
The house and the surroundings are beautiful but the most amazing part for us was the pool area where we spend all day. This place is fantastic for three generations travelling together as everything was gathered in one place. The pool house with everything you need, the large pool, table tennis and least but definitely not last the tennis court for internal competition :-).
Also have to mention great service from the owners who were very helpful and give us good suggestions for things to do during our stay. We appreciate their company and help.
We love this place and would love to go back another time.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2017
Dear Trine,
It was a pleasure for us to host your group in our property.Hope to see you in the next future
Alessandro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robascot
ascot
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic villa with great facilities”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our extended family of 16, including infants and over 80s, had a fantastic stay in the villa. The facilities were superb, with a great swimming pool, tennis court and eating al fresco area. It easily accommodated our extended family with space to spare, and gave us the choice of the large kitchen and dining area in the house or the same facility by the pool. The area was beautiful, with the small village of Fontanile nearby. Thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome R
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Villa and Owner”
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The villa was outstanding, better then the photos and description shown in Trip Advisor and other sites. It was very spacious, beautifully furnished (most of the pieces were one of a kind antiques) and well appointed with very nice artwork and fine decorations. It seemed that we were in an upscale hotel or exclusive private residence. There were several living spaces some of which could accommodate our group of 14, as well as provide the ability for smaller groups to find privacy. The villa was set off by itself behind a private lane and gated entrance. It was still close enough for a walk to the village of Fontanile (World Heritage Site). There were many TVs and a game room with pool table that we did not use. The kitchen had everything we needed for breakfast and snacks, as we did not cook at the villa, but easily could have done so. The pool house had a sauna, large catering type kitchen, and full baths. The pool was very large with a couple of shallow areas for kids.

Alessandro, the villa owner, did everything he could do to make our stay wonderful. He gave us all the privacy we needed (he lived at small apartment not at all connected to the villa) but was there when we needed advice and/or information; he was our concierge. He provided all types of other services which we took advantage of: arrival day buffet dinner, tour of the area which included a couple small villages, wineries, grappa distillery and an outstanding 3 plus hour Piemontese lunch. He provided a bus, driver and tour guide for the full day tour. We liked the idea of a bus so Alessandro arranged for us to have it for the rest of the week. Our last evening Alessandro provided a typical Piemontese dinner for the 14 of us with Alessandro and his brother as our guests. The dinner was at the pool house which has an enormous table that sat 16 of us. There was a large Piemontese grill to cook the extraordinary Piemontese steak, which was just one item of the multi course dinner that brought our wonderful villa stay to an end.

The villa is located in a very picturesque location surrounded by verdant rolling hills loaded with vineyards and mountains in the background. We had great views of all of this from the villa, pool and pool house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Want to go back
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertb12...
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The villa Tenuta Contessa Chiara was well worth the week long stay for 12 of us.
The owners, the Grisori brothers, spared no effort to insure that we were taken care of.

The large pool was loved by everyone, especially the 4 bambini, and the adults enjoyed to tennis court.

A great place for a family vacation.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing