We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison de la Riviere
Ranked #1 of 6 Esperaza B&B and Inns
Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed four days, loved the experience. Welcoming hosts, close to RLC and other interesting sites, outstanding breakfast. Was there for the Sunday market, right outside, another fantastic experience.
A new restaurant has just opened, "Le Saint Gobain", easy to find and whilst still in its infancy, can only add to the holiday.
Can highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Aude river is aces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
32
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very good B&B. The hosts were very welcoming. They have two dogs. One is a rescue dog and is a little afraid of males because of bad treatment in the past. I mean male humans by the way. The breakfast is good. Evening meals are not served and the local restaurants are average.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joolsveer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in August. The B&B is located in an old building close to the river in the beautiful, old village of Esperaza. We chose to stay here since it is a short drive away from Rennes-le-Chateau and a couple of Cathar castles we visited. This home has been beautifully decorated by Roy and Jo who are lovely hosts, and very helpful and knowledgeable in providing information about attractions in the area. They serve a delicious breakfast which includes among other things freshly baked baguette, croissants, pain-au-raisins, fruit, yoghurt and cereals. The only problem we had was that the room was very hot on our first night and that we could hear a lot of noise from the street below where some locals were drinking a lot at a bar until very late in a very noisy manner. Apparently this is not a common occurrence, so don't worry too much about it. A fan would have been of great help to cool us down and maybe drown out the noise a bit. I believe there are 4 guest rooms, and there is a small fridge in the hallway, coffee-maker, glasses and cups. There is a parking lot very close by with free parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back to avoid potential noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Located between the Aude and the Ariege regions in southern France, La Maison de la Riviere in Esperaza offers easy access to sites in both regions. Roy and Jo were genuinely warm, welcoming, and informative about the sites and opportunities in the Languedoc region of southern France. An avid walker and skier, Roy offered first hand knowledge of the region. He is also well-versed in area's history and provided our family with the kind of information that gives a fuller appreciation of the region's rich, diverse culture and the troubled history of the area. Historical sites within an hour or two of Esperaza include the Cathar country fortresses (Peyrepetuse, Queribus, Montsegur, etc), Carcassone, and the caves of the lower Ariege including Niaux. Rennes le Chateau is 20 minutes away and historic Limoux is 10 minutes farther up the road. Again, Roy provides not only information about these sites, but he also provides the most scenic routes to access these sites. Esperaza itself has a rich history, including a local museum that details the town's importance in the hat industry. A walk through the town offers a history in architecture of the hat industry's boon to the local economy.

The house itself is beautifully appointed and lovingly restored. Breakfast included fresh baguettes, croissants, cereals, fruits, juices, and tea/coffee (French press style). If possible, try to arrange a stay that includes a visit to the Sunday market. The market sets up right in front of the La Maison de la Riviere, and a visitor would do well to spend a few hours stocking up for a picnic or for the next leg of a trip. A Carrefour and a Supermarche are located within 20 minutes of La Maison, and both offer petrol.

What separates La Maison from other Chambres d'Hote? The hosts. Most hosts are warm and welcoming, but Roy and Jo are also passionate about their home and the region. Most importantly, they have a fervent desire to share that passion with their guests.

Situé entre l'Aude et les régions Ariège dans le sud de la France, La Maison de la Rivière à Esperaza offre un accès facile aux sites des deux régions. Roy et Jo étaient vraiment chaleureux, accueillant et informatif sur les sites et les opportunités dans la région Languedoc sud de la France. Un passionné marcheur et skieur, Roy a offert une connaissance de première main de la région. Il est également bien versé dans l'histoire de la région et a fourni à notre famille avec le genre d'information qui donne une meilleure appréciation de la richesse, la diversité culturelle de la région et l'histoire mouvementée de la région. Les sites historiques au sein d'une heure ou deux de Esperaza comprennent les forteresses cathares de pays (Peyrepetuse, Quéribus, Montségur, etc), Carcassonne, et les grottes de l'Ariège inférieur, y compris Niaux. Rennes-le-Château est à 20 minutes et historique Limoux est à 10 minutes plus loin sur la route. Encore une fois, Roy ne fournit pas seulement des informations sur ces sites, mais il fournit également des routes les plus pittoresques d'accéder à ces sites. Esperaza lui-même a une histoire riche, y compris un musée local qui détaille l'importance de la ville dans l'industrie du chapeau. Une promenade à travers la ville offre une histoire dans l'architecture de l'aubaine du chapeau industrie à l'économie locale.

La maison elle-même est joliment meublée et restaurée avec amour. Petit-déjeuner inclus baguettes fraîches, viennoiseries, céréales, fruits, jus et thé / café (style de la presse française). Si possible, essayer d'organiser un séjour qui comprend une visite au marché du dimanche. Le marché s'installe juste en face de La Maison de la Rivière, et un visiteur ferait bien de passer quelques heures stockage pour un pique-nique ou pour la prochaine étape d'un voyage. A Carrefour et un Supermarche sont situés à 20 minutes de La Maison et les deux offrent essence.

Ce qui sépare La Maison des autres chambres d'hôte? Les hôtes. La plupart des hôtes sont chaleureux et accueillants, mais Roy et Jo sont aussi passionnés par leur maison et de la région. Surtout, ils ont un désir ardent de partager cette passion avec leurs clients.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swanwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Jo and Roy were the perfect hosts, offering both their warm hospitality and Roy's in depth knowledge of the area's history. Our spacious and beautifully furnished room, with its French balcony overlooking the river, was the perfect spot to relax with a glass of wine in the evenings before going out to dine. Each day began with a bountiful breakfast of seasonal fruits, yoghurts, and freshly baked breads, with advice from Roy about the many fascinating places to visit in the area.
The four days that we spent there were not nearly enough to explore everything, and we left with regrets that we could not have prolonged our stay. Roy and Jo's 'Maison' is definitely a destination that we recommend to anyone who is interested in Cathar history, or fine walking, or just enjoying a taste of non-tourist France that is nevertheless easily accessible, and ideal as the base from which there are many options for day trips.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgeIsTheRage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent 4 days in this lovely, charming and calm house, tastefully renovated and decorated. We stayed in a huge and cosy room with balcony facing the river and with a modern bathroom. And we agree, the beds are really comfortable. The rich breakfast was fresh and delicious. Roy was the perfect host, always considerate, taking care, recommending near by sites, offering good advice for the day trip and a welcoming glass of wine on return. We enjoyed our stay very much. It's definately "a home away from home" and we expressly recommend this house!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerhard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appledore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

After reading the great reviews I booked two nights at La Maison de la Riviere. It's in an ideal location and our rooms (we were with friends) overlooked the river and the old bridge. We were given a very warm welcome and later on enjoyed an excellent dinner for 20 euros per head. There were 'aperos' in wonderful handblown glasses followed by three delicious courses with as much wine as we could manage. The next day's sightseeing programme was sorted out with help from Roy who loaned us his local map. Our hosts were extremely helpful throughout our stay and we had an excellent trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esperaza
1.9 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
4.5 mi away
La Chaumiere
La Chaumiere
#1 of 3 in Quillan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Pierre Lys
La Pierre Lys
#3 of 3 in Quillan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bains
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bain...
#1 of 1 in Rennes-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Belle Maison
La Belle Maison
#3 of 6 in Esperaza
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison de Chapelier
La Maison de Chapelier
#5 of 6 in Esperaza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison de la Riviere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de la Riviere

Property: La Maison de la Riviere
Address: 29 quai Jean Jaures | Esperaza, 11260 Esperaza, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Esperaza
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Esperaza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison de la Riviere, a classic "Maison de Maitre", is situated in the peaceful village of Esperaza, nestled in the foothills of the Pyrenees, 40km south of Carcassonne. The house was constructed in the mid-19th century and has been tastefully restored to its original splendour with many of the original period features preserved, giving the house a grand, yet warm character. The accommodation is excellently located for parking, access to amenities and regional attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Maison de la Riviere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing