We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison de la Riviere
Ranked #1 of 6 Esperaza B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this wonderful house - so calm and tranquil. This time we stopped for just two days as we were touring the area. Roy and Jo instantly make you feel at home; a welcoming glass of a local white wine at the end of a long road journey was a lovely gesture. We had a room overlooking the square and river and could enjoy the evening sun and the swifts swooping and diving overhead. If you are in this part of the world, travelling down to the coast maybe, or crossing in to Spain, then you would be missing something special not to stop here. A couple of years back we dropped by intending to stay an night, and ended up staying a week. There's lots to do - and if you are a keen walker, the Corbiere hills are haunting.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
34
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Had a great overnight stay here in Esperaza. Roy was a very helpful host recommending near by sites. We especially enjoyed Allet les Bains on our route to Carcasonne. The breakfast was plentiful and fresh. Our room was excellent with a small balcony with table and chairs to enjoy a cool glass of wine supplied by Roy on our arrival. Would certainly recommend this B& B if you are staying in Esperaza or nearby area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brunodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I just spent 5 days at this lovely little B&B and highly recommend it to all. The house is immaculate and has a warm feel. Roy and his wife take great pride in taking care of all the details. My room was so cozy and breakfast was delicious. It is right in the main part of town but very tranquil. The train and bus are less than a 5 minute walk. There is a fantastic sunday market in the square as well. Best bang for your buck!! Ps. Roy speaks English and is very knowledgeable about all the major sights and was a great resource to me in planning my days.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrolan8717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

And the beds are really comfortable too! A beautiful French house on the river in a lovely town, this place deserves its great reviews because they really go that extra mile - attention to detail, delicious breakfasts and great conversation - what more could you want.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToulouseLaPlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Esperaza and its immediate surroundings are a dream. Roy and Jo are the perfect hosts and all the rooms are beautiful. Walking, cycling and fun on the river in the heat of the day was met by the very warm welcome and Roy offering cold beer or a glass of Rose on our return. Quite exceptional. The perfect B&B.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

As well as agreeing with what others have said about large rooms, good location, modern bathrooms, etc., I'd like to add that one of the real benefits to me was the knowledge of the area that Jo and Roy are willing to share.

Their information, for instance, about Resistance activities in the region gave my visit, and my hiking, a new and important dimension.

When I get the opportunity to do so (not easy for someone living in South Carolina), I plan to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caromex13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GamerGirl-STL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Stayed here while visiting nearby Rennes-le-Chateau. The building is exquisite, tons of personality, with a great location right on the town square, and a regular street market just outside the door. The "Table d'Hotes" was excellent, both for the food served and the conversation with the hosts, who were well acquainted with the legends and lore of the area.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank GamerGirl-STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esperaza
1.9 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
5.2 mi away
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bains
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bain...
#1 of 1 in Rennes-les-Bains
33 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Cartier
Hotel Cartier
#2 of 3 in Quillan
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
La Chaumiere
La Chaumiere
#1 of 3 in Quillan
180 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Belle Maison
La Belle Maison
#3 of 6 in Esperaza
4 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Relais de la Haute Vallee
Le Relais de la Haute Vallee
#1 of 1 in Campagne-sur-Aude
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison de la Riviere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de la Riviere

Property: La Maison de la Riviere
Address: 29 quai Jean Jaures | Esperaza, 11260 Esperaza, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Esperaza
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Esperaza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison de la Riviere, a classic "Maison de Maitre", is situated in the peaceful village of Esperaza, nestled in the foothills of the Pyrenees, 40km south of Carcassonne. The house was constructed in the mid-19th century and has been tastefully restored to its original splendour with many of the original period features preserved, giving the house a grand, yet warm character. The accommodation is excellently located for parking, access to amenities and regional attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Maison de la Riviere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing